Tonight's TV

BORRRIIINNNGGGG.

Hup ya.

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]I thought Lenihan really gave another excellent account of himself. He hit O’Toole’s call to arms like the people did in Iceland with the facts that Iceland are in a miuch worse situation than us (true).

The question on the pensions he handled very well also - they had to be paid to Fingleton et al or else the State could be sued.

Overall he is certainly a man who would inspire confidence and I believe that NAMA is as good of an option as there is to turn this country around.

Essential though to clear out the boards of the all the banks.[/quote]

I don’t doubt that Lenihan believes in what he’s doing and he’s a competent speaker and thinker.

But the reality is he’s not deciding much of this for himself. Unfortunately the government are far too entwined with the developers and banks to make real tough decisions on these issues. We are supporting a bank that never did anything for this country in Anglo Irish Bank and we haven’t tied in our support with a single piece of legislation to fundamentally alter the governance of these institutions.

The banks that performed most recklessly are getting bailed out the most and the administrative cost alone to the State in chasing their bad debts will be huge.

NAMA is overly-simplistic and a touch cowardly in my opinion.

Anglo is Nationalised though and if it was allowed to collapse, then the other two would go with it. It needed to be propped up.

I do agree with you though on one point. The lack of legislation on goverance of banks is worrying.

I’m not worried about the banks.

That was fantastic television last night. Informative yet easy watching. Dunphy and O’Toole were both excellent. Dunphy’s comments on political background of IBF and CIF at start was well done. Shows how these guys are all linked really. Kenny did excellent job in presenting.

Still a poor mans Vincent.

I have heard this argument put forward by Mary Coughlan as the reason behind the big pay off to Roddy Molloy aswell before, personally I think it’s a heap of shite.

Who gives a fuck if the cunts want to sue us? Let them go ahead and do it and have their day in court. How many of them would actually go through with it and want all their business splashed across the papers in minute detail? It couldn’t end up costing us much more than it has already.

No, instead we see to it that they get a nice cosy payout and it’s all hushed up and forgotten about.

[quote=“manaboutdog”]I have heard this argument put forward by Mary Coughlan as the reason behind the big pay off to Roddy Molloy aswell before, personally I think it’s a heap of shite.

Who gives a fuck if the cunts want to sue us? Let them go ahead and do it and have their day in court. How many of them would actually go through with it and want all their business splashed across the papers in minute detail? It couldn’t end up costing us much more than it has already.

No, instead we see to it that they get a nice cosy payout and it’s all hushed up and forgotten about.[/quote]

Meant to post something like that earlier. Let them work for their money.

In the past the State wasn’t shy about taking the parents of autistic children to court and trying to scare them off with High Court bills. At least they’d have public support on this and Fingleton might get egged on his way into court or something.

Fuck this timid surrender lark.

[quote=“manaboutdog”]I have heard this argument put forward by Mary Coughlan as the reason behind the big pay off to Roddy Molloy aswell before, personally I think it’s a heap of shite.

No, instead we see to it that they get a nice cosy payout and it’s all hushed up and forgotten about.[/quote]

Very true. Let them sue us if its the case that they think they will win. I think reality is these guys are close to political elite and thats the reason why they are getting a payout.
Listening to Jim Power on radio at moment. He has new venture in promoting Irish goods called ‘love Irish’. As matter of interest anyone know what this has got to do with a Friends First economist? Would like to see political background of all these guys myself.

What an apt name for an Irish financial company.

How on earth are the Irish State meant to stop the payment of a pension to a CEO of a company where they had no shareholding at the time when the entitlement was made?

Tell me lads - it would be interesting to hear.

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]How on earth are the Irish State meant to stop the payment of a pension to a CEO of a company where they had no shareholding at the time when the entitlement was made?

Tell me lads - it would be interesting to hear.[/quote]

Exactly - Lads are rightly angry at the minute but cool, calm, rational heads are whats needed. Not a lynch mob.

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]How on earth are the Irish State meant to stop the payment of a pension to a CEO of a company where they had no shareholding at the time when the entitlement was made?

Tell me lads - it would be interesting to hear.[/quote]

Hang on a minute, This guy transfers the contents of a pension fund worth €28m to which he is the only benficiary, from a group scheme within Irish Nationwide to one outside the group. This same instituion enjoys the benefit of a state guarantee, Fingleton’s son then sends an email around touting for new business on the back of this new found security.

At the very least the state should have withheld the guarantee until the reason for this unconventional transaction were fully explored. Maybe the state couldn’t have withheld this pension but Nationwide themselves could have been forced into doing so by threatening them with exclusion from the state guarantee scheme.

And why the fook couldn’t we have held back Roddy Molloy’s bonus on the grounds of him being grossly incompetent and squandering state money?

As manaboutdog has just said any transactions to/from directors of Anglo and Irish Nationwide should have been stopped immediately by the government.

Irish Nationwide had no strategic importance for the state. If they weren’t prepared to co-operate with the State freezing their dodgy transactions then they should have been let fend for themselves. The investors wouldn’t have been long abandoning that sinking ship, but for some reason the Irish government feels it’s worthwhile to prop it up with guarantees.

Gavin O’Reilly on Primetime. How the fuck can anyone end up with an accent like that.

my accent is remarkably similar to his -

Open your nostrils when talking then you English Eyetie convict muldoon:D

just seen this clip on Vincent Browne now

[media=youtube]e3vEOSkk5AM

an absolute classic!

Brilliant :smiley: :clap:

Is that Byrne Ultimatum any good? Haven’t watched it on that presumption that it’s shite but have the offer of a ticket to the recording tonight. I should add that I personally find Jason Byrne a loathsome cunt.