Waterford v Kilkenny 2017

De Burca is a fantastic hurler as is Jamie Barron. Gleeson drifting dangerously close to a show pony with no balls territory.

All about the draw now. Waterford don’t want tipp

De Burca is always a joy to watch. Up there with an in form Ronan Curran for me as the second best centre back ive seen/enjoyed watching since the greatest himself, Seanie McMahon.

Don’t think they can get Tipp. Provincial losers kept apart

Be a disaster.

cc @Bandage.

Seriously?

That was nice. Hard luck to all my Kilkenny chums. Ye were valiant losers

Congrats. They nearly snatched defeat from the jaws of victory, so I’m sure that’ll make it all the sweeter.

Seanie McMahon aside I dont think there have been many great centre backs in my 20 odd years watching hurling. Carey and Ken McGrath were great hurlers but not necessarily great centre backs but would have stood out regardless where they played. De Burca has it all and is consistently excellent and reads danger as good as any six in modern times. Him and Barron are as good as anything in the country right now

Not having a man to mark helps quite a bit don’t you think?

Yeah, he’s class but he’s always on his own as well

He is an orthodox six as he has shown at other levels. Dont think it is his fault that Waterford play him deep, their lack of a full back is the problem. He is a natural centre back. He is a class act, even when things are against him he never seems to hide

I’d fancy Wexford against that Waterford set up

Seanie McMahon won a couple of handy all Irelands in the 90’s and was crowned the greatest centre back ever by the Clare savages.

As far as I can see he was a fat cunt who was handy enough on the 65’s

22 Likes

Enjoy the celebrations Fagan

@Fagan_ODowd will presumably be logging on to the drink thread around Thursday

Why?

Ah yeah, fair play to ye. Better team by a bit to be honest.
I’d like to see ye win it but I don’t think ye will.
As an aside I heard tonight that Derek McGrath to Dublin next year is a done deal.

Bump

Bump