I’d say they just want the day out, it’s all part of it. They probably won’t make a whole pile.
Italy is a bit of a joke alright.
Borgo?
Be great craic. Cheer up
Oh, I’ll have a good time alright. 2 day affair I’ll book end with a couple days to ourselves. It’s just the shallowness.of it. Everyone expected to wear the costs and give a gift on top when all present know the two are long married already.
All you have to do is politely decline - a myriad of excuses - work, Holy Communion, PCR test, caring for @Juhniallio, 1st round of the championship, wife’s fear of flying any spurious yarn. Fuck ‘em.
Did you give a gift when they got married? If not is it not just a delay in the giving a gift then? I do think people shouldn’t expect a gift, or at least the same level of a one, if they choose to get married (or have their party) abroad.
Just go to the weddings and enjoy it.
In a decade or two it’ll be funerals. You’ll save on the gift there.
Jaysus a wedding in Italy with family and friends would be a great bit of Craic. Lads do have little to worry them in the grand scheme of things.
It’s not from my side of the house the invite has been received. Therefore, this is a mandatory excursion if I place any modicum of value on a peaceful life leading up to, and subsequently some time after, said wedding.
I’m with you on the expectation of gifts after already having people.go to the considerable expense travelling to be there. Add that the pomp and ceremony is the real reason for the event as the act of marriage has already been conducted.
Other than my missus, i know nobody, not a single other soul at it. Am sure will have a good time at it. Just sticks in the craw a bit the expectation of it all when they’re already married
A bit of penance that one alright
I don’t think it matters a shite whether they’re married or not already. A mate of mine was supposed to get married a few months into the pandemic, delayed the wedding by two years, got married in a registry office and did the “wedding” and celebration a few months ago. I don’t think it made any difference that he’d been legally married two years. One that would really bug me is when people decide to get married on a Wednesday or something and require you to take two days leave, that is complete bullshit.
There you have it.
Bugs me. If it’s about the day, wait for the day. If it’s not about the day, then plough on as you see fit. Bit up your own hole to think making 2 days of it just fine. Even more up your own hole expecting intl travel for the second day.
We all have our own intolerances.
Mine is people expecting a present at all.
Presents should be given out of love/kindness , not duty/social mores.
I’d hate that and would find any excuse not to go. Spose it’s a bit different if you are disappointing a spouse/partner by not going. Then you’d have to offer it up I’d say.
Herself has just announced that we are going to her friends house for dinner at 5pm on Saturday.
You might be, says I, but I’m not.
Why not (edgy voice)
Galway Wexford starts at 430, I’ll join you after if you like.
Cue angry stomping out.
Herself has just announced that we are going to her friends house for dinner at 5pm on Saturday.
You might be, says I, but I’m not.
Why not (edgy voice)
Galway Wexford starts at 430, I’ll join you after if you like.
Cue angry stomping out.
Sure Galway will bate them with their caps.
Expensive handbag incoming
I fear you may be right.
In other news, my sister is over and was going to take my lass into town this morning to buy herself a present. I paid little heed until it became clear it was a birthday present (and I had forgotten it’s her birthday on Monday).
I hence loaded up my lass card and she was going to buy a present from me. Job done.
Unfortunately fairly distressing circumstances have arisen, and they couldn’t go.
I’m fcuked.