Wedding Etiquette

The uncle he is close to would hardly be too impressed if he skipped the wedding for golf

I’d say he’s already disgusted he has a nephew who likes golf.

Go to the wedding with your family. It’s only golf.

A lot of lads here just need to say no if they don’t want to go to the wedding. The same fellas would no doubt be the ones you’d be delighted to get the with regrets from. Miserable moany auld fuckers :joy:

Weddings are great craic. A cunt when you get a run. But sure we’ll be long enough with no days out and nothing to do

Many of us are at a stage where the wedding are gone until the next generation come along and its funerals and or communions etc. Give me the wedding any day. Old faces and old stories and high spirits and spirits from the high shelf.

You’ll miss the faces and the craic lads when the time comes. For the random invites, move em off, shur be grand as you say.

Incidentally, some of the best craic I had was at weddings on herselfs side. Knowing few if any, having no obligations, and drifting in and out of shite talk at the bar and in the smoking area, talking pucks, pints and the GAA and getting to know aul roguish uncles lookin for a bit of divilment, being waylaid by layabouts sloping out the ballroom to the bar, or even better down the road for a few quiet ones for an hour or two before skulking back in to bad looks and rolling eyes and hearing her mother say “shur dont mind him, wasnt he only following your cousin”.

Fuck it I’d love to be togging out for a wedding today :pint:

Had a surprise one in the summer, which ended up a great one, and my first in about four years.

@Bod95 if you don’t go to the wedding, I genuinely don’t thnk it’s a good look to go golfing the same week. It sounds like there’s some strained family relations and I think you’d be adding to that. You might get to puck a few balls around Lanzarote while you’re there. At least it’s not clashing with an All Ireland final.

Re presents - do what you think works and don’t worry about anyone else. My uncle was by far the wealthiest man at my wedding and I’m not sure if he even gave us a card. Wouldn’t be his thing. He lives in Canada so maybe they do things differently but he’s been more than generous over the years to everybody. He sang at our wedding ceremony and that was a good enough gift for us. I’d also say we didn’t go overboard with the costs of the wedding, and kept in our control so didn’t have to invite distant relations etc. that we didn’t want there. It was our invite list, not our parents’.

Keep the wife happy.

Keep the mothers some whathappy (if they’re decent people it wont be hard).

Get out alive and not in a hole.

Enjoy the honeymoon.

Done.

I was at a wedding during the summer. It was over and done with the following the morning.

The day two was fairly muted

It was worse than that

Same with my auntie. No card or present, a couple of months previously she had helped us out with some renovations on the house. I wouldn’t have even thought that we’d get anything more and if she tried I wouldn’t have accepted it.

And even if there was no renovations I wouldn’t have expected anything.

You’re a gas man :smile:

Think I’ll go with that today at this wedding too.

What will you sing?

I’ll take requests

At the church/ceremony?

This. We were the same with ours. Had a quick chat with the oul lad to see if he wanted anyone there but he’s easy enough going. Same with the mother which was a different chat as I’m not as close to her side for different reasons.

I’ll drive over the road for this. Do you know any Tay-Tay songs?

Shotgun job?

God no. The bride has two daughters in her twenties!

More I didn’t realise she was even getting married til the invite arrived.