Weird News Stories

:o

Sister of Limerick murderer sides with Steve Collins
http://www.limerickleader.ie/webimage/1.3687587.1333130621!image/2685909360.jpg_gen/derivatives/landscape_595/2685909360.jpg
Steve Collins looks at the plaque unveiled for his murdered son Roy (LL)

By Anne Sheridan
Published on Sunday 1 April 2012 08:01

A SISTER of feared criminal Gary Campion, who is serving life sentences for two murders, said she believes “the violence in Limerick will continue” due to future generations of criminal families seeking to defend their “family’s honour”.

Celia Campion, 43, was speaking out this week, after Steve Collins and his family left the country due to ongoing intimidation in the city.
Ms Campion, whose brother Noel was also murdered in a gangland shooting in Thomondgate in 2007, wished to highlight that innocent siblings of people involved in crime are also caught in this “crossfire.”
“The guards think crime is dying down, but it’s not. All those children of gangs will fight for their father’s honour to the last and are still fighting now. It’s just going to carry on; it’s mad,” she said.
She continued: “There is no thought for the siblings of these people who are not involved in any criminality. Our lives have been turned upside down too.”
Speaking of the decision of Mr Collins and his family to leave the country under the witness relocation programme, she said: “I know what they’re going through because my brother was shot, even though he was involved in crime. I’m still feeling that grief, and the grief of the Collinses and other families who have lost someone through drugs and violence. I feel sorry for all the families involved. The repercussions of their actions is being carried on to their nieces and nephews and it really hurts.”
Ms Campion said while “absolutely loves” her brother Gary, who has a string of 40 convictions for a variety of serious offences, she has never been able to bring herself to visit him in prison.
“I don’t know what made him go down the road he went down. I would like to ask him how he’s feeling,” she said.
Three years ago Gary Campion, originally from O’Malley Park in Southill before moving to Moyross, was convicted of murdering Frankie Ryan, 21, in Moyross in 2006.
He is also one of two men serving life sentences for the murder of innocent nightclub bouncer Brian Fitzgerald outside his home in Corbally in 2002.
In May 2005, he was sentenced to two years’ imprisonment when he threatened to have a Limerick prison officer ‘blown away’ for €20,000.
Earlier in the week, his sister explained to Niall Boylan on Classic Hits 4FM that their mother died when Gary was aged seven, and their father was a drinker, leading him “to go off the rails from the age of 10”.
Now the mother of two grown up children, who works as a bus driver and is now married to a woman, Ms Campion left Limerick in 2008 and this Wednesday flew out of the country again to start work abroad.
But stressed her decision to leave the country was not due to threats or intimidation due to her family name and was “purely for work reasons”.

-WTF? :lol:

http://www.balls.ie/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/AptLNwLCEAAaHqB.jpg

A GUILT-stricken woman who cried rape after fearing her boyfriend would find out about a consensual sado-masochistic sexual liaison has been jailed.
Kirsty Sowden, 21, wasted nearly 400 hours of police time and £14,000 (€17,000) investigating her claim she had been raped by a stranger, despite the fact she had engaged in the encounter voluntarily.

An innocent man was arrested and another, who had consensual sex with her, was remanded in custody as a result of her lies.

When police investigated, it emerged Sowden, a sales assistant at John Lewis, had instead met Andrew Boarer online after advertising her predilection for bondage and domination.

She voluntarily enjoyed an explicit sexual encounter at his home, wearing a leather dog lead and allowing herself to be spanked, before deciding she no longer wanted to participate.

She told Mr Boarer, who has been exonerated of all wrongdoing, her boyfriend would “kill her” if he found out and left the property in Maidstone, Kent.

Maidstone Crown Court heard she then contacted the police and told them she had been raped by a bald stranger, aged in his 40s, who grabbed her arm in the park as she left the gym.

Police arrested a man fitting his description before realising he was innocent, and matched DNA samples taken from Sowden to Mr Boarer.

He was then arrested at his workplace in front of colleagues, questioned and remanded in custody.

