im thinking you may have issues bandage, all that whining and crying about some rugby bogger throttling you in a pub and then you throw up an anti rugby article to keep the little drama motoring along nicely for yourself.
you need to talk to someone about this i think, it is festering inside you
[quote=“myboyblue”]Whats funny to some isnt funny to others however. I find it contrived to be honest, a not worthy of some of his better efforts. I dont enjoy Humphries self effacing wit. I find him to be far more comfortable when chasing down a decent drug story or the likes. This is where his quality lies.
You think otherwise obviously and I allow you your opinion. Much in the same way as HBV is allowed his.[/quote]
Jesus bud we don’t want your fooking life story
[quote=“HBV*”]im thinking you may have issues bandage, all that whining and crying about some rugby bogger throttling you in a pub and then you throw up an anti rugby article to keep the little drama motoring along nicely for yourself.
you need to talk to someone about this i think, it is festering inside you[/quote]
poor comeback
comeback from what exactly?
[quote=“myboyblue”]Whats funny to some isnt funny to others however. I find it contrived to be honest, a not worthy of some of his better efforts. I dont enjoy Humphries self effacing wit. I find him to be far more comfortable when chasing down a decent drug story or the likes. This is where his quality lies.
You think otherwise obviously and I allow you your opinion. Much in the same way as HBV is allowed his.[/quote]
Of course, it’s clear nobody ever denied anyone their opinion on the article, if this is what you’re incorrectly implying. As I say, it was the strange response to my posting of it that suggested someone was taking a funny piece somewhat too seriously. It struck me as rather ironic to see HBV revelling in jeering wrestling but seemingly getting riled up and defensive about Humphries’ mentioning pushing the buttocks of other men and reaching up between their legs in a scrum.
Sorry I forgot, you like bullet points.
Ah, so this is a wrestling vs rugby thing?
Right.
The rugby football brigade seem to jump on the offended bus pretty easily on here. Christ, I can only imagine what they would be like if there was a rugby football brigade version of The Fiver or something. The rush to find fault in and rebut a purposefully jocular piece was pretty amusing and fair play to Humphries for getting you lot so riled up.
where did you see this?
i doubt too many will get the rugby/man grappling comparison you mention
[quote=“HBV*”]where did you see this?
i doubt too many will get the rugby/man grappling comparison you mention[/quote]
ok - step away from the computer, its just a lighthearted article written a few years ago-chill
If you’re tring to put me in some brigade bandage, I object. I was just pointing out that I felt the article was poor quality? Personally I think Humphries is capable of a whole lot more. As for your description of him “destroying rugby” I felt that all he destroyed was himself a little bit more. I find his self effacing articles very poor quality and unentertaining.
I’m pretty sure I’ve explained this already. I’m not sure why you’re getting worked up over it?
Then again, maybe you’re not referring to me. If not, then please accept my apologies.
With regards to the fiver, I wouldnt compare Humphries article here to the fiver in any way shape or form.
As a football supporter, I regularly laugh at The Fiver when it’s ridiculing and taking the piss out of the game. It seems rugby football supporters are a tad sensitive to even lighthearted/witty articles jibing their sport and the reaction’s been fairly amusing.
Shur everyone knows what the Fiver is. Tis quare funny somedays, very poor other days.
Ah here, I give up on you.
I am a fiver.
Hard to argue with that. Good man flano.
Anyone ever get a letter printed in the Fiver? I have on numerous occasions. 8)
to me you seem slightly obsessed about rugby football, and because the attempted throttling you received at the hands of one of Munsters finest has rattled you beyond recognition, i am proposing an apology on behalf of the big bully to be offered by someone from the south west of the country, a proxy apology of sorts so that you can move on.
what you think?
I remember readin something that Denis Hickey said about how Leinster people support Munster and it was a load of cack as well. Was fairly scathing if memory serves me right.
edit: found it here:
What, then, of the fair-weather fans like me, who live in Leinster but usually support Munster? Such talk is enough to raise the heckles of Denis Hickie. Schooled at St Marys in Rathmines, and coming from a famous rugby family, Hickie has represented both his province and his country with distinction. “Look,” he says, “I’ve also met people saying ‘I’m actually a Munster supporter because my Dad is from Cork’ – any tenuous link will do. And you know very well they’re the guys who will start supporting us when we start winning trophies.”
“You get guys from Carlow saying ‘I’m really a Munster man’ – what’s that all about? You’re either from a place or you’re not from a place. I just don’t understand how, if you’re from somewhere, you can give your allegiance to another team. In my mind it’s like being Irish and saying you’re supporting England, or being French and supporting Germany. If you’re from somewhere that’s where you’re from and it’s a bit convenient to tag along with the winning team. I always think it’s more of a reflection of the type of person they are. They are people who want to associate with something because they think it’s a better reflection on them.”
[quote=“Gman”]I remember readin something that Denis Hickey said about how Leinster people support Munster and it was a load of cack as well. Was fairly scathing if memory serves me right.
edit: found it here:[/quote]
good stuff - puts MBB to shame- who is he trying to convince with his passionate defense of munster rogbee
I support Irish rugby buddy. Another poor effot.
I could mention a lad from Fingal supporting Rovers, but then Rovers dont have a home.
Hickie is sound aul bloke to be fair to him, one of more dacent lads out there