Two single lads, close friends of the family, didn’t give anything at our wedding. Neither would be flush and both would have been great neighbours down the years.
I didn’t bat an eyelid.
That said a first cousin of my Dad and her husband gave 50 quid. Her on a nurses pension, him breeding dogs. And I barely knew them. Fuck that.
You’re a more generous man than me; my take on it is if they want to have a fancier location with more expensive grub and rooms (and usually drink too) then they can take the hit. 200 is my limit bar for family weddings or if I was in the wedding party.
My mother called me a year or so after my (make believe) wedding to tell us she had taken out the purse she used that day and found the card from her brother, my godfather. Hadn’t even missed it. A lovely little surprise to get.
We got a few bits and pieces of presents and cards from locals and friends of our folks, people can be fierce decent. I wouldnt ever get too worked up over it what you get or dont get, but I’d always have it in my head not to be seen to be tight or mean when giving a wedding present to someone close to you. Maybe its an Irish thing. Probably is. Anyway, peace of mind and all that. Money comes and money goes.
I’d love an aul wedding, but its all communions and confirmations nowadays, even the christenings have levelled off. Getting to that age. More wakes than weddings sadly. When you think back on the aul stock that are gone in the family, I always remember the craic had at family weddings with them. Pure moments of pure joy. You’d give anything to have those sort of days back.
One aul uncle, jaysus he was a divil for weddings, he loved getting out from under the missus and having the craic with his brothers, brothers in laws, and the nephews who were up to the drinking age. There’s not a family wedding that went by or will go by, that I wont miss the aul rogue. God rest him.
This particular couple were meant to be getting married in Spain before Covid. They had to cancel that. They lost a number of deposits and would have been down a bit. Booking a 5 star hotel off that back of that is probably not then most savy thing they could have done but theres been some tragedy in both families and they probably just wanted to do it in style. Im sure they could have accomplished that at a more modest venue. €200 would be perfect for any venue really and would cover cost in 99% of places unless it was Adare Manor or Cashel Palace or somewhere like that. Suffice to say I wouldnt be moving in those circles.
Get yourself a kid. Best alibi you could have. If they thought you were bringing a kid to wedding they wouldnt take offence. Some people go to extraordinary lengths to go to a wedding. Not uncommon for a couple to bring their own mother and or father to camp out in the hotel room with the kids while they are at the wedding. The mother of children hightailing it up to the room between courses to breastfeed. Baby monitors at a table. You’d see it all.
Should be whatever the group decide on in the whatsapp or whatever. Whether pinting to fuck, doing an activity or a bit of both. Some awful miserable aul farts in here. I’ve been to both and they’ve always been the finest. I’d be much more hung up on the shower of lads you’re going with than the plan for the weekend.
I’d a great time at a wedding down in Killarney a few years back. The Mrs was still feeding the child at the time, and in the end, she decided it was too much of a rigmarole for her to go (again, would have had to bring her mother down, be running to and from wedding etc.) so she told me to head off on my own. One of my best mates from home. Another one of the lads lives down there, so crashed at his house for the weekend and had a fucking whale of a time.