Vigilante Groups/Community Policing

[quote=“cluaindiuic”]I could be wrong here but I think Farmer may have been quoting that episode.

Homer: OK, we’ve got the secret vigilante handshake. Now we need code
names. I’ll be Cue-Ball, Skinner can be Eight-Ball, Barney will
be Twelve-Ball, and Moe, you can be Cue-Ball.
Moe: You’re an idiot.[/quote]

:rolleyes: Oops.

Ya, I probably should have made that clearer. I don’t mean a continued vigilante presence within the town, I meant just once of gathering of concerned people who take the necessary action to get the situtation sorted.

Last month there was a protest at a local Gardai station in my locality due to Garda inaction over a number of bugalries and other serious incidents in which the cops have done little or nothing.

[quote=“The Runt”]Ya, I probably should have made that clearer. I don’t mean a continued vigilante presence within the town, I meant just once of gathering of concerned people who take the necessary action to get the situtation sorted.

Last month there was a protest at a local Gardai station in my locality due to Garda inaction over a number of bugalries and other serious incidents in which the cops have done little or nothing.[/quote]

A lot of towns in Clare are getting relocated travellers and assorted scumbags moved into them now as well. Can see this kind of stuff being a big problem in the years to come.

What was the result of the protest?

The gardai refused to meet with the group leader because they didn’t have an appointment :rolleyes:

racist

“The gardai have their faults” would seem to be something of an understatement. That’s how full of their own self-importance the cunts are.

Anti-vigilante lads - we rest our case.

[quote=“The Runt”]Ya, I probably should have made that clearer. I don’t mean a continued vigilante presence within the town, I meant just once of gathering of concerned people who take the necessary action to get the situtation sorted.

Last month there was a protest at a local Gardai station in my locality due to Garda inaction over a number of bugalries and other serious incidents in which the cops have done little or nothing.[/quote]

Thats more what should happen, a dorment Volcano type group who only explode when they need to.
I’m all for it. Above highlights it, if Irish people are so pissed off that they protest outside a Garda station then things are bad. Irish people generally don’t openly protest enough, although we bitch enough to our mates in a pub.

The Quilty boys will surely sort these riff-raff out. A hardy shower.

Shur aren’t they bringing in a 3 time world heavyweight champ as an enforcer next week?

http://www.mysmiley.net/imgs/smile/confused/confused0020.gif

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Thats more what should happen, a dorment Volcano type group who only explode when they need to.
I’m all for it. Above highlights it, if Irish people are so pissed off that they protest outside a Garda station then things are bad. Irish people generally don’t openly protest enough, although we bitch enough to our mates in a pub.[/quote]

There was a big incident which made national news that has been seen as the tipping point. Not sure if the Gardai have done anything since that time, but their general attitude is shocking. In particular the “community” Gardai.

I’ve never really lived in an area that experienced anti-social behaviour, the worst we had was when some of the lads built a wall across the main thoroughfare of the village using square bails of hay but that was only hijinx.

I would however 100% aupport vigilante groups in stamping out anti-social behavior of little scum bags acting the maggot. They should bring back corporal punishment in schools too.

[quote=“briantinnion”]I’ve never really lived in an area that experienced anti-social behaviour, the worst we had was when some of the lads built a wall across the main thoroughfare of the village using square bails of hay but that was only hijinx.

I would however 100% aupport vigilante groups in stamping out anti-social behavior of little scum bags acting the maggot. They should bring back corporal punishment in schools too.[/quote]

If thats the worst you;ve come across then you’ve been very very lucky. There have been three unprovoked assaults on local people walking home from the pub in recent weeks. One of victims end up needing reconstruction on his face.

Don’t know if the tour takes in Clancy Park or the John Paul estate though.

On a related point how is it the government plans to defend the proposal to close half the garda stations in the country in the face of rapidly rising crime?

[quote=“Watch The Break”]Don’t know if the tour takes in Clancy Park or the John Paul estate though.

On a related point how is it the government plans to defend the proposal to close half the garda stations in the country in the face of rapidly rising crime?[/quote]

Or do the government/city council see the problems that arise when you relocate scumbags who couldn’t even be controlled by the ERU out to quiet country towns where the Cop shop is only open 4 hours a day?

Don’t think the pikeys would last too long alright in Quilty.

Kilrush is a really nice town. Passed through it a few weeks back. You wouldn’t believe the damage a few families can cause.

True.

The Garda have no problem reacting quickly to evict a harmless gang of protestors from Thomas Cook or invading media outlets offices when they report on unflattering portraits of the Taoiseach. Nor was there any problem getting a sufficient number of them to “escort” Shane Lowry through the throng of “violent criminals” on the 18th fairway at Beltray. Nor is there any problem finding a Guard when travelling 5km/h over the speed limit on a quiet motorway.

But, try getting hold of them when there is some real policing to be done - that’s a different matter. There was a high profile incident in my own little corner of Knackeragua in Dublin that the residents had been beseeching the cops for ages to do something about, as they could foresee bad things happening. Of course, the Guards did FA about it until after the incident. Then they were over the area like a rash for six months until disappearing again.

I’m not in favour of vigilante justice, because in the long run that’s how gangsterism develops. But, hats off to the residents of Cavan protesting outside their local cop shop. Irish people will have to learn to protest more to get things done. And not just for law and order reasons either.

[quote=“KIB man”]
Kilrush is a really nice town. Passed through it a few weeks back. You wouldn’t believe the damage a few families can cause.[/quote]

Kilrush is a dodgy enough spot alright…Fierce IRA town by all accounts

[quote=“Menapian”]True.

I’m not in favour of vigilante justice, because in the long run that’s how gangsterism develops. But, hats off to the residents of Cavan protesting outside their local cop shop. Irish people will have to learn to protest more to get things done. And not just for law and order reasons either.[/quote]

That protest wasn’t in Cavan. It was in a town in Limerick.
The people of Cavan town took a more direct approach.