You’d want a fancy one. Nothing black or navy
Proper
You’re dealing with lads who would praise the happy couple for providing a can of Lynx Africa in a basket in the jacks.
The Spanish Cateto loafer comment has shaken you to the core pal … you probably just purchased an edgey blue suede pair for this summer ?..
Was at a wedding once where a boozed auld one mistook the groom for a waiter and demanded he get her a drink.
Maybe one of those check ones the young lads get with their suits for the Debs or going to race days, and accompany them with a pair of white sports socks
I’ve honestly no Idea what you’re talking about pal. We clearly mix in different social circles and that’s fine too. A pair of chinos and no socks wouldn’t cut it among people of certain style and class. But it’s good that the lower classes are trying to do their thing too. Good for you.
The pick and mix/jellies cart in the foyer is a huge hit too.
Do lads still go to the residents bar?
I really can’t stand the set up of a wedding. I find them tedious and exceptionally cringeworthy too.
As for the attire I don’t really let what other people wear bother me to be honest but i don’t like three piece suits in general.
I notice lads wear three piece suits and no tie at times now going racing which seems really odd to me.
Lads don’t be long forgetting…
Never made it at the last one i was at. Couldnt face caledonia
Young man’s game. I couldn’t face it anymore. A hotel bed and no kids in the morning is too much to turn down.
I’ve never been to a wedding with this carryon. How do lads make the next day brunch if they’ve been up all night drinking?
Some lads try go through the night, and be the big men in the morning when the older folks come down for the breakfast.
I used enjoy the residents bar as a younger man, but I couldn’t even contemplate for a good few years now. I’m happy enough with that too.
Lads picking jelly babies out of their teeth at the breakfast that they absolutely have to get up for the following morning even though they’re absolutely fuckin dying and it kills them to eat anything simply because “we paid for it in the room rate Maura, tis paid for”
Dec Hannon does a great version
Gay weddings are great craic.
Enjoy it and if i can give you one bit of advice, its not to laugh when the lads get to the “with this ring” part of the vows.
My wife gave me a dead arm at her brothers wedding when i did that.
Serious and disturbing revelations here in the past few hours. Some lads badly shown up……
A 2 hour special on and with Leonard Cohen currently on Sky Arts if you fancy that stuff.
Listening to him drone on is reminiscent of Eamon Fitzmaurice discussing Sligo V Wicklow.
At a wedding today in the north west of the mainland. Non gay cc: @Locke . Lovely ceremony in the grooms school church.
Priest was very normal and had the craic. Venue was small but perfect for the crowd. Good drink, music and craic. I did not wear a waistcoat. Wasn’t that type of wedding.
Cc: @Thomas_Brady
I did wear brown shoes because I need to let the tans know I’m Irish.