Transfer Window - Summer 2008

Why would anyone take on such an utterly useless player - even it is only on loan?

Marseille say they have negotiated an “agreement in principle” for former Liverpool striker Djibril Cisse to join Sunderland on a season-long loan.

Black Cats boss Roy Keane has made several summer signings but after his side lost their opening game to Liverpool he said he hoped to add more.

Cisse, 27, joined Liverpool in 2004 but only scored 15 goals in two injury-plagued seasons.

In July 2007 he joined Marseille on a permanent move after a loan spell.

606: DEBATE
Your reaction to the news
Cisse, who was a member of Liverpool’s Champions League-winning team in 2006, broke both legs during his time at Anfield, missing the 2006 World Cup because of the second injury.

But he seems to have made a full recovery, scoring 16 goals for Marseille last season, and has been keen to return to playing in the Premier League.

Keane has already signed Tottenham trio Teemu Tainio, Steed Malbranque, Pascal Chimbonda and El Hadji Diouf this summer.

Harsh to call him useless, he was a serious weapon up until his signing by Liverpool. the manager who signed him never got to use him and the manager who used him never wanted him. Then he broke both his legs, a huge blow to any player whose major weapon was his pace.

mbb even though a leg break is a serious injury for any player but for a player with pace to do their hamstring can be far worse…if it goes once it can go again and again…look at michael owen…

Ah come off it MBB.

1. Granted the circumstances he found himself in when he joined weren’t ideal but he was meant to be a 14m professional footbaler. Benitez gave him a chance but he was hopeless.

2. His pace was never affected. He just had a problem controlling the ball and failed to possess the basic intelligence to play the game. Constantly running offside etc…

3. He never played for Liverpool again after his second injury.

1. Forget his price tag Farmer - he’s clearly not useless or hopeless. He may have been overpriced but he wasn’t a bad player and looks to have rediscovered some form.

2. Breaking both your legs would have a serious affect on your pace. Hamstrings can be worse as Puke said but two broken legs is a massive obstacle to overcome.

3. Irrelevant.

Rock answered it better than I could. I think its very harsh to call him useless. I do understand youe opinion on him is tainted though through your love of Liverpool FC, but Cisse was far from useless. He wouldnt be the first central striker to go to Pool and suffer by ending up playing on the wing.

He’s still only 27 and scored 16 goals last year, and also by taking him on loan it’s not exactly a masive gamble. Better than forking out 6/7million on some B rate championship striker.

1. No Rock. Don’t agree with that. This seems to be a matter of opinion but I never saw anything in him to suggest that he was of any use whatsoever.

2. Fair play to him coming back after the two leg breaks. Good stuff. But he is still useless.

3. I thought MBB’s point about his two leg breaks was in relation to his form at Liverpool but must have taken it up wrong.

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]1. No Rock. Don’t agree with that. This seems to be a matter of opinion but I never saw anything in him to suggest that he was of any use whatsoever.

1. Fair play to him coming back after the two leg breaks. Good stuff. But he is still useless.

2. I thought MBB’s point about his two leg breaks was in relation to his form at Liverpool but must have taken it up wrong.[/quote]

3. Did you see anything of him other than his time at Liverpool, mostly spent on the wing? His goalscoring record with Auxerre was excellent and his ratio with Marseille hasn’t been too bad at all. Calling him useless is just silly.

4. Just mitigating factors Farmer in your harsh condemnation of him.

5. Still irrelevant. Whether he played for Liverpool after his second leg break or not doesn’t impact on his talents. Nobody said that his time away from Liverpool doesn’t count.

Think we have only one point here now - number 1.

Would not have seen a great deal of him outside Liverpool but I don’t think that takes away from my view. I saw him play for Liverpool for 1 and a half seasons and thought he was muck. He originally started up front but was moved onto the wing because he was having no effect in the centre. Nver saw anything in him to suggest that he was anything other than useless.

We’ll see how he gets on with Sunderland.

Fair enough. So you saw him for a while and have judged him on that. His record suggests he’s better than that and Keane is taking a punt on him. A very conservative punt mind because he’s only on loan.

Sunderland can’t attract the likes of Torres or Villa or Voronin. They have to make do with guys like Ciss. As a matter of interest did you prefer Diouf?

presume liverpool will be paying a good proportion of his wages also…cisse can hardly have much time left on his contract…

I think Diouf will be a great signing for Keane, another to suffer from wingitis at Pool

but diouf was never a goal scorer…he had a good world cup with senegal where he worked his socks off as a lone striker but i don’t think he scored in any of the 5 appearances in the world cup…bolton played him as a winger also…

Yes, but he was bought to score goals for Pool, something he was never going to be capable of. As a winger and a pure annoyance he’s pretty useful, but he was never a Pool player.

[quote=“therock67”]Fair enough. So you saw him for a while and have judged him on that. His record suggests he’s better than that and Keane is taking a punt on him. A very conservative punt mind because he’s only on loan.

Sunderland can’t attract the likes of Torres or Villa or Voronin. They have to make do with guys like Ciss. As a matter of interest did you prefer Diouf?[/quote]

No - he was/is hopeless as well.

Silvestre and Diouf are far from useless…any eejit can tell they are both talented footballers…diouf’s downfall is his temperment and his mouth while Silvestre’s biggest flaw is his concentration…he switches off at times…but both are good players and have survived long enough in premiership to show this …Cisse is good too…maybe a bit of a one trick pony…but pace is probably the best trick to have if you cud only have one…what do you expect sunderland to do? Do you really think Kaka,ronaldo etc. cud be lured to the stadium of light this season??

Given the right amount of rohypnol, perhaps.

No - can’t agree with that.

Diouf - talented? Silvestre - talented? They are rubbish and time will show that.

Can maybe see why someone would disagree on calling Cisse hopeless but not the other two jokers.

What has Silvestre ever done to show his ‘talent’? All I can ever remember from him is howlers. And what Diouf ever done in his career to suggest he has ‘talent’? I’d say he has barely scored 30 goals in his entire career thus far…

i don’t think you’d make over 300 appearances for manchester united in this era if you were hopeless…maybe he’s not the complete player and is 31 but definitely is not hopeless…diouf hardly has spent much of his career in England in front of goals so would be unfair to judge him by his goalscoring (especially with bolton as they hardly put anyone in opponent’s half )…still a good footballer though and i think he’ll do well at sunderland…