Cian Foley is badly needed around here to put manners on some of these Tipperary whelps
Comparing forward lines
Waterford
Molumphy
Moran
Kelly
Walsh
Mullane
Prendergast
Galway
Smyth
Hayes
Ryan
D Hayes
Canning
Tannion
The Pick of Both
Molumphy
Moran
Kelly
Mullane
Canning
D Hayes
And the 2 Waterford lads that didnāt make it are serious ball winners for Waterford.
Against a Waterford team that beat Cork carrying Eoin McGrath, Moran roasted, Molumphy at times, Eoin Kelly for most of both Munster finals, Kearney and Browne the first day etc. Remember Tipp won with Pairc Maher being roasted in 1st half, Shane McGrath lost for 1st half, David Young being poor etc etc.
i wouldnāt look at it that way Mac, iām looking at it on hurling ability. Tipp will match Waterfords fitness, they are a much younger team anyway, and i think they have superior hurlers. Eoin Kelly is starting to sparkle again, heāll get better.
Fran thats crazy, it has no relevance whatsoever to Tipp-Waterford. Tipps backs will be better the next day. But outside of that, how many Waterfords would make the Tipp team on form, one, Mullane. In a dream team Eoin Kelly would as well, but i fear he has bulked up too much.
I think KK lads fear Tipp getting a bit of a run going, and are convincing themselves they are not that good, when in fact they have better players than last year when they nearly beat ye, if those better players click (big if i know) theyāll be an even bigger threat in the final.
Thatās a good point. Iād give Waterford a big chance but I see Tipp still being able to create enough chances to win the game. I just donāt think Waterford will be able to pile enough pressure on their backs. Should be a cracking match though. Waterford are well improved on last year, whereas Tipp havenāt looked anywhere near as good.
Jaysis Kev you talk some shite at times. You fear Eoin Kelly has bulked up too much, lord jaysis, the man us in super shape.
And Kearney didnāt play either munster final, and Eoin Mac as mch as I dont rate him had to start the first day after scoring 1-5 and being super in a challenge against Tippā¦ Tipp backs will be better the next day, how do you know that ?
Look every time we have met this Tipp team in a do or die in recent years we have bet them. Every single time. Even our u21ās hammered most of them last year.
Wasnt too confident to be honest, but now I am after seeing the string of lame agruements put forward for Tippā¦
Sheedy is predictable, and we will have him sussed, he will do a few stupid things, like when he targeted Tony Browne with John OāBrien 2 years ago, and persisted with itā¦ Probably try Maher on Brick this timeā¦ meat and drink. Our backs will stifle them and there will be plenty of good ball going into Mullane and Walsh, they will make hay on Curran and whichever of the poor conrer backs stays there.
DĆ©ise by 3+
Eoin Kelly v Eoin Kelly match up once more
Ye werenāt to bothered about the Munster Final last year so?
This semi-final, like the Galway game is a real 50/50, the current Tipp team and the team of 2008 canāt really be compared.
This is the Tipp team from the 2008 semi - B Cummins,
E Buckley, P Curran, C OāBrien.
E Corcoran, C OāMahony, S Maher.
J Woodlock, S McGrath,
H Moloney, S Callanan, J OāBrien,
E Kelly, L Corbett, S Butler
Of that team only 6 started on Sunday last.
Waterford definitely have the more tactically astute management team on all the evidence so far.
I canāt see Curran starting full back the next day, he was taken off in the MF last year as he was being destroyed, you really think both corner backs are poor? Iād rate Paddy Stapleton highly and Cahill is only in his 1st year but is a sticky enough corner back.
Where Tipp are in serious trouble for this match is at centre forward, they need someone to curb Brick Walsh, they will try Bonnar here, but as you say meat and drink.
The biggest mistake Sheedy has made this year is moving Padraig Maher out of full-back, he should have persisted with him there as moving him has led to numerous switches ie Fanning to full-back for Wexford match, Young plays well wing-back, Fanning moved back to wing-back for Offaly match as Curran played well against Wexford, Young accommodated in Centre-Field, Shane McGrath moved to Centre-Forward. Too much chopping and changing.
Itāll be a close match but I still reckon Tipp have the firepower to pull through by a point or two.
