Waterford v Wexford - The battle for armchair supporter moral high ground

Has to be

So it has!

Duignan was manager of Meath one time AFAIRā€¦

Good to see someone finally call Shefflin out.

Didnā€™t open his mouth during his playing career, hasnā€™t shut it since the day he retired with that press conference.

The game has moved on since the days of Kilkenny hammering everyone by just fucking it down on top of the forwards. Yeah itā€™s awful to watch at times but Waterford wonā€™t give a damn if it wins them the AI.

God, it feels wrong to side with that mutant.

Iā€™m not advocating hit and hope style tactics but a lot of teams do overdo the short passing to their own detriment. Quick ball at a height anywhere from the floor to the forwardsā€™ head height into the full forward line is the best way to get scores. Itā€™s what Tipp and Cork do. Galway play very direct but thatā€™s because they have a team of giants who can win any kind of ball

Davy is a stone cold legend to call out those 2 spoofing cunts. :clap::clap::clap::clap::clap:

He will win feck all with Wexford

No complaint with result Waterford better today.
Sense of frustration that a poor touch, poor decision making cost us. The goal was very sloppy to concede.
Rory Oā€™Connor more than justified his start and hopefully the start of a long inter county career.
Missing Dunne and McGovern robbed us of that bit of pace we are missing badly in attack.
Positive year overall and getting the above 2 mentioned plus Reck, Shore and Paudie Foley fit and in squad will be a help next year.
The new PuiC is an impressive venue and Dan Shanahan spends way too much time on the pitch.

Fogra Eile: Fair play to Davy for calling out spoofer Duignan

Heā€™ll win 80k a year for the next four years. Thatā€™s all he gives a fuck about.

80lk for what

80k for fuck all, roaring at lads from the sideline.

Either that or Duignan throwing his hat into the ring for the Offaly job.

He says the same old rubbish

Before heā€™s finished Davy will be proud of every hurler in Ireland, after they lose playing his shite system.

Ye actually have the makings of a serious side. Plenty big guys, loads of speed thru the middle.
You would expect them to come on alot from this year. As long as Davy doesnā€™t go asking for too much.

He has done a good job to date. He has learned from the Clare tactical farce i think

As others have noted too, some better players to come back into the fold which should help things. However, if we are to compete, our top level players, notably Chin and McDonald, will need to be just that, not passengers or being average in a good side. To be elite, you need elite players. They are that, but they need to perform an awful lot more than they have this year.

Iā€™d like to see the progression moved on again next year. Both tactically and skill wise

Agreed. The system isnā€™t really reminiscient of one deployed by Clare. You saw likes of Liam Ryan and Eoin Moore scoring at various stages today. You do feel they are lacking in corner back positions though and I thought the puck outs of Fanning were a real liability. It took Gleeson and De Burca out of the game but it brought Brick and to a lesser extent Moran into the game who occupied the channels in which Fanning was playing the ball into and where moves eventually broke down. Even if they went long with the puckouts they might have may have lost possession, but only Gleeson would have been hitting his usual half a dozen wides.

Wexford didnā€™t have enough play or to coin a rugbyism territory in Waterfords half of the field. When you are trying to string 5 or 6 intricate passes together there is a high propensity for these moves to break down and when they do you get exactly what happened before half time today. Also as Bandage alluded to and a few others they lack pace in the forward line and cant play a game chasing ball into the channels. If anything they need to play compact and more direct. They dont have enough lads that can break a tackle like Dan McCormack or Bonnar Maher did yesterday.

I would give Davy a B+ rating for getting Wexford to divsion 1 and beating Kilkenny for the first time in years. Needs to find 3 or 4 more players to be challengers though.

The ginger cunt never stopped mouthing at refā€™s

Commiserations to all of my Wexford chums here. It was a valiant effort from the Model County, but the rigours of a long and successful year took its toll.

Congrats Fagan. Better team won, the year or fitness had little to do with it. Waterford that bit further down the line. Neither teams star players played well, so Waterford showed their depth of talent is greater than wexfords.