Multiple people are deflecting and attempting to diminish its importance. See @Tim_Riggins and @anon7035031
When did I not acknowledge that?
I simply followed up on the misunderstanding a couple of posters had for @anon7035031’s point.
I was more saying the United States of America, its citizens and institutions, acknowledge and fix it than you to be honest
It’s the same all over the world. I just saw a video of the guards beating a black lad in Galway. America is the greatest country in the world
And the horrible cunt probably spent every second up to that admission searching for a way.
America is unbelievably racist. I spent every summer from age of 8 to 23 in Boston. My Dad had his own painting business. He had a rastafarian working for him the whole time. We worked in affluent parts of Boston, Wellesley, Weston, Brookeline. Once we arrived at a job and the owners seen the Rasta, you could sense their unease. They thought they were employing blue collar Irish, and never for a moment thought they would have this dreadlock rasta roaming their property.
I worked and lived in Boston for two years after that as a Financial Analyst. My brother got a job with same firm. We were quite friendly with an Indian chap who we met on the training course. He would tell us that his all white work colleagues made him feel like a piece of shit. Totally ignored him, spoke very rudely etc.
I witnessed this in my own dept, where white americans spoke terribly to some chinese colleagues. One lady was often in tears.
If you ever went to a Boston Bruins hockey match, you would find yourself at redneck central.
There was always talk the Irish American southie crowd were the most racist? I think there were massive protests in southie when they bussed in black kids to go to school in the 60s
They would not hide their rascism. I have cousins over there like that. The white american flaternity types try and conceal it. These are the lads who secretly vote for Trump.
What a hopeless point. You think there’s a standing order to shoot blacks because it’s good for business?
This is about racism and bias mixed with distrust and trigger happy policing. But in a country where everyone you stop might kill you 1.5 seconds later, it’s a lot harder to judge appropriate caution. But the thing is most do that, with the millions of interactions between police and people there every year the amount of shots fired is quiet low. The way to fix it is weed out those with a predilection themselves to violence, either before hiring or continuous assessment. Hiring from the military has to be looked at, as you are picking from a pool with way higher incidence of PTSD
Kenyan twitter feed reporting on the shenanigans as if a westerner might report on a banana republic is kind of funny
Been flicking between CNN and Fox News for the last couple of hours and the contrast in coverage is marked.
CNN condemning the rioting and pointing out the peaceful protests as well as the violence and discussing the wider issue of the police force and their approach to situations like the George Floyd situation and Trump and what he is bringing to the table. So far, so left leaning but they are a few many angles on this.
Fox are just all about the rioting and looting and antifa bringing in outside agitators and weak liberal democratic mayors and governors not dealing with it well enough. Mentions of George Floyd - few. Mentions of any kind of wider problem within policing in the USA that might have contributed to the situation - zero.
Fox zoned in one business that survived being destroyed- it had a sign in the window saying black owned business.
Does pour smoke on the theory that it’s all white supremacists coming in and doing the wrecking
Have you ever watched “The five” ? 10pm week nights on Fox.
That made me LOL out loud
It’s a lovely day mate, head out for a walk or something.
I’m heading out myself now to join the mass protests in Salthill
What are ye protesting about?
The ref in 2018
Galway don’t moan about refs in big games. They put it to bed and get on with it.