Your championing of cunts on tfk is unparalleled. Ballygunner, Bertie, Michael Lowry, John Delaney, the wattys and Kilcoo. You will never be accused of being a populist anyway.
There’s a real skill needed for what I do.
Its better to walk alone, than with a crowd going in the wrong direction.
Big fan of the Smalls of Ballymun too
There’s not many walk that direction with you, that doesn’t necessarily means it’s the right route
I think Paddy is alright.
Bit harsh on ballygunner. Their success might be boring to most but they seem like a good, community oriented club.
Any shower of bastards who being a trundle wheel to a grounds a week before a game are far from a community club
Maybe these underage teams have more stardust like the aforementioned Cormac Spain but I don’t think it’s really conducive to building a successful inter-county team around one club. It could work at Joe McDonagh level where you see a Carlow team built around MLR and St Mullins. You’d see situations where lads who started county might only enter the fray as a sub for club. That just couldn’t happen in a serious Munster county.
They are a grand club. When they win, they tend to just get on with it, and when they lose they are gracious and take it on the chin.
Its just classic TFK to hate anyone successful and portray them as some sort of evil monster.
but how do you know this? You are from Tipperary - how do you know how a Waterford club acts after victory or defeat?
I’m very well informed.
Our U11’s came up against them in a Munster Council organised blitz in Semple Stadium a couple of years ago and despite them absolutely hammering us, their coaches were sound and proactively looked to exchange phone numbers afterwards about follow on challenges/blitzes.
I know that Darragh O’Sullivan gave a very good speech to the Roanmore lads after the County Minor Final the other week.
Whenever they’ve lost to Borrisileigh/Ballyhale/St Thomas’s, you dont tend to hear any excuses and they usually just compliment the opposition for being deserving winners.
I’m sure they have a few clowns involved too but no more or no less than any other club.
Yeah. We had to put up with that for seven years.
A perfect example is the Nasty stuff said about Jim Gavin
Ballygunner contribute very little to the county team really in terms of marquee players when you look at how other dominant club teams down through the years have contributed to and backboned county All Ireland winning teams. The Cork Big 3 in the 1970’s, various Ballyhale teams, Birr and Portumna all cases in point.
I was having a look there at the All Star teams in the GAA records book. I make it 43 All Stars won by Waterford. Ballygunner made up just 3 of those 43. Fergal Hartley (2002) and Paul Flynn (2004) were the first two. Since 2004, Waterford have won 32 of their 43 and not one outfield player from Ballygunner featured. SOKY claimed the 3rd Ballygunner All Star as goalkeeper in 2017.
Ballygunner have a very set way of playing. It seems to produce a samey same kind of player who struggles to make the step up to the higher level of inter-county hurler, once outside the Ballygunner bubble.
A nice pat on the head all the same.
In fairness Flynner only winning one All Star reflects the bag of shite that the All Stars are.
I’ve been saying it for years
We’re about five posts away here from someone going out on a limb and trying to claim Clarinbridge 2011 were a better outfit than Ballygunner 2019-2025.
The Munster Club Championship does seem to be weaker than its Leinster counterpart and Galway.
Of the last 36 Club All Ireland Hurling winners, 5 were from Munster, 17 from Leinster, 13 from Galway and Loughiel for Ulster in 2012.
Nobody gives a continental outside of the club that wins it, I should know we did in 2016, the holy grail for 99.99% of clubs be it at senior to Junior C is a county title, end of.
Ballygunnar will be remembered as massive chokers