Waterford v Kilkenny 2017

Just back from the Spinnaker there. Had a drink with the daughter of the actual Link Walsh. Lovely lady

Well done today, you certainly kept us guessing.

Why should that stop Eddie?

Thats one player.

And you write him off based on a 20 year olds speach? A high level 20 year old athlete, one of the most egotistical groups on the planet.

I’d want better than that.

Wtf happened to Richie Hogan, three games in a row this year where he barely pucked a ball.

Coming out saying he was basically a professional hurler now didn’t do him any favours either. Has to have had an adverse effect. Getting up every day and not having anything to do but go to the gym or training that night can’t be good for you. A mental drain if nothing else.

A combination of lots of things. Obviously back problems that he didn’t give proper time to rest. He’s overcooked . Burnt out I’d say.

Where did I write him off?

What age is he? 27 or 28? Still has a good few years left you’d imagine.

Has just looked flat and jaded this year for whatever reason.

In fairness 11 AI’s between 2000 and 2015 is ridiculous. Unsustainable even for them to churn out superstars year after year. Mick Fennelly will be the biggest loss of all of the current crew.

Any word on how the fourth official is doing?
Let’s hope he makes a full recovery. He didn’t deserve to be assaulted like that.

Ah he’s a bit of a strange fish anyway. If Cody stays on, Hogan could get the Charlie Carter treatment next year.

The whole county needs a rest from it. It was unsustainable. A fallow year, time off, r&r, new coach next year, fresh ideas, young lads coming through…

Well that was pure entertainment and a pretty good representation of both teams. We tried hard but we’re just not that good any more. Waterford are a decent side bereft of the conviction to put a team away. They should have kicked on after Bennett’s goal to put the game out of sight but instead went into their shell and paid a price for it. Fair play to Waterford for not going to pieces psychologically after the full time whistle. It could have really done a number on them. They settled down and once they scored immediately from the extra time throw in they were back in order. I’d love to see Waterford go all the way but I just don’t really see it. They have to address their conservative nature when they have a lead and develop a killer instinct.

6 teams left you could see a big number of different combinations contesting the final. My guess right now is Galway Tipp but the draw may make that impossible.

Tipp v Clare and Wexford v Waterford would be a lovely quarter final combination. The match today is even enough though.

We’ll be in rebuild mode for a couple of years anyway. I wouldn’t mind seeing some change in management team. A clear path to succession would be good. Be it Lyng, McGarry or someone like Tom Mullally. This year was very un-Cody-like. It felt like there was a confidence vacuum in the whole set up. Many of the hallmarks of Cody’s tenure were missing. But it is what it is. We never felt like genuine contenders this year.

Back to the game big kudos to Waterford. They were fitter and faster than us all over the pitch. Tadhg De Burca was excellent. Noel Conners too. Gleeson was himself, mixing sublime and ridiculous. Good performances all over. For us, Buckley was very good and seems to be our long term solution at 6. Lester did well when he came on. Outside of that we had patchy performances across the board.

We couldn’t stay at the top forever. It doesn’t work like that. I’ve always felt like we’ve been in bonus territory since the aftermath of the 2010 final. 4 AI wins since then was a massive over achievement given a declining squad. We’ll be back, it’ll take a little while though.

Who would Cody’s replacement @Locke if it came to that? Brennan surely won’t get it after last year.

Apologies, you didn’t. I mistook your response for midship who originally did write him off.

I do not know if he is up to it yet or whatever, but i think people associate him with the u21 defeat last year alot. Which is very narrow minded.

I think he has a very good grasp of whats needed from the insight, albeit limited, from him on tv.

FFS. :see_no_evil::see_no_evil::see_no_evil:

You are a dope.

I hope Cork win today, as much so you won’t have anything dumb and negative to say as anything.

A fallow 20 years would do ye good

Kev, a supposed Cork man, only hoping Cork win to shut up some random lad on the Internet.

Buckley is one of the best, brilliant athlete and hurler.

Cody has often been wound up but he seemed genuinely frustrated this year and especially yesterday. He should get 12 weeks btw for what he did, he clearly initiated contact with the 4th official. Fair play to the Stadium lad for stepling in as well and naybe it was his size or something but Cody calmed then. He shows the bully in him sometimes and there was a hint of it last night.

KK still have plenty really good athletes and a number of players who just need more time and probably a bit of settlement. Walsh is no more and IC full back than i am. To think i would classify Cahalane streets ahead of Walsh now is indicitive of how out of place he is. Hurling wise there is only one winner, but at no.3 Walsh is made look like a plug.

Lester Ryan, Fenneally x2, Buckley, Fogarty, Murphy, TJ and a fit Hogan is still a serious bunch to build a team around.

I did not see it but auld lad said the skill, touch and accuracy of your 21’s was very impressive recently. So in theory, with some sort of shake up, ye could very easily be back in a final in next 2 years.

The touch and hurling was woeful for KK. Like a team over trained. Might have been iver compensating?

Fogarty and Michael Fennelly are goosed mate.

Fennelly is but not Fogarty

In fairness, it looked to me like the 4th official initiated the contact. He should have stayed out of it and let Cody & McGrath at it.