The court heard ÂŁ14,000 and 376 hours of police time had been dedicated to the case before they uncovered internet exchanges revealing the truth.

Sowden, who was trying for a baby with her boyfriend at the time of the incident, has now been jailed for 14 months at Maidstone Crown Court , after admitting perverting the course of justice

Judge Philip Statman told her: "I see little sign of genuine remorse from you or, indeed, any real understanding of just how serious your actions have been.

"False allegations of rape undermine the plight of genuine victims. The impact on your victim has been considerable

"What occurred in the privacy of his home, however much certain members of the community may find that reprehensible, has been made public.

"He has had to move on in work. He has been made the subject of ridicule.”

The court heard Sowden had advertised herself as a “BDSM princess” - standing for Bondage, Domination and Sadomasochism - on a no strings attached website before meeting Mr Boarer in March last year.

Speaking of their liaison, he told the court: "Towards the end, she was lying on the bed and she said she did not want to do it anymore. She said her boyfriend would kill her if he found out.

“Also, they were trying for a baby and she felt guilty. She left. The next thing was I was arrested at work. They arrested me in front of everyone.”

Catherine Donnelly, prosecuting, told Sowden: “You are not just a liar, you can tell detailed lies when you put your mind to it.”

Speaking after the case, DC Richard Dorey said: "The sentence of 14 months in jail is a fair sentence. It should stop people making unfounded allegations and is a very serious sentence for someone so young.

“She was maintaining, up to the last minute, parts of the account. She didn’t seem to want to be completely truthful.”

Malcolm Gilbert, who works for rape charity Family Matters, condemned Sowden’s actions.

He said: "The position of the group is unanimous in condemning any woman, or indeed any man, who makes false allegations because of the harm to genuine rape victims, to undermine the whole business of rape.

“It condemns all false allegations and they feel it should be pursued by the police in the way it has here.”

Any compensation for your man? You wouldn’t think there was a need for the judge to be so judgemental about him either.

Confirmation that rape is a business.
Poor choice of words there.

SWT

This lady was the Ashley Young of rape victims. She invited the contact and then conned the authorities.

That Judge is a disgrace.

Some really crazy stories in the papers today.

Some bird who was driving around with no insurance and crashed, badly injuring her son gets €11 million as a reward.

A grand mother is seething because her pension was cut after she won the Lotto.

If my pension was cut I’d be seething too.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/iron-mans-sporting-life-littered-with-epic-feats-191282.html

When it is suggested to the ‘Iron Man’ that he must have been the toughest man in Ireland in his day, he muses for a couple seconds and then goes one better.
“Maybe in the world,” he retorts, without raising an eyebrow.

“I’m afraid of nobody,” says the famous sportsman Mick Murphy and he means it. He sits defiantly in his modest home where he was conned out of a substantial amount of cash by a silver-tongued shyster, less than two weeks ago. And, though now a quite stiff 78-year-old, he’s still not a man to be trifled with.

“I could give a punch all the time,” says the pensioner who throughout his colourful life has been known as the ‘Iron Man’, mainly for his feats as a top racing cyclist. He was also a farm labourer, construction worker, boxer, circus performer and a wrestler.

The ‘Iron Man’, who was in his prime in the 1950s and ’60s, is back in the news again because he wants to make people aware that professional conmen are preying on vulnerable people, such as himself. He has had two visits from such tricksters in recent weeks — the second was not successful — and gardaí in Kerry are investigating.

He lives in an old house on a bleak, but [size=1]beautiful[/size][/url] hillside, near Caherciveen. His few worldly possessions, including newspaper clippings and photos from his glory days, are all around him in plastic [url=“http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/iron-mans-sporting-life-littered-with-epic-feats-191282.html#”][size=1]bags[/size] and cardboard boxes. He apologises for the clutter. “There’s a reason for it. I can just sit down and reach out for whatever I want,” he explains.

Mick won the national cycle race, An Rás Tailteann, in 1958, and also became known for his natural diet and training methods — ahead of his time, some would say.

