Transfer Window - Summer 2008

[quote=“KIB man”]alright lads, just back from holidays. i see we have signed cuellar from the huns for 7m stg. i only saw him play a couple of times and im pretty nervous about him. he was playing in an ultra defensive side whereas villa are ultra attacking. we already have laursen, davies, knight and bouma who can play centre half. is cuellar so good that MON expects him to take laursen’s place? it obviously relegates zat knight to 4th choice centre half, a year after spending 4m on him. would be interested to hear what you guys reckon about cuellar? lets hope he isnt another boumsong

maloney has gone back also. no surprise there. i always thought he was a skilful player but very lightweight and little pace either really. best of luck to him tho.

sunderland have signed another load of shite this summer. granted anton ferdinand is better than higginbottom/mcshane but does anyone else reckon keane hasn’t got the first clue in the transfer market. andy reid kept them up last season and has been his best signing by far but apart from him would any player in the sunderland squad make the villa or everton team for example?

KIB

P.S. could barry stay after all. big game at villa park at wkend[/quote]

Is that a joke?.. Martin o’neill has never had an ultra attacking team…its not his style at all…as for sunderland sh*t signings…they’re better than last year’s crop who Villa only managed to take one point off in the 2 league encounters…if i’m not mistaken was it not ,ironically, a free kick from Maloney at stadium of light to save a point?..

To follow on from Bandages point about Cuellar…

Rangers have done some serious business the last few years in the transfer market

Flo - 6M
Boumsong - 9M
Hutton - 7M
Ferguson - 6.5M
Cuellar - 8M

Rough figures only but good business all the same - Not one of them come remotely close to their valuation.

I’v probably forgotten one or two aswell.

well they bought flo for 12 million tipptops*…

[quote=“tipptops*”]To follow on from Bandages point about Cuellar…

Rangers have done some serious business the last few years in the transfer market

Flo - 6M
Boumsong - 9M
Hutton - 7M
Ferguson - 6.5M
Cuellar - 8M

Rough figures only but good business all the same - Not one of them come remotely close to their valuation.

I’v probably forgotten one or two aswell.[/quote]

Hutton they did well on.* Ferguson they made a couple of million on when they bought him back I suppose. Cuellar was a good profit for them at a time when they were desparate.

Flo lost them 6m.

I always suspected that the Boumsong valuation was overstated. It suited Newcastle to claim to have spent big money to sort out their defence and it suited the huns to claim they got big money for their best player at the time.

• The Hutton money was odd though. He was pretty much tied into going to Spurs and seemed reluctant to do so. ENIC (the owners of Spurs) have an investment in the huns and are owed a significant amount of money. It is commonly believed that Hutton was a part-payment of that debt and as a result no cash changed hands and it was more of a paper transaction.

Celtic never seem to get big money for players, Petrov is the only big sale in years, Viduka probably the one before that.
Boumsong

[quote=“therock67”]

Flo lost them 6m.

• The Hutton money was odd though. He was pretty much tied into going to Spurs and seemed reluctant to do so. ENIC (the owners of Spurs) have an investment in the huns and are owed a significant amount of money. It is commonly believed that Hutton was a part-payment of that debt and as a result no cash changed hands and it was more of a paper transaction.

Celtic never seem to get big money for players, Petrov is the only big sale in years, Viduka probably the one before that.
Boumsong[/quote]

I didn’t realise they paid so much for Flo…

Hutton I believe was being lined up by Sir Alex as Gary Neville’s long term replacement but United couldn’t get a look in at the time when that transfer was going through…your story would explain that.

McGeady will go at some stage and it will be for a fortune…Newcastle were allegedly sniffing around with a 10/12M bid at the start of the summer (Before Ashley lost his bollix on the stock market) so if McGeady has another good season along with a few good showings for Ireland he could go for 20M next summer.

Milan Baros has joined Galatasaray for €5.5m.

Im with Lockes here, fookin prick

Season before last when they werebattling releagation didnt he tell Curbs his mother was sick or something to dodge training and fook off to new orleans for his buddies 21st?

Hes not a bad player really but not good enough to lead the defensive line…cant see him having enough respect for nosworthy to listen to him either

they are an improvement on what he has though GMan

Keane has definately improved the quality of player at Sunderland but he sure has paid for it.

Pavlyuchenko set for Spurs switch

Russia striker Roman Pavlyuchenko has claimed: ‘I am joining Spurs.’

The 26-year-old insisted on Tuesday night he was on his way to Tottenham after a verbal agreement was reached between the north Londoners and his club Spartak Moscow.

‘I can confirm that I am joining Spurs,’ he said.

