Weird News Stories

You gotta love the comment from one of her “victims” at the end :wink:

http://www.news.com.au/perthnow/story/0,21598,25658928-948,00.html

Black widow woman who drugged, raped ten men

A YOUNG Russian woman, a devoted collector of horror films and spiders, is on trial for sedating and raping 10 men.

The police were shocked that 32-year-old Valeria K., a quiet good-looking woman from the city of Tambov, was the mysterious rapist who abused 10 local men after poisoning them with clonidine, Life.ru reports.

Valeria, who has already been nicknamed the Black Widow for her love of spiders, would get acquainted with men and invite them to her place.

She gave them drinks with clonidine, which almost immediately sent them to sleep for almost 24 hours.

After that, she undressed her victims and raped them, tightening a rope on their male organs to keep them erect.

Waking up in hospital with clonidine poisoning and penis trauma, all the victims could remember was a friendly brunette who gave them drinks.

Finally, local police identified the offender and arrested her.

At present, the police know about ten of Valerias victims, although one of them refused to file a complaint against her.

It was great, the unnamed man said.

I like hot women. I only wish she hadn’t use the clonidine on me.

Well done Sir :smiley:

BRISTOL EVENING POST:

Outside Bristol Zoo is the car park, with spaces for 150 cars and 8 coaches. It has been manned 6 days a week for 23 years by the same charming and very polite car park attendant with the ticket machine. The charges are 1. per car and 5.per coach.

On Monday 1 June, he did not turn up for work. Bristol Zoo management phoned Bristol City Council to ask them to send a replacement parking attendant.

The Council said “That car park is your responsibility.” The Zoo said “The attendant was employed by the City Council… wasn’t he?” The Council said “What attendant?”

Gone missing from his home is a man who has been taking daily the car park fees amounting to about 400 per day for 23 years.

Not really:

http://www.snopes.com/crime/clever/carpark.asp

[quote=“The Runt”]Not really:

http://www.snopes.com/crime/clever/carpark.asp[/QUOTE]

Thougth the reporting sounded a bit shite to be even a regional newspaper, but I wanted to believe runty, i wanted to believe!

Ah runty why spoil our fun:p

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/31588232?GT1=43001

[ATTACH]243.IPB[/ATTACH]

PETALUMA, Calif. - A prominent under-bite, scrunched face and floppy ears are the hallmarks of a winner.

The winner of the World’s Ugliest Dog contest, that is.

Pabst, a boxer-mix rescued from a shelter by Miles Egstad of Citrus Heights, Calif., won the annual contest on Friday at the Sonoma-Marin Fair in Northern California.

It was an upset victory for Pabst, who beat former champion Rascal, a pedigree Chinese Crested.

Pabst’s owner took home $1,600 in prize money, pet supplies and a modeling contract with House of Dog.

Miss Ellie, a blind 15-year-old Chinese Crested Hairless, won the pedigree category.

BEFORE:

AFTER:

Pictured: The battered and bruised face of a burglar who got on the wrong side of a 72-year-old former boxer

A knife-wielding burglar had a shock when he attacked a pensioner in his home - and discovered his victim was a retired boxer.

Senior citizen Frank Corti, 72, a former junior boxing champion is still a bit handy with his dukes.

And when he spotted the aforementioned intruder, Gregory McCalium, in his hallway he sprang into action and delivered two right hooks.

The blows were so powerful that McCalium, who had just lunged at Mr Corti with the knife, was left looking like he had been in ‘a car accident’.

The pensioner then restrained him until police arrived. He was jailed for four and a half years yesterday after a judge told him he had ‘got what he deserved’.

After sentencing, Mr Corti said: ‘I was scared when he first drew the knife but most people would have acted in the same way. If you can’t defend what’s yours, where are we at?’

Oxford Crown Court heard the break-in was the culmination of a long-running dispute over noise between the neighbours, who live in Botley, Oxford.
McCalium, a barman, was having a rowdy party at his house on August 18 last year when police turned up after a complaint from a neighbour.

McCalium assumed it had been made by Mr Corti - who won the National Association of Boys’ Clubs Championship in Birmingham when he was 16 - and broke into his neighbour’s home at 8am the following day.

Mr Corti, who was with his wife Margaret at the time, dodged out of the way of his attacker’s lunge and punched him, giving him a black eye and a split lip, before subduing him.

McCalium was found guilty of aggravated burglary at a trial in March, during which he had claimed he could not remember the incident.

John Simmons, defending, said Mr Corti, who served with the Royal Engineers in North Africa from 1956-58, had received minor injuries during the confrontation.

He added: ’ Photographs of the defendant showed what looked like a car accident and photos of the scene looked more like a murder scene.’

Recorder Angela Morris said: 'Luckily, Mr Corti was an able-bodied 72-year-old who was able to defend himself.

