US Presidential Election 2016: Sidney's Victory Lap

@Rocko why doesnā€™t embedding facebook videos work anymore?

Iā€™m not sure. Will take a look later.

I fucking hope not. I have ā‚¬100 on with the fella that told me to back Sanders that Trump wonā€™t get the nomination.

Only this morning I heard that there is a Rocky De La Fuente in the democrat race. What a wonderful name it would be for POTUS!

Bernie on the offensive tonight. Has Hillary a bit rattled.

Whatā€™s the general consensus on the west coast? Anyone jumping ahead as a frontrunner. Was talking with some staunch democrats before xmas and even they admitted Obama was broadly a failure. Interesting to see who comes next.

Was that when you were in Arizona, mate?

No mate. On Skype before xmas. Not many staunch democrats in Arizona.

Nate Silver has Sanders with a shot at New Hampshire but practically no chance overall. Unless a primary victory dramatically shifts attitudes across the nation thereā€™s not much to trouble Clinton. He has done well to be relevant against such a strong candidate and he has bloodied Hillary more than she would have been expecting I imagine. But thatā€™s as far as it goes.

Trump probably wonā€™t win either but his chances are a lot better.

The consensus among democrats is that Hillary will walk the nomination and the general election. Obama is still very popular among democrats. Hillary has now gone full lockstep with Obama (to fend off Bernie), and promises to continue his legacy. Unless something changes, like the economy going into recession, she is pretty much assured of winning I would say. The caveat is that the economy is a lot weaker than it appears, there is a lot of hype about strong job numbers, but pretty much every other economic indicator has been weakening since December.

Sanders has been labelled a socialist, which is akin to being branded a terrorist in the US of A. People are tired of Clinton already though, if he could gather a bit of speed he might run her close, but itā€™s a big ask. He has a real grass roots thing going, which is what carried Obama over the line.
Be some craic if it was Trump v Sanders.

I agree itā€™s hard to see Bernie winning the nomination. He is hugely popular with the 18-30 age group who are now at 1960s levels of anti establishment sentiment, but relatively speaking not many of that demographic vote in primaries. What he has done though is backed Hillary into Obamaā€™s corner which could be a problem for her down the road. I doubt if she wanted to align herself so strongly with Obama, but has to (to fend off Bernie who is a stronger opponent than she bargained for).

Republicans have made themselves virtually unelectable at the national level by alienating every minority. As long as the Tea Party have influence its hard to see that changing. However, general elections typically reward the incumbent party if things are going OK economically and punish them if not. In a deteriorating economy if the Republicans select an electable candidate (Rubio or even Bush) they have a shot. The problem they have right now is that both frontrunners (Trump and Cruz) are unelectable at the national level (regardless of GOP delusion on this question), but you would imagine during the primaries the big money will back an electable candidate as it always does.

What are some good podcasts for the upcoming election?

Trump has bailed out of the last republican debate on Thursday before the Iowa causesses. Itā€™s going to be hosted by Fox news, and he is citing Megyn Kelly the host as being too biased against him to be impartial enough to conduct it. He also put up a poll on his twitter feed asking his followers if he should participate and got about a 50/50 response for and against. Clever enough play seeing as he has his reasons albeit flimsy and he arguably has more to lose than anyone by attending on Thursday night?

No, this is a huge move by Trump. He is distancing himself from Fox News and by default the Tea Party. He knows he cannot be elected in the general election unless he dumps the crazy right, and is willing to risk losing the nomination by dumping them now. Itā€™s interesting. He will sink or swim on this decision.

Alternatively, it just looks like heā€™s scared of a blonde girl.

Itā€™s a good move, I think.

Trump is proving that he is his own man and can make his own decisions.

Trump is box office

Ah here.

How is he distancing himself from the area Party when he embraced Palinā€™s endorsement last week?

Iā€™ll give you one thing @anon7035031, every post you make is done with an air supreme confidence and an authoritative tone, however, youā€™re wrong in this case.

For the record, I have no idea why heā€™s opted out of this debate. Could be for any reason. Heā€™s a mad bastard and is great entertainment.

So I hear Trump is a rapist?