Unpopular opinions or views you hold

By the early 2020’s having WAP on your phone was a whole different matter.

That was mine too. I didnt have a phone for a while after other people had started getting them as i dont like change and didnt always want to be contactable. A mate of mine was the sound engineer in a dublin radio station and told me that there were fuck all people sending in answers to win this thing as a prize. I sent in and answer and lo and behold
 i won!!! We all partied i suppose.

I remember going off on a bus to an U10 ground hurling blitz circa 2003 where we had only one coach travelling with us who had no mobile phone, and there was total panic among the various parents dropping us off, when said coach inferred that he ‘hadn’t one clue’ what time we would get home at.

I wonder what it was like back in the 90’s when nobody at all had mobile phones.

I was getting my first shift when I was in first year off a wan in Arklow out the back of the scout hall up there. That would have been in 2002. I was the only one in the whole of 2nd Wexford that didn’t have a phone to get her number. Got on to me ma to get me one when I got home, wasn’t for budging. Got one at Christmas, Nokia 3210, 087. Happy out.

But I suppose townies would be much different to rural Tippo’s.

I think Beverley Cooper Flynn (a class act) was one of the first people in the country to have a “mobile” phone. One of those ones that was as big as a concrete block. Back in the days when she was selling bogus non resident bank accounts for National Irish Bank.

Was Eircell owned by Telecom Éireann or the Carkie?

Eircell was TE; ESAT was Benis O’Drien

1 Main Street
New York

Blast from the past there; a neck like a jockey’s tool. She didn’t lick it off the ground anyway

Beverley Cheesey Grin Navan Man on The Last Word used to call her.

My abiding memory of her would be her getting interviewed at some ribbon cutting event with a load of local 60 and 70nyear old muldoon FF Cumann members looking at her longingly, hanging on her every word like lovestruck teenagers.

She was probably considered some sort of sex symbol by these types.

We were at a European election selection convention in Roscommon in 2004 on a scorcher of a Saturday in the Abbey Hotel.

We’d eliminated a few watery aspirants and were scoffing pints before the kill or be killed activity started. The hotel bar was wedged, this was the peak Bertie years and the atmosphere was electric.

A lad came bursting in roaring “the Flynn’s are coming down the street” - you never seen an army of lads and lassies trying to make themselves invisible in your life

Pee swanned in with the “class act” on his arm and they plopped themselves into a corner with a half dozen ruddy faced muldoons whom I assumed were Rhubarbs like themselves.
Imagine the shame you’d bring on your family being photographed at a political event with those pair of spoofers

I was the last of my friends to get one and I had all their numbers written on one of those fold out little magnetic notebooks the size of a credit card.
Got my first phone a Nokia 3210 in a phone shop on bondi beach then in June 2000.

They were giving away all sorts of free stuff for you to sign up at the beginning

My missus was an early adopter and she got a new VCR thrown in which was handy to go along with our rented television

Why did you love Fianna Fail and being part of the whole thing so much chancer? What was the appeal? My grandad used to go round canvassing and giving out fliers too but he’s dead now and I never got to ask him.

I still remember a good few of friends numbers off by heart because I was about the last to get a phone and would have punching their numbers into the house phone.

Stuart Carolan of Love/Hate fame?

My interest was stimulated initially by the events that lead to the dismissal of Haughey, Blaney and Boland from Lynch’s cabinet and subsequent arms trial. Blaney gave a tremendous speech to a wildly enthusiastic crowd on a Saturday night at the height of the crisis and I was hooked despite his later defection.
I’ve been at Árd Fheiseanna, commemorations, election counts, Bodenstown all the usual party lackey shite but I’ve done a few terms as RĂșnai of the Comhairle DĂĄil Ceanntair and a stint as Cathaoirleach.
I’ve always regarded it as a bit of a social club in the way some lads are members of yacht clubs😉 and angling associations.

I’ve had some tremendous days and nights out of it and met some wonderful decent folk particularly when canvassing. Of course I’ve shipped dogs abuse in my time but I’ve never baulked at knocking a door when seeking a vote.Our people are easily our greatest natural resource

How would you go about ringing home in them days prior to that?