'The jury might well have concluded you got what you deserved when you entered that property and took a swipe at him with that weapon.

‘The elderly and vulnerable people are entitled to demand the protection of courts from people like you who decide to take matters into your own hands and enter a property with a weapon.’

Mr Corti, a retired car worker, added: ‘If needed to, I would do it again.’

During sentencing at Oxford Crown Court, Brian Payne, prosecuting, said: 'There was a struggle and it was clear Mr McCalium was intoxicated because his reactions were slow.

‘It seems Mr McCalium ended up with far more serious injuries.’

After the sentencing, Detective Constable Jon Shaw said: 'Fortunately no-one was more injured in this incident but this was still a terrifying situation and McCalium must now pay for his actions.

‘I hope that the victim, and his wife, might now be able to put this ordeal behind them and get on with their lives.’

During the trial, Mr Corti described how he had been woken during the night by noise from next door for several months before the incident.

He told the court: ‘They would slam the doors, then they would start partying. You could hear shouting, screaming and music.’

Mr Corti said he called police when he found McCalium banging on the front door of his house at about 6.30am.

Two hours later, he said, he came downstairs and saw bar worker McCalium in his hallway.

Mr Corti said: 'The accused produced a knife. It was no ordinary knife, it was more like a six-bladed knuckle duster.

‘He made a slashing movement at me. I stepped back. He missed me, fortunately.’

Mr Corti said that while McCalium was off balance, he grabbed both of his wrists and managed to pin his arms against the wall. He added he asked McCalium to drop the knife but he wouldnt.

Mr Corti said: 'I shouted to my wife to ring the police. 'I was absolutely petrified.

'As I saw it, it was a matter of do or die so I let his wrists go. Fortunately the element of surprise was with me, so I adjusted my position and hit him with my right hand. It was just below the eye.

'I did not knock him out, but he was stunned. I heard the knife drop. We grappled. I was trying to drag him out of the back door. We both fell to the floor. I had to subdue him by punching him, which I did not take a great deal of pleasure in.

The jury heard he then lay on top of McCalium until the police arrived.

[quote=“Bandage”]BEFORE:

AFTER:
http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2009/06/30/article-1196479-058B0A5D000005DC-339_224x341.jpg[/QUOTE]

:thumbsup:

NZ teen tries to sell nude photos of mum

A Kiwi teenager tried to sell sexy photos of his mother in her underwear online to make some quick cash.

While most 18-year-olds would baulk at the thought of their parents naked, Auckland student Michael appeared comfortable with the concept, twice listing nude and semi-clothed images of his 44-year-old mother Jennifer.

The first time he auctioned “five naked photos of my mum” to annoy her after the pair had an argument, he told the Herald on Sunday newspaper.

When TradeMe removed the listing the following day he relisted a second series of “glamour photos” with her permission.

This time there was more clothing but one was an underwear shot.

Michael, who did not want his first name used, said he did it for the extra cash. “We’re not rich or anything,” he said.

Jennifer said she was “pretty annoyed” by the first listing, calling her son a “cheeky little git”, but liked the second lot because they were “quite artistic”.

“There’s nothing dodgy about them. They were taken by a family friend about eight years ago,” Jennifer told the newspaper.

“I wanted 50 per cent of the sale but more than that, I miss the nice comments.”

The photos were viewed 11,000 times before they were pulled by the website’s management, citing “inappropriateness”.

“We don’t really want to be the place where people list photos of their mums in their underwear,” TradeMe spokesman Jon Macdonald said.

http://images.ninemsn.com.au/resizer.aspx?url=http://news.ninemsn.com.au/img/2009/world/0607_mum_sp.jpg&width=310

Colombian player shoots lippy fan

Reuters, Sunday July 5 2009

BOGOTA, July 5 (Reuters) - A Colombian soccer player shot and killed a fan for calling him “lousy” on Sunday, days after the player’s team lost a local championship, police said.
Javier Florez, a midfielder for the Atletico Junior team of the Caribbean city if Barranquilla, ran from the scene of the shooting but soon turned himself in to authorities.
Witnesses told police Florez shot Israel Castillo with a handgun after the 27-year-old electrician called him a “maleta” – which in Colombian parlance describes a “lousy” player.
Atletico Junior lost the Apertura Championship final to a team called Once Caldas late last month.
The shooting recalled the case of Andres Escobar, a defender on Colombia’s national team who was gunned down after a poor performance in the 1994 World Cup, which was played in the United States.

Rathkeale Priest advises against worshipping tree depicting holy image

Rathkeale residents have organised a petition seeking to prevent the removal of a tree stump on the grounds of the local church which they believe dipicts an image of the Blessed Virgin.

