Great stuff there by the Hump in fairness. Rugbys a sad excuse for a sport. If Munster were playing Leinster in my front garden Iād close the curtains. Actually no, Iād go looking for the Kalashnikov. Shower of stuck up cunts. (except for Paul o Connell who I met once and is sound as fook)
Itās a particularly Irish and post-colonial obsession to seek justification and praise for our achievements overseas.
[quote=ātherock67ā]What do you hate? You donāt believe in any of the sociological studies on postcolonialism and the effects they have on the national psycheās inferiority complex and struggle for recognition, particularly from their former colonists?
Would you care to put forward an alternative theory?
We were rightly concerned with freeing our native land (and indeed some of us still are). Are you suggesting that Irish attitudes to nationality and patriotism have not changed since the 26 counties gained independence?[/quote]
Nope. Do the KK hurlers care if they dont get praise for their achievements overseas? Do the Western Bulldogs care if noone outside of Oz know how good their side is (Oz being a former colony)? etc etc
There is no alternative theory cos the original one (Itās a particularly Irish and post-colonial obsession to seek justification and praise for our achievements overseas.[/) is a pile of shite imo.
A significant factor in the ārise of rugbyā imo is how closely aligned the national media in Ireland are linked to rugby. RTE is based in Donnybrook for a start, a lot of sports journalists went to rugby fee paying schools. Rugby is strong in areas that influence Irish society e.g. D4, the Cork boating set etc. The influence of that ubercunt Sir Anthony OāReilly on Irish society in general cannot be underestimated. The fact that he is a former Irish rugby international naturally feeds into the importance of rugby in his newspapers witness the pathetic reporting of the Leinster Schools Cup etc*
As for your last point, I never suggested it. I just hate catch all terms like āpost colonial obsessionā as I dont feel they are in the least bit relevant and mean fook all.
- Im not sure etc is even a word but I like using it.
[quote=āKIB manā]Itās a particularly Irish and post-colonial obsession to seek justification and praise for our achievements overseas.
Nope. Do the KK hurlers care if they dont get praise for their achievements overseas? Do the Western Bulldogs care if noone outside of Oz know how good their side is (Oz being a former colony)? etc etc
There is no alternative theory cos the original one (Itās a particularly Irish and post-colonial obsession to seek justification and praise for our achievements overseas.[/) is a pile of shite imo.
A significant factor in the ārise of rugbyā imo is how closely aligned the national media in Ireland are linked to rugby. RTE is based in Donnybrook for a start, a lot of sports journalists went to rugby fee paying schools. Rugby is strong in areas that influence Irish society e.g. D4, the Cork boating set etc. The influence of that ubercunt Sir Anthony OāReilly on Irish society in general cannot be underestimated. The fact that he is a former Irish rugby international naturally feeds into the importance of rugby in his newspapers witness the pathetic reporting of the Leinster Schools Cup etc*
As for your last point, I never suggested it. I just hate catch all terms like āpost colonial obsessionā as I dont feel they are in the least bit relevant and mean fook all.
- Im not sure etc is even a word but I like using it.[/quote]
Now your really talking through your hole. What the fook does the Cork boating crowd have to do with the rise of rugby. I would be absolutely certain that a bigger % of the Cork GAA fraternity would support rugby than the boating crowd. They are for the most part the greatest wankers around.
I agree with the idea that the media give a proportionatly higher volumne of coverage to rugby, but much of it is because its what we are now most internationally successful at.
And i also agree that the schools thing is a joke. Down south it doesnāt get near the same coverage though, and the Echo for example would have it on a par with the Premier Minor hurling and Football championships down here, and rightly so.
[quote=ācaoimhaoinā]Now your really talking through your hole. What the fook does the Cork boating crowd have to do with the rise of rugby. I would be absolutely certain that a bigger % of the Cork GAA fraternity would support rugby than the boating crowd. They are for the most part the greatest wankers around.
I agree with the idea that the media give a proportionatly higher volumne of coverage to rugby, but much of it is because its what we are now most internationally successful at.
And i also agree that the schools thing is a joke. Down south it doesnāt get near the same coverage though, and the Echo for example would have it on a par with the Premier Minor hurling and Football championships down here, and rightly so.[/quote]
Agreed. People like to latch on success too which is fair enough it is probably the same the world over.
But I have been to two Munster games in my life. The amount of these boating crowd that I saw was unreal. Now some of them are savage women but there is definitely a keeping up with the Joneses element to rugger buggery far worse than any other sport. How many schools take part in Schools rugby. In Soccer and GAA far more schools take part and they dont get a sniff of the same coverage.
Its 2 Munster games now for the chaser of the Queens schilling I seeā¦
Would you classify michael Collins and Sam maguire as above also?
That TFKWiki entry for Munster is fucking nauseating.
That is some of my finest work, to think I stuck up for you a few days agoā¦
cunt
[quote=āThe Pukeā]That is some of my finest work, to think I stuck up for you a few days agoā¦
cunt[/quote]
Actually Pukey, I retract my statement. I didnāt read the whole thing. I love the last sentence or so of it.
Come on, letās hug it out. Cāmere to me.
You will have to get me a t shirt first
Jaysis. Iām getting it from all angles these days. Iāve a large match-worn Limerick 1998 jersey with your name on it, ok?
Did Mike Houlahan wear it?
Itās down in the oul pairs gaff. Iāll have to check the number. Iāve a feeling it might be a bench-warmers.
It will suit me fine so
Top article by Humphries.
Leamy would be considered one of the best ball players in the squad amongst the other players, huge skill level. Played as an out half in school and goal kicked for Rockwell.
His poor catching technique is a hangover from his GAA days, he always tries to catch it out in front of him going forward, which is the complete opposite to most players. He has a pretyty good success rate at catching it anyway, poor technique or not
Bring a man-bag to the TFK summer fete and Iāll give it to you then.
Will you be coming to the Limerick one that Dunph is planning?
[quote=āKIB manā]Itās a particularly Irish and post-colonial obsession to seek justification and praise for our achievements overseas.
- Im not sure etc is even a word but I like using it.[/quote]
I dont like Sir Anto any more than the next man but you should check out his rugby career some time, fairly impressive.
BTW, the Indo produced a special pull out supplement on Colleges GAA as well this year but this is always forgotten when the coverage of Schools Rugby is slated
[quote=āKIB manā]Agreed. People like to latch on success too which is fair enough it is probably the same the world over.
But I have been to two Munster games in my life. The amount of these boating crowd that I saw was unreal. Now some of them are savage women but there is definitely a keeping up with the Joneses element to rugger buggery far worse than any other sport. How many schools take part in Schools rugby. In Soccer and GAA far more schools take part and they dont get a sniff of the same coverage.[/quote]
What does the Cork boating crowd look like, I lived there for the vast majority of my adult life and I couldnt identify one for you?