When the race would arrive at a stage end town, he would always inquire if there was a gym available. If not, he would cycle out into the country until he came across ditches with heavy stones he would use for weight-lifting.

He still has an iron bar, with concrete blocks for weights at either end, which he uses in his home.

In his sporting [size=1]heyday[/size], his diet consisted of raw steak, raw vegetables, nettles, hawthorns, up to eight pints of milk per day and a half-dozen eggs, also raw. Other performance-enhancers included honey and glucose.

But it was something far more odd that had people talking — doses of cow’s blood. “I’d go into a field and draw blood from a cow’s neck, or legs, with a sharply pointed instrument like a penknife. Cows were all over the place in those days and were very quiet — some of ’em would lick you when you were taking the blood,” he recalls.

“Athletes drank cow’s blood thousands of years ago. It’s a massive food, very powerful. If I hadn’t taken the blood, I’d be dead by now, because I worked and trained so hard.”

Though somewhat reclusive, the ‘Iron Man’ loves company and talks at a rate of 100-words-a-minute, telling stories of his days as a hod carrier and bricklayer in London and Germany and as a professional darts player when he lived the high life for a few years, until his money had gone.

In the circus, he was an acrobat. He says he could walk for up to a mile — and up a ladder — on his hands.

“I was also into magic. I nearly caused a riot in Covent Garden once after cutting a woman in half. You know that trick. That was real magic. What you see now on television is a fake,” he says.

Mick keeps up with the world through radio and newspapers. He got a TV set for the 1972 Olympic Games, but gave it away some years later and has not had a set since then.

He accepts that age has caught up with him, saying his joints are simply worn out, and walks with the aid of a stick.

Throughout his life, he has been guided by a homespun philosophy which he calls ‘the law of averages’ and believes people’s wrongdoings come back on them.

He remained single and has no regrets about his life during which he was penniless at times. “There were ups and down, but when days darkened for me, there was light on the other side. Something always opened up for me.”

One of his unfulfilled ambitions is to have a book written about his life. With the stories he has to tell, it would certainly be worth a read.

http://www.kerryman.ie/multimedia/archive/00220/mickmurphy_jpg_220163t.jpg

I bet Kev drinks cow’s blood

I bet cows drink Kev’s blood

AN IRISH tourist used illegally obtained credit card numbers to live in luxury during a six-week crime spree in Australia that has been compared by his lawyer with the wild bachelor party in the comedy film The Hangover.
Michael Hegarty, 27, from a village in County Meath, and two younger offenders who posed as children of rich parents during their binge on credit cards between October and December last year.
The trio’s crimes - which involved deceptions using credit-card numbers bought on an internet site for $9 each - were targeted in a special operation by the Victoria Police fraud and extortion squad.[left]
Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/victoria/irish-tourists-hangover-at-crown-a-comedy-of-errors–and-fraud-20120427-1xoon.html#ixzz1tSvtvoZF[/left][/left]

Living the dream.[/left]

I see Egypt are bringing in a ‘farewell sex’ law where men can have sex with their wives up to 6 hours after they’ve died. I could see this type of law being popular in Offaly.

Anyone following this Gareth Williams inquest in the UK? He worked for MI6 and was found dead in his flat a couple of years ago, intriguingly in a padlocked hold-all in the bath.

In the flat they found Williams’ body in that bag, loads of women’s clothes (£20,000 worth) and used and unused women’s wigs, 26 pairs of women’s shoes and a tiny amount of his blood. A small amount of someone else’s blood was found outside the flat.

Alll of that points to an odd individual but locking himself in a bag would have been an extraordinary feat and there’s plenty of strange aspects to the investigation - he was renting the flat from MI6 and there were no traces of forced entry. The police weren’t allowed to see USB sticks and another holdall that he had in his locker because of sensitive information on them. MI6 only reported him missing a week after he had failed to turn up for work despite him missing important meetings.

I’m only half following it but it’s mental stuff. Are they proposing that he zipped himself up in the bag?