Waterford Hurling (now incorporating intermediate football) 2013 and subsequent years

that uncovered stand is utterly depressing on a wet day with the rain falling into your lap.

they’d be better off with a terrace there if they’re not going to roof it.

It’s simple enough imo now how to reach a happier medium.

Scrap the round robin shite, bin it.

The League in the current short season isn’t worth a wank, scrap it.

Introduce Open Draw / Straight knockout Provincial Championship.

All Ireland Series with Open Draw.

Teams who progress fight for All Ireland series.

It’s glorious on a fine day though.

The round robin is fine. Waterford will come out of it when they are good enough to do so

Use the model KK have for the clubs.

12 teams. Open draw as to who goes into the two groups of 6. 5 games. Top two from each group get a bye into the Quarter Finals. All other teams from each group are in relegation final if they lose in the first round, and relegation semis.
7 games at least in the championship, up to eight if you reach a final.
Run off the provincials in the spring. No advantage to winning it. Galway can play Connaught teams (ta fuck).

I can see why you might want a few games against offally Wexford or laois alright

What is the benefit of moving to an open draw exactly and away from the provinces?

Who benefits from it exactly? You will end up with two groups which are poorer versions of the current Leinster championship.

Stop crying because Tipperary keep getting battered. The Munster round robin is the great equalizer. Pathetic performance on Saturday.

I think there needs to be jeopardy for the team finishing last in Munster. Automatic relegation to division 1B maybe.

I’d have no problem with 5th in Munster playing 5th in Leinster with losers playing Joe Mc runners up for Liam Mccarthy spot the following year.

Dispense with the league?

It’ll be interesting to see what happens as regards Queally. His 2 year term is up. The overall stats are not good. Relegation from Division 1A, 2 failures from 2 to emerge from Munster and after an opening round win on 2025, winless in 7 games.

Queally was also Davy’s right hand man and it was a near identical record under Davy in 2023 and 2024 of 2 failures to advance and a league relegation.

As you said, he has had just desperate luck with injuries, bereavements, awful officiating at critical junctures and has done well to a point in the face of such adversity. I do wonder about the constant casualty ward injury list that Waterford seem to have now every year and is that down to training and the type of strength and conditioning work they are doing.

I’m just not convinced though that Queally is up to it. It is a style of play that is really based arkind containment and is not going to win too much against the better sides.

I’d imagine Joxer and Paul Flynn will take over in a few years when last years minor All Ireland winning side goes through U20 cycle. In the interim, the Waterford job is not really the most attractive of propositions. Though having said that, Derek and Jason Ryan I’d imagine nihht fancy a crack at it.

It’s fucking grim as shit underneath it as well, I’d say a biologist would have a field day putting the slime on the walls under a microscope. Even at that people still prefer it over the Mackey. JP badly needs to sort the whole thing out.

It reflects terribly on him in fairness.

Are Ballygunner even back training? I presume their county lads wont be back until July at the earliest?

At this stage I don’t think they even need to bother training until after the Waterford championship is over

Those sort of joyless fuckers were training the day after the All Ireland final

Yes. I will post up how in next couole of days.

The toughest game Ballygunner got last year was the Waterford semi final against De La Salle. That was the one game they really should have lost. They coasted to an All Ireland against all opposition after that.

Summer versus Winter hurling.

How would De La Salle fare playing them in November after a 2 month training block.

With current calendar timing it’s an irrelevance now.

Camogie association run the provincial campaign off before the All Ireland series commences?