‘Right now I am getting my visa. As soon as it is ready I will fly to London to sign a contract.’

Pavlyuchenko, who impressed in Russia’s run to the semi-finals of Euro 2008 over the summer, claimed he will not feature in Spartak’s Champions League third-round qualifier against Dynamo Kiev on Wednesday night as he ties up his switch to England.

He added: ‘I will not play in Kiev. Everything has happened very quickly so I could not even say goodbye to my team-mates.’

Pavlyuchenko revealed any reservations he held about the switch to White Hart Lane had faded.

‘The only thing that stopped me from leaving was my family,’ he said.

‘But now all doubts are behind me and I decided to sign a contract with Tottenham and the formalities are practically settled.’

Spartak’s general manager Valery Karpin admitted Spurs’ offer had been accepted by the Russian club.

‘There is a concrete sum which Tottenham proposed and we have agreed the amount,’ he told the Soviet Sport newspaper.

‘If Roman will agree a contract then we are ready to let him go. If Roman begins to play in England, this will be good both for him and for the team.’

The move is understood to be close to completion, although Pavlyuchenko’s arrival would have no impact either way on Dimitar Berbatov’s future at White Hart Lane.

Spurs are short on strikers even if the Bulgarian does not complete a move to Manchester United before the transfer window closes on Monday.

he has now tho. villa play with no defensive midfielders apart from reo coker who has bizarelly being playing right mid of late.( a classic MON fudge that - never drops his favourites) petrov, barry and young cant tackle or break up the play. all 3 are more interested in going forward. hopefully sidwell will add a bit of steel to the midfield when he is fit. we conceded a lot of goals last season and MON has bought 2 new full backs (both attack minded), a centre half and 2 keepers to try and rectify this. having conceded 5 goals against 2 piss poor teams in the first 2 weeks it obviously hasnt worked so far.

sunderland didnt even get 40 points last season for all the money keane spent. granted they took 4 points off villa but its the table at the end of the season that matters.

[quote=“KIB man”]he has now tho. villa play with no defensive midfielders apart from reo coker who has bizarelly being playing right mid of late.( a classic MON fudge that - never drops his favourites) petrov, barry and young cant tackle or break up the play. all 3 are more interested in going forward. hopefully sidwell will add a bit of steel to the midfield when he is fit. we conceded a lot of goals last season and MON has bought 2 new full backs (both attack minded), a centre half and 2 keepers to try and rectify this. having conceded 5 goals against 2 piss poor teams in the first 2 weeks it obviously hasnt worked so far.

sunderland didnt even get 40 points last season for all the money keane spent. granted they took 4 points off villa but its the table at the end of the season that matters.[/quote]

That’s typical MON alright, and you’ll be a long time seeing him moving back into the centre. It was unbelievable that he persisted with Petrov on the wing at Celtic with Thompson in the centre. It made no sense at all but it helped protect Thompson’s lack of pace a bit and he stuck with it unflinchingly.

Sunderland didn’t need to get 40 points last season - all that mattered for them was staying up and they did it relatively handily. That justified the vast majority of the cash they spent. And at least they’re taking a punt on getting to the next tier.

don’t know if Keane has paid over the odds for many players…he seems to be the only one buying if anything which makes it more noticeable… transfer fees have to have increased since Sunderland got back into premiership because TV revenue has increased significantly with setanta gettin involved which makes being in the premiership more valuable which naturally pushes up the price of gettin players to keep you there… didn’t Bolton had to pay 5m for Gary cahill…

gary cahill is a pretty decent centre half. himself and o’brien have a good partnership at bolton and id prefer him to anton ferdinand.

see james milner has handed in a transfer request. we will have to pay well over the odds for him but he did well at villa before and has improved since. MON may have to move reo coker off the right wing after all

Arsenal have seemingly overtaken Everton in the race for the signinature of Feyenoord’s Jonathon De Guzman.

12M Sterling is the quoted price for the 20 year old…I haven’t seen too much of this lad

Ronaldo (he of former World Cup golden boot fame) is being linked to Man City!

[quote=“tipptops*”]Arsenal have seemingly overtaken Everton in the race for the signinature of Feyenoord’s Jonathon De Guzman.

12M Sterling is the quoted price for the 20 year old…I haven’t seen too much of this lad[/quote]

Candian guy isn’t he? Think there’s a brother in Portugal. Looks decent the little bits I’ve seen but wouldn’t know too much about him.

Ah christ…

Great player but a wreck now, he should retire with his memories, he’s done it all.

Especially with the three transvestite prostitutes!!

Shaun Wright-Phillips has rejoined Manchester City for an undisclosed fee.