Eoin Mac was again poor when it mattered hang, thats all i saw, so thats how iāll judge him. Kelly isnāt in form, i am wondering does it have to do with his increase in size, there clearly has been one.
The U-21 ye caught them, their own fault, and its a Tipp trait to get too cocky, but they have serious hurlers, and if that game was played 10 more times Tipp would win at least 9.
I expect the Tipp backs to be better, they will have less men to mark for one, and they even straight after the game identified they need to improve there. Their forwards are going well, i suspect this week will be all about defense.
Tipp have 2 super corner backs, your talking through your hole now Hang, Stapelton is one of the best around.
Ye lost the Munster final last year to Tipp, it seemed to be do or die this year against our lads, whats the story, which is do or die?
You donāt like my view on Waterford, but iām a neutral, and iāve seen the Minors, U-21ās, Seniors of Cork, Tipp and waterford this year, and to be honest, with the exception of the Minor, Tipp are a mile out ahead of the other 2 hurling wise all things being even.
points in bold Iād well disagree with. Tipp āmightā win those games, but to say they definitly would is not a debate, its like when someone gives an opinion and says āFACTā at the end as if thats all there is to it.
same with the last point, all things being even, I dont think Tipp are that far ahead of Waterford nor Cork. They might have some classy young hurlers, and they might come to the fore with a bit more experience, but the fact Cork beat them so easily and its not exactly the best Cork team there has been. hurling wise, they are slightly better, but I certainly dont think its a big a gap as you think. 2 of their main young players last year, Callinan and Noel McGrath were virtually anonymous against Galway. Yeah, maybe you might say theyāll come good, but whos to know. you cant predict the form of players coming off a bad game.
I think Tipp will win but only just. Theyāll want another crack at Cork in the final. That will drive them on just that little bit more.
That Cork performance was excellent, so they must be a good team, weather it was a dying teams last sting or what remains to be determined, but it was top class performance from them.
But i have seen all these players, a number of times this year, and thats what iām basing it on. So what if McGrath wasnāt at his best the last day, he canāt be every day. But Tipp need alot of fellas to be held, hold Mullane and at a stretch Walsh and waterford are done.
Waterford and cork are 3-4 years behind in the players coming through, both had good Minors, Cork probably had more good individuals. Tipp had these 2-6 years ago. So as it stands now i believe they are ahead, and will pull further ahead for a year or or three.
I just see last Sunday as a big win for Tipp, and expect them to push on. Gearoid Ryan is some improvement on someone like Benny Dunne for instance, Bonny Maher is better than John Oā Brien etc
Now that the formality is out of the way, let the real business beginā¦Wonder will Kev be trying to lay off my bet B)
Lads, how are Waterford as long as 5/2 for this? William Hill also go evens +4. I just canāt understand it at all as I think theyāre pretty evenly matched and think Tipps win over Galway is being completely overhyped.
Waterford -4 and Waterford 5/2ā¦ I will be having some of that.
Confidence is growning as the fixture gets closer. Reckon we will win by 2-4 points
Waterford were no great shakes against Cork, full of honest endeavour but very limited in the forward. I would expect Tipp to cover the spread.
I think yesterday should be a good indicator, the Munster final was a shocking standard, thats why Waterford are long. I lknow its all about opinions, but i really canāt believe people think that Waterford are going to win.
People in Cork thought they would win yesterday
This is down to the simple fact that there are still huge question marks about this Tipp teamā¦The likes of OāMahoney and to a lesser extent Fanning, Pauric Maher and Noel McGrath arenāt hurling anywhere slose to last years standardā¦On fairness to Maher he showed glimpses against Galway when he was put centre backā¦Waterford on the other hand have come out on top in a lot of tight games in the last three yearsā¦I donāt think that Davy will use the containment game that he used against Cork to the same extent against Tipp as he will know that the movement of the Tipp forward is far superior and that Waterford will have to post a higher score to win than they did in the Munster finalā¦It is a comnplete 50/50 game in my eyesā¦It is worth remembering that Tipp came into the 2008 semifinal at around the same odds as well
If Davy goes toe to toe this could be a hammering, Tipp have the far superior forwards.
I wouldnāt use the 2008 game as a barometer either, Tipp are much changed. I think its 70/30 Tipp, and iāll be having some of that spread.
So are Waterford