Willie Barrett, Johnny McDonnell, Sean OâMeara, Johnny âwhatâs happening in general?â Ryan and todayâs ape.
Per head of population, Tipperary have produced some amount of refereeing tulips.
Willie Barrett, Johnny McDonnell, Sean OâMeara, Johnny âwhatâs happening in general?â Ryan and todayâs ape.
Per head of population, Tipperary have produced some amount of refereeing tulips.
I have no grĂĄ for Horgan whatsoever but what decisions did he get wrong today?
Better than that lard arse Brian Gavin or Barry Kelly or the corrupt Diarmuid Kirwan. Certainly no worse than anyone else - Lyons from Cork etc.
I thought he was good.
My opinion.
You forgot the worst of the lot - Seamus Roche!
Paul Galvinâs mate Paddy Russell wasnât the worst, in fairness.
Would you go way outta that, the man is an abomination. He spends all his time these days going up and down the county attracting the ire of the participants in every club game he officiates.
Ah here. Refereeing is nigh on impossible.
Just for clarity - when I say âwasnât the worstâ I mean I canât remember him fucking us over in matches involving us.
Iâm convinced itâll come out in time that Roche had it in for us, though.
He wasnât allowed referee any Kilkenny games after the Galway loss in 2005. Think it was the semi final in which Niall Healy got 3 goals. Whenever âthe greatest team of all timeâ lost it was Roches fault.
Donât be so paranoid. Roche is a grand lad and didnât have it in for anyone.
Iâll give Roche a pass. He once did me a serious turn back in the day.
Brian Cody destroyed the game of hurling 15 years ago. Itâs finished
Agree with that. 3 of the 4 changes didnât work. Rory OâConnor had a really fine game. He had a brilliant spell after half time and did very well on Barron when he went to midfield.
Self inflicted to a terrible extent in the first half. That goal before half time was truly awful and pivotal. Eoin Moore had plenty of time to rise the ball instead of playing a backwards ground pass. His distribution was generally very poor after a good early point. Breen fumbled before the goal also - thatâs happened too often this season, e.g. John McGrath goal at the start of the league semi-final. I thought Fanning should have been off his line quicker too but need to see it again.
We were two defenders short this year with whatever two of Devereux, Moore and Donohoe a bit below whatâs needed. Willieâs just too small - thatâs three games in a row where heâs been overpowered in the first 10/15 minutes. Fennelly with a first minute penalty, Cooney with Leinster Final points and then Walsh and Dillon today. It puts us on the back foot immediately.
I donât necessarily think our tactics were wrong. We clearly decided to take De Burca out of the game as much as possible and set up to run at them from out the field via Ryan, Chin, OâKeeffe, OâConnor, Redmond etc. But it was the fumbling, poor first touch, misplaced hand passes, playing the unnecessary extra pass to leave someone ripe to be bottled up / turned over etc that was fucking annoying at times. It looks really slick when it comes off and we took some good scores but not enough today.
Redmond went poorly and I was surprised Aidan Nolan was dropped. I watched the first half of the Leinster Final again and realised how often he was involved in our scores in winning contested ground balls (not rucks), breaking tackles and laying it off. Today seemed to be the type of congested game where he would be needed.
I actually think weâre more expansive than Waterford the way we send the likes of Liam Ryan forward for scores. Theyâve reverted right back to their fairly rigid set up since the Cork defeat. Itâs frustrating to lose (and without ever getting close enough in the last 20 minutes to worry them) when their better players like De Burca, Barron and Gleeson werenât too influential and we coughed up so many scores from unforced errors.
I thought we would find it hard to come back when we gifted them the goal but was delighted with our start to the second half. Chin missed a relatively straightforward chance to get us back to within 1-point and then they kicked on again to a certain extent. Restoring the gap allowed them to suck us in and break forward into the space when we lost the ball. Their replacement forwards, OâHalloran and Shanahan, exploited this very well.
Our lack of pace upfront due to Dunne and McGovern being out made us a little bit easy to defend against too. McDonald was disappointing today and Doran is probably a better impact sub option at this stage irrespective of how well heâs going in training.
I also think we need a new goalkeeper. I donât know what heâs looking at when driving puck outs that totally favour the opposition at times. It usually costs us around 3 points per game and happened twice in succession in the second half today.
Overall, itâs disappointing to exit the championship with two defeats in a row and all the more frustrating today given the basic nature of some of our mistakes.
Davy has launched a scathing post match attack on Michael Duignan and to a lesser extent on Shefflin.
Good assesment. Ye werent far off them today without ever looking like winning really. Is there any plan b in the bag for chasing the game? Didnt really look like it.
Waterford are an enigma. Never out of third gear really but just put together a few bursts of scores that kept them out of reach. Plenty scope for them to improve but need Gleeson in the game for 70 mins to win an AI. Few smashing points again today tbf. He got some heavy duty attention in 2nd half
âLet me say this straight out, Michael Duignan and Henry [Shefflin] have had a go. Let me say this straight out, Michael Duignan and Henry have never managed a team at a high level. The people need to wake up so they do. If they want the same one or two teams to play hurling and be successful thatâs fine. Myself and Derek [McGrath] are trying to bring teams to the fore that havenât been to the fore in a long time. Iâm very strong about this. Itâs great for the likes of Michael Duignan, he should have had an opinion on something recently and he didnât have it when he should have stood up. Itâs time now, Michael Duignan stops this messing,â Fitzgerald said.
âThe job Derek McGrath has done and the stick he has taken is totally unwarranted. What he has done for Waterford and bringing them back to the top is incredible and I am backing him 110%. You tell me that was a bad game of hurling? Some of the scoresâŚshort and long ball, every sort of ball? Or do we just play the long ball and hit it and thatâs it? I donât agree with that and I think they are totally out of order. I think RTĂ should go and have a look at themselves and get analysts who have been on the sideline and know what the story is about and thatâs how I feel strongly about it.
âItâs easy to knock people, Iâd like to see their track records when it comes to managing because itâs a lot different from playing I can promise you that.â
wtf
the little fucker was off filming his tv show all week im surprised he had time to go to the game!
Whatâs the little midget referring to when he says Duignan bottled out of saying something that he should have?
Iâll hazard a guess itâs Duignanâs refusal to call out Cody for putting his hand on the official during Waterford match.
Thats fair enough really. Wouldnt be a fan of the sweeper system to watch but the lads are entitled to set their teams up as they wish.
Same shit talk when cork were at the tippy tappy hurling. The pundits only happy when its hip and whip one on one. Sure how many times did you see teams absolutely folding against KK because they just lorried it up and beat in the air all day