Wedding Etiquette

Sounds like a great aul day so.

Would people not give an owl toaster or a tea set or a canteen of cutlery any more?

I find at stags I can drink way more than normal. I suppose it’s the whole day at it, just tipping away.

I’ll fuck off and get a few burgers here and there though if there are no plans for food. I don’t buy into this “eating is cheating” thing.

What sort of geebag would say that?

Ok sorry Captain Boring

I was at a wedding there last year, a friend of Mrs Keepers.

They had a ‘no children’ policy. Grand, it’s their day - that can invite who they want.

What I found bizarre was that the nephew and niece of the groom - aged maybe 5 and 7 - were not invited. Apparently led to a big row within the family as the mother of the groom (not unreasonably) wanted her grandchildren there. But Bridezilla had the final say and she didn’t want any children there on the day.

As a result the wife of the groom’s brother stayed at home to mind the two kids and therefore didn’t attend the wedding. Found that very odd. You make an exception for family ffs…?

Nothing causes strife in families like weddings. The date, the venue, the guest list, who gets a plus one and who doesn’t, the seating arrangements, who is not mentioned in the speeches etc.

Got a few sets of steak knives alright back in the day, pulled a fresh set there recently. Lovely stuff.

This crowd will probably be complaining about the cost of living and they after blowing the guts of 30 grand on a wedding

Definitely. The odd time a few of us have fucked off for a smoke break only to nip across the road for a bag of chips or a burger.

People falling out over weddings would want their examined and a dose of cop on.

Insufferable events that should be consigned to the rubbish bin.

If I’m hungry I’ll eat. If I want a pint I’ll have a pint. Im not waiting around for anybody.

I’ve yet to meet a lad who took off like Usain Bolt the morning of a stag and be there with the Bekele’s, Kipchoge’s and Mo Farah’s at the end which is when the real craic is.

Dingle a grand town for that.

That’s it. Do what you like life is short enough as it is.

Are wedding gift lists a thing of the past?

Trying to get in to Brown Thomas early so you could tick off the cheapest thing on the list.

Agree. Seems very strange to me that people would wind the gift up for a more expensive location, even more odd to wind it up for a foreign location.

Who said about a man wearing his finest suit on three occasions?

A Wedding, Funeral and a Court Appearance, with the wedding being the least craic of all three.

I suppose they are grand if its a close friend getting married or for older people its a grand chance for Aunts/Uncles to meet up. Keeps families in touch.

Weddings also keep the economy going but outside that, its hard to justify asking 200-300 people give up two days of their lives to celebrate a marriage which is only something like a 1/3 shot to work out anyway.

Surely you were never on a stag of an Irish fella where they all got dressed the same…surely not

Strongly disagree with that. All the craic is early on the day where there are no civilians around

You miss nothing but trouble after about 11pm on a stag.

Weddings are great craic, a dose when you get a run together as they are fucking expensive bastards, but the day itself is usually good craic. Have ye ever thought that maybe some of ye are just miserable cunts. :joy: