Agreed, get a good, small but select group together and you’ll have a grand day or two anywhere. No need to be asking the brides cousins you’ve only met a couple of times.
Was on a big stag in Kilkenny a few months back. Between both days there must have been the guts of 40 or 50 lads. Some only doing the Friday night, some only doing the Saturday. It was just too busy.
I’ve a two night stag in October I’m already dreading it. Last few have been one night affairs. I might only go to one night anyway, not able anymore. The drinking is easy, the recovery is ridiculous
Shooting and a strip club drink the Bollix out of it and get the fuck out of the place never to return again. If your going to fuck up, do it abroad. Last thing ya want is some psychopath tracking you or a mate down on Facebook because you shifted her or something.
As one of the lads told the best man as he was trying to round up lads from the early house to go paint balling “John, I came for one activity and I’m doing it”.
The only activity I want is the walk between pubs.
This stag in October is going to be a right dose I’d say. The best man is an ape, I bet there’ll be costumes and some retarded activity. He’ll get the short shrift on both
We’d a cunt organise gokarting in Carlow on the second morning. I was talked into it. Still half locked, got geared up in the jump suit and helmet. We’d to do a qualifying lap. I was peaky enough and the stink of sweat in the helmet didn’t help. I went as slow as possible around the qualifying lap, stopped, jumped out running, the instructor was given me directions as I ran. I was tearing at the straps of the helmet and navigating bodies, I made it to the jacks anyway and got the helmet off, I started puking from the jacks door still moving and to this day I don’t know how I got all of it into the bowl. I was on the telephone to God for a while and cleaned myself and a few bits up.
I came out into the reception and to the eternal credit of the lady on the desk she got me to sit down on the two seater couch that was there and brought me out a blanket and a cup of tea. I slept there for the two hours of the “grand prix”.
I’ll never forget that womans kindness as long as I live
My former teammate who is now domiciled up your way pretty much had a two day shouldering contest of s stag. Lost count of the amount of pubs we were asked to leave due to of of the group blindsiding another with a shoulder
It’s graveyard Sunday here and as I traversed the various plots I came upon the resting place of a beloved rustic who was known locally as Little Paddy despite being 20st+. He was originally called Paddy the Yankee as he was the 1st. man in the parish to have a genuine short sleeved shirt courtesy of the American parcel…
But I digress…
About 2006 at the zenith of the Tiger era our local TD’s daughter got married with reception in the Slieve Russell in Bellaconnel (sic). 580 assembled for the festivities amongst whom were Tàniste Coughlan, Ministers Cowen, Smith and Dempsey and former EU Commissioner MacSharry. As we arrived Herself partook of a prosecco and scurried to the gardens for a cigarette.
I battled my way to the bar finding an inch of counter beside Little Paddy. Boxty says he, it’s a fucking free bar. I mean he said how the fuck will he afford the cost of drink with these greedy bastards.
I casually winked across at Cllr. Rachel Doherty and informed Paddy that we needn’t worry. The state, me and you, are paying Paddy, this will go down as an exploratory mission to Brazil for a forestry fact finding report. We’ll be grand.
A slow cunning smile lit up his homely face as the penny dropped. He shook my hand, clapped my shoulder before bawling at the top of his voice “2 large Jemmies and 2 pints there my good man”
The light of Heaven to his noble soul and all that’s gone before us.
Mar focail scoir, Boxty can confirm that while she might have been a useless politician Mary Coughlan is a terrific waltzer.