Weird News Stories

Three men have been questioned by gardaĂ­ about a video posted on YouTube, which shows a group of young men from Nenagh, Co Tipperary, driving dangerously on a country road.

The Road Safety Authority has described the footage as ‘shocking’ and ‘reckless’.

RSA Chief Executive Noel Brett said he was furious, outraged and horrified by the driving behaviour.

AdvertisementHe also appealed to parents to be on the lookout for signs that their children were engaged in this kind of activity.

In the video, the registration plates of the cars are clearly visible, so too are the faces of the young men involved, who are each identified by nickname.

At the end of the video they show an email address offering to make other movies.

Public Against Road Carnage Spokeswoman Donna Price said she was shocked by the contents of the videos.

A garda investigation is under way and so far two vehicles have been seized and three men have been questioned.

GardaĂ­ said in general they take strong action against any behaviour that endangers life on the roads.

From RTE.ie

Only the tipp lads

Parasailing donkey stunt prompts animal cruelty inquiry

Only Tipp bogtrotters would identify their cars and themselves in a video.

What about bikes?

Stalker!!! :smiley:

Cunts like them complain about farmers on the road during harvest !!!

It’s a YouTube sensation :smiley:

Can’t read my,
Can’t read my
No he can’t read-a my donor face

Pussies

An infestation of pigeons that bombarded the Kings of Leon with droppings at a St Louis concert forced an early end to the band’s show.

Bassist Jared Followill was hit several times, including near his mouth, and the onslaught was deemed a health hazard.

The crowd grew restless after the band walked off and an announcement told them that the show was over.

Did they do Joe’s Head?

Not so much weird but funny. Knackers.

Crikey :guns:

Those crazy eyeties

“Our priority is our residents. To keep space available for them, we must deter visitors from taking up residents’ bays and our experience is that clamping is simply the most effective deterrent.”

If you can afford to own cars like that £70 isn’t going to deter you much.

Ya ha ha ha.

Tokyo’s ‘oldest man’ had been dead for 30 years

:lol: :lol:

It’s like putting an abortion clinic in a creche. ya ha ha ha

Click here

irishtimes.com - Last Updated: Wednesday, August 4, 2010, 21:41

Dog saves owner’s life by eating toe
A Michigan man credited his dog with saving his life by chewing off his diseased big toe as he lay passed out in a drunken stupor.

Jerry Douthett, 48, woke up on a Saturday night in late July in his Rockford, Michigan home to find his Jack Russell Terrier, Kiko, had gnawed off his right big toe.

“The dog always lays with me on the bed,” said Mr Douthett. “That night, I woke up and looked down at my foot, and it was wet. When I looked it was blood, and there was the dog looking at me with a blood mustache.”

Mr Douthett’s wife, Rosee, rushed him to a hospital where doctors found he was suffering from Type 2 diabetes. His toe was badly infected and surgeons amputated the remainder of the digit.

Mr Douthett’s wife, a registered nurse, had been urging him for weeks to have his infected toe examined by a doctor.

On the night Kiko ate his toe, Mr Douthett said he had been out with his wife and drank about “six or seven beers” and a pair of giant margaritas “big enough to put goldfish in.”

“I was self-medicating at this point,” he said. “The moral of the story is that the dog saved my life, because otherwise I never would have gone in to see a doctor.”

The couple said they were amazed that Kiko appeared to know Douthett had an infection that needed treatment.

“He kind of chewed off the infected part and stopped at the good bone,” said Rosee. “We joked that we shouldn’t have had to pay the co-pay because he did half the job by chewing off half of the toe”.

My link

British supermodel Naomi Campbell is appearing before a war crimes trial in The Hague this morning.

She has been called to testify at the Special Court for Sierra Leone where prosecutors say former Liberian President Charles Taylor gave her a so-called blood diamond.

Watch live
Advertisement

Prosecutors called Ms Campbell to the stand in a bid to disprove Mr Taylor’s claim that he never possessed rough diamonds.

Tens of thousands of people were killed and mutilated during Sierra Leone’s 11-year civil war from 1991.

Charles Taylor has denied accusations that he supported Sierra Leone’s rebels in exchange for diamonds and other natural resources.

The prosecution says he used these to buy weapons during a 1997 trip to South Africa.

They say Naomi Campbell’s testimony could directly disprove Mr Taylor’s denial.

The prosecution claims Mr Taylor gave the model a large rough cut diamond after a celebrity dinner hosted by Nelson Mandela in South Africa in 1997.

The model is an unwilling participant in this case.

She won a court ruling banning photos of her entering or exiting the court over security concerns.

However, she will be filmed giving testimony.

Charles Taylor’s trial opened in The Hague in June 2007 on 11 counts of war crimes and crimes against humanity for his alleged role in the 1991-2001 Sierra Leone civil war.

He is accused of receiving illegally mined diamonds in return for arming rebels who murdered, raped and maimed Sierra Leone civilians, cutting off their limbs and carving initials into their bodies.

He denies all the charges.

One of England’s best young cricketers has been banned from all matches for a month, after calling the national under-19 coach a “wanker” on Twitter.

Azeem Rafiq was banned and fined £500 for his tirade about the England Under-19 coach, John Abrahams. The Yorkshire al-lrounder’s obscene outburst came last week, after he was dropped from the under-19 team to face Sri Lanka, when it is thought his habit of staying out after agreed curfews during matches became an issue.

Rafiq, under-19 captain before he was first disciplined, pleaded guilty to two charges considered by an ECB cricket discipline commission panel.

The England and Wales Cricket Board ruled at a hearing that the teenager was guilty of a serious breach of regulations – “breach of directives by personal attack in a public statement about England U19 team manager John Abrahams and also bringing the game into disrepute by that public statement”.

Rafiq will be unable to play for his county, country or club until one month after the date of his offence, 26 July. His angry attack on Abrahams also landed him a suspension from Yorkshire pending the ECB inquiry.

On his Twitter feed Rafiq wrote: “What a fucking farsee [sic]. ECB prove it again what incompetent people are working for them.” Next day, he tweeted again: “John Abrahams is a useless wanker.” Rafiq took the comments down once he realised they were publicly available.

Fialist dies at world sauna championships.

My link

The annual World Sauna Championships in Finland have ended in tragedy with the death of one of the finalists.

Russian Vladimir Ladyzhensky and his Finnish rival, Timo Kaukonen, collapsed after suffering severe burns. Mr Ladyzhensky later died in hospital.

The event requires participants to withstand 110C (230F) for as long as possible. The men managed six minutes before judges noticed something amiss.

Jaysus pity, I heard he was goin’ right well in training…