Waterford v Kilkenny 2017

I reckon there’ll be a big performance in The deise yet

No Tommy Dunne said that on OTB.

There was . They lanced a 58 year boil on Saturday .

I’ll illustrate this pictorially.

These are the plays from which Kilkenny scored goals and which I assume not being based on tactics are the thing of beauty which Henry and his ilk think need to be preserved.

You wouldn’t see it in a fucking schoolyard

Here are Waterford’s goals. The essence of negativity and what being too tactical will do for you.

Barcelona esque. I know what I’d prefer to see. Sharp eyed forumites will notice in every case that the bulk of the Kilkenny defenders on any of the photos are chasing back towards their own goal after the Waterford attacker. The perfect position for any attacker.

Speaking of tactics and the mugging off of Cody here is the middle of the pitch just before Gleeson plays in Barron for the fourth goal in the picture above. 7 Kilkenny players in ten yards of the middle of the pitch. One player at home minding the kitchen.
Tae in a mug for Brian.

Tommy made some good points. You need good players to beat the sweeper system.

Kilkenny’grand plan was to land game but limited John Joe on his own as target man full forward against the full back and de Búrca and got their just desserts. It was painful to watch.

Even at their best it used to frustrate watching the shite ball landed into the forwards. I reckon they won loads despite this as the players were so good rather than a genius plan of pick lads who were good in the air.

It’s easy to be dismissive of that Cody muldoon but they were masters are creating/condensing space once upon a time. That made a bad ball at least 1 on 1.

As someone said earlier, Martin Fogarty seemed to be the tactical brains of the operation.

Babs, donkeys and derbies are the 3 words that come to mind now.

Hon Maurice Booooiiiiiiiiiiiiii

The forward play was always great. Larkin in particular, was brilliant at breaking through and timing and placing his pass perfectly. My issue was just the initial ball from the backs was often brutal.

Fogarty a loss on the tactical side alright but in fairness Cody had 3 All Irelands won before he came in board and one or two afterwards.

It’s great to see celebrations like that. Waterford badge-kissing is BOX OFFICE.

Little wonder that the Wexford-Waterford quarter-final has been given the showpiece Sunday slot with Tipperary v Clare relegated to the graveyard Saturday afternoon curtain-raiser for two football qualifiers slot.

Maurice is a very classy guy, pure passion pure dedication. He just gives me the impression of quality, not surprising considering who his brother is. No one can kiss a crest as inspiringly as a Waterford man.

I suppose he’s still only learning himself Mike. Along the way on his journey he’s picking up certain things that’ll guide them one way or the other, it’s all still evolving for them, still growing still learning.

@Fagan_ODowd is after upping ante here something wicked the last few hours.

Pretty stark contrasts alright Fagan, a point well made. Kilkenny seem to have lost most of their leadership on the pitch and that is something Cody always relied on. How many of those goals would have been scored if JJ or Tommy Walsh were there? Cody trusted players like these to make calls on the pitch and when they didn’t he was ruthless. Now he doesn’t have them and he can’t be ruthless because the alternatives aren’t there.
In fairness to @iron_mike , his was a good point also. What was it? An 8 point lead with 11 minutes left? Waterford should have been kicking on and driving Kilkenny into the grave with a 15 point victory.

He’s at home kissing the pocket of his short sleeved shirt

Waterford let them back into it just to take the piss for a bit longer.

It would have been much more fun to win by 15

Shefflin will be raging.

Bumped for all of our new fans. Cc @Nembo_Kid @Little_Lord_Fauntleroy @Sidney @thedancingbaby

Another master class in space creation fromour boys yesterday. Here are the four (4) goals.