Same in any deal then really
Played Pavee point/Gabriel’s on gaa pitch and they were managed by Major Joyce who kept them well marshalled. They had a fella popping 45s to beat the band. All good lads and got to know one or two well as knew them to see previously due to having to walk the gauntlet of their halting site behind the telecom eireann building in blanch on the way to Verona. It’s where the blanch center is now but was massive halting site for years and those lads lived in squalor.
However throw drink in and those same fellas were smashing up pubs, threatening bouncers and being nicked. Dublin travellers either deal drugs or go around places looking to park up and hope they get moving on money. They have no interest in integration and only get given houses by Tuath and the like cos there’s no room left on halting sites.
I’d say I’ve more experience with Travelers than most. Plenty of them local. Always had a few in my class. Hurled with a few. Grand to deal with by and large.
A couple of severely rotten apples who should have been locked away a long time ago and then it would reflect better on the rest of them. The lenient sentencing of fellas with 50 plus convictions is a killer for society.
They go mad every now and again and go at it with slash hooks and the works over some trivial disagreement. I read a thing once about people in the South of USA and how they had a whole honour code and they’d go boxing at the drop of a hat to protect that code and they were basically brought up different with their honour being everything. Think they are a lot like that. Their name and their honour is tied to their supposed toughness. It’s a very strong man is king society.
Sadly a lot of them never have a chance. They place no value on education and working. Tis a different world altogether.
As I said though. Mostly genuine people the same as anyone. Just brought up different and education or a job are never a thing. TBF most of their parents could probably have never gotten a job if they wanted
Ah sure wasn’t there a big clean up in the cemetery there recently
This thread in general has been a breath of fresh air, I’ve read with interest what has been fair comment on the whole.
We all know there’s huge issue with traveller culture but there’s no point ignoring or sneering from our ivory towers
Sorry if I was full on with u,
Just frustrated ref the whole shitshow ,
I haven’t got answers as I honestly don’t see travellers mindset changing,
I know a family in Bishopstown Dooleys,
Travellers,
Woman and Children are 100 percent ordinary,
Kids go to school ( one went with my youngest)
But as soon as the boys leave primary or first year in secondary school that’s when the rubbish starts,
Yes they get an awful fuckin time of it at times,
But FFS they bring it on themselves!
Pavee point and other travellers rights organisations are toothless,
Only good for bringing up the racist card but never addressing why settled ppl don’t want them living near them,
It’s hard honesty they need to be told
Like anyone else
Behave and your welcome
I’d not F off,
If the judiciary and AGS wanted to stop this incessant crime and feuding they could by banging up anyone connected to such acts for years
No suspended sentences etc etc
That they constantly mete out to travellers,
Let the cunts stew in prison for a lengthy sentence that’ll sort their cough out,
PS obviously the exact same goes for settled ppl,
And any cunt in social housing that acts likewise out ta fuck
Quite agree
I certainly don’t sneer at anyone,
But tbh am shit sick of wokeism ref travellers ,
Race card brought out too easy,
And used disproportionately,
U can think of me as u will,
I’m not racist but bloody honest ref travellers , and anyone else involved in drugs, feuding,cruelty to kids and animals,
Irrespective of their colour or creed
Worked the doors bouncing for 35 years plus
Ref doorwork- all negatives ref travellers.
Hung around with travellers 50 plus years ago-
Positive experience-
Last 30 years it’s been all downhill ref travellers.
N and S though tbf in Derry headman Tom Stokes kept them in line,( provisional had to intervene occasionally)
But and this is a very big but- well before cocaine became part of what they are,
They’re among the main dealers in Munster
Rule the west coast .
Drugs and social media has ruined them,
Each time ( weekly) there’s a call out they portray themselves as Neanderthal,
Obstinate,unimaginative baboons,
Unreasonable ppl who show no regard or respect for anyone else,
V majority don’t dive a tupenny fuck about anyone or anything as long as they bull their way through society with violence,
Obvious as fuck there’s serious mental health problems in their community with the crazy amount of male suicides going on,
But the macho shit won’t let it be addressed.
And believe me all of them have previous convictions ( multitudes in most cases ref thieving etc)
Majority never get jailed
See it regularly on the court reports
Similarly to druggies
They keep getting off for yonks before sentencing,
Ref women prisoners
There’s simply no room otherwise a hell of a lot more would be done
Obviously not and I did include druggies etc
If they’re causing hassle and disturbing the immediate neighborhood get a gang of ye to go to local councillor and local TD. Why should good people have to leave their homes because of these cunts? Other than that just burn the house down when they’re out.
My god mother is doing a lot of work with travellers nowadays. I heard her saying over Christmas there suicide rates are extremely high but also in line with other ethnic minority groups around the world who are discriminated against.
The laurus trust school in didsbury isn’t really in didsbury but my lass will go there next year if she’s not in Yeats. They’ve to feed a load of the kids because they get nothing at home. They give them the ingredients and teach them how to make it as loads of them apparently couldn’t make a salad or a sandwich.
Not sure it is schools place, but you can’t teach a hungry child.
This is circular tho. Of course many travellers are highly discriminated against by the general public but many of them drive this themselves by crime and violence. The state gives them free houses, dole/ health and schooling+ probably a rake of other supports so you can’t say the state discriminates against them… But historically has done in an awful way… Trying to settle them has created many of the current problems but there’s no place for them to wander in the modern world either. The tough man culture spoken about has everything to do with a lot of their problems - women have no say, education is not valued by the men and unless you fit a certain mould of toughness you’re looked down on. When i volunteered with traveller kids years back one brother and sister were very bright - mother had done her leaving and had managed to get the father to support education. The girl wanted to be a teacher and the boy wanted to be a guard but he couldn’t say that to the community or he’d be ostracized and bate to death … You can see why many men take their lives. It’s a narrow path and they have no tolerance for homosexuals which there must be tonnes living under cover.
There’s a few near me and it is known that the men prostitute their wives to other travellers. A sign of a lack of respect for women that perseveres amongst some of them, no doubt
Not causing me much
Bar the noise and rubbish being fucked about,
I’m getting a move in the bear future as they’ve move in another few across the road from them aswell
It happens all over
Scrotes move in
Ordinary ppl move away,
I wouldn’t be going near any politician regarding the current issues
They’re useless,
If any serious trouble calls to my door I can get it sorted,
But the poor ppl immediately living on each side of them are in rag order,
2 kids missed college time last week and a guy working from home hasn’t slept properly either and his workload has mounted up,
Both immediate neighbours are going through Cluid to try and rectify the situation,
Both are afraid of their windows and cars getting it
Many of the women have it brutal…bate all over the shop I’d say.
I was very gentle with my two sexual encounters with travelling women.
Females have an awful time with them
To boldly go where no man has gone before?
Here’s some balance. My sister bought a house a while back. She’s on her own and it was damp. She got the number of a plumber in the local coffee shop. He came in, showed her a load of readings on his “heat tracer”, said she had a load of leaks under the floor and it all needed to come up and the whole system needed redoing. He said he was expensive but reliable. Quoted her 34k. For a three bed bungalow. I told her not to do anything and asked a pal who’s a plumber. He said that jib shouldn’t cost any more than 6. He said he couldn’t do it but I begged him as a favour so he said he would. We went down on Tuesday. There is no leak. The boiler and plumbing are all relatively new and working perfectly.
Be more honest putting a gun to your head and robbing 34k. A local
Cunt.