You definitely didnât ring home on the mobile even after I got it. Youâd have to buy an international phone card yoke with a pin number on it and head to a phone box. Good sons probably rang once a week. Mine were slightly less frequent than that. Youâd ring the lads at home the odd time too to find out how matches went and hear the gossip. Time zones meant one end of the phone was usually drunk. A few of us bet into into the phone box. Different times!
Skype me swiss
Phone box surely. I remember my parents using phone boxes in the early 00âs. We were Muldoonâs who were late adaptors to the mobile phone. It was 2005 before one arrived in the house and my father is still in the mould of Tadhg Furlongâs auld lad (RIP) in that he never uses his mobile.
Never bought a mobile phone.
Never paid a bill or credit.
Thatâs bidness
My brother went on a j1 in 05 to San Diego.
He rang home 3 times that summer.
Mad now weâve just instant communication all over the world and nobody notices.
I used to ring home on a sunday morning on the way home from the city usually with my pockets full of coins from the night out.
Pre arranged reverse the charges call to a telephone box. Will you accept reverse charges. Oh yes I will.
What was in Blaneys speech that attracted you so much?
Had one. Great ring tone.
Dah nanana dah naaa, dah nanana dah naaaâŚâŚ
This was my first phone, a Siemens C35 that I bought with pocket money aged 16 in May 2000.
I absolutely loved it. It was something different too from a Nokia or Ericsson that everyone else had.
I recall ringing the taxi man in Leitrim after a feed of pints from a phone box.
It doesnât seem like that long ago.
Lad, it was 56 years ago, I barely remember was I had for my dinner yesterday.
Suffice to say it was somewhat tribal, possibly 2,000 people assembled as darkness fell, burning sods of turf on upturned pitchforks and an outstanding orator outlining the pain our northern brothers and sisters were feeling an hour and a half awayâŚ
Not exactly KKK stuff but tensions in border counties was highâŚ
Ah I was more wondering was it a social conscience, Republican leanings or what that would lead people to become big into a particular party back then or was it just passed on from the parents and the civil war. My own grandad was born 1922 so much older than you obviously and always presumed he was into it from something to do with the civil war and his own father.
My late father was great friends with John Joe McGirl who was central to the founding of the Provisionals while my motherâs side were staunchly FG supporters so where my preference came from certainly wasnât hereditary.
Peculiarly Ballinamoreâs Main Street housed a licensed premises representative of SF (McGirls) and FG (Reynolds) within 30 yards of each other on opposite sides. Given itâs a small town relations between both sides was always cordial as each camp went about their respective business.
McGirl, aside from his relationships with Adams and McGuinness has been remembered as a very decent man who assisted many families in their hours of need.
With a name like McGirl itâs no wonder the Provos failed.
I like Ronnie Whelan
He was a brilliant footballer which stands for a lot.
Hes a curmudgeonly aul fucker but thats him and he makes no bones about it. Hes a national treasure imo
RSA costs 100 million to run per annum. Slash the budget in half and employ more Traffic Corps Guards with the savings.
spot on.
Traffic courts - that just deal w traffic offences