Hundreds of people from around County Limerick and beyond gathered to say prayers at Holy Mary Parish Church last night.

They were outraged to discover that workmen had covered over the image with tree cuttings and local residents took it upon themselves to uncover it.

However, local Parish Priest Fr Willie Russell advised against worshipping the image:

“There’s nothing there… its just a tree…you can’t worship a tree”

You can hear more on this story on the Limerick Today Programme later this morning.

:eek: You been to see it yet Runty?

She’d want to watch herself. She won’t stay a virgin in Rathkeale for long. Exclusive photos of the Holy Mary Tree Stump:

Man dies after fall into chocolate vat

Authorities say a man died after falling into a vat of melted chocolate in a New Jersey processing plant.

The Camden County prosecutor’s office identified the victim as 29-year-old Vincent Smith II. He was a temporary worker at the Cocoa Services Inc plant.

The accident happened on Wednesday morning as Smith was loading chocolate into a vat where it’s melted and mixed before being shipped elsewhere to be made into candy.

Prosecutor’s spokesman Jason Laughlin says a co-worker tried to shut off the machine and two others tried to pull Smith out of the 8-foot-deep (two-and-a-half-metre-deep) vat. He was hit and fatally injured by the agitator that mixes the chocolate.

Cocoa Services hires a second company - Lyons and Sons - to do the mixing.

[quote=“Gman”]Authorities say a man died after falling into a vat of melted chocolate in a New Jersey processing plant.

The Camden County prosecutor’s office identified the victim as 29-year-old Vincent Smith II. He was a temporary worker at the Cocoa Services Inc plant.

The accident happened on Wednesday morning as Smith was loading chocolate into a vat where it’s melted and mixed before being shipped elsewhere to be made into candy.

Prosecutor’s spokesman Jason Laughlin says a co-worker tried to shut off the machine and two others tried to pull Smith out of the 8-foot-deep (two-and-a-half-metre-deep) vat. He was hit and fatally injured by the agitator that mixes the chocolate.

Cocoa Services hires a second company - Lyons and Sons - to do the mixing.[/QUOTE]

Sounds like he’ll reappear as some sort of Super villain in Gotham City-Milk Tray Man or something.

Just watching the TV3 evening news and one of the headlines is about the holy stump of Rathkeale :rolleyes:

Because all the ladies love him.

Man fined for punching a punch bag

It was a tale of the punch-bag that hit back. A Monaghan man yesterday pleaded guilty to damaging a festival punch-bag machine that he was playing with, after it struck him a blow on the jaw.

Paul Kelly, of Lisanisk, Carrickmacross, was ordered by the judge at the local district court to pay 1,950 to the owners of the machine, which had been in use at a recent summer festival in the town centre.

The defence told the court that when his client punched the machine hard and thought he was entitled to a payout, the machine suddenly struck him a blow to the jaw.

The lawyer added that in a fit of anger at what happened, his client then hit out very strongly, causing damage to the mechanism of the machine.

Kelly was ordered to pay for the damage he had caused, prior to a further sitting of the court on October 28. If he pays up, the judge said he would dismiss the charge under the Probation Act.

• Patsy McArdle

Racists!!

http://http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2009/jun/30/russia-nigeria-gas-name-blunder

Branding blunder gives Russia-Nigeria energy linkup a bad name

It probably seemed a good idea at the time. But Russia’s attempt to create a joint gas venture with Nigeria is set to become one of the classic branding disasters of all time ‑ after the new company was named Nigaz.

The venture was agreed last week during a four-day trip by Russia’s president Dmitry Medvedev to Africa. The deal between Russia’s Gazprom and Nigeria’s state oil company was supposed to show off the Kremlin’s growing interest in Africa’s energy reserves.

Instead, the venture is now likely to be remembered for all the wrong reasons ‑ as a memorable PR blunder, worse than Chevrolet’s Nova, which failed to sell in South America because it translates as “doesn’t go” in Spanish.

Alert users of Twitter first highlighted the unfortunate English connotations of Nigaz, which appears to have eluded Medevedev’s Russian-speaking delegation. Writing on Monday, shunty 75 observed: “Nigaz is the name for the new Gazprom Nigeria venture. They need a new PR outfit. NO WAY!! Haha!!” Other twitterers also derided the name.

An article in Brand Republic pointed out the obvious: that the name has “rather different connotations” for English-speakers.

It recalled other international branding mishaps
including the Ford Pinto (which in Brazil means small penis),
and the Pepsi slogan “come alive with the Pepsi generation”. In Taiwan this rousing motto translated as “Pepsi will bring your ancestors back from the dead”.

It is unclear why nobody alerted Medevedev to the blunder. But one possible explanation is that the offending word is still widely used in Russia, and was even famously employed by the poet Vladimir Mayokovsky in the 1920s.

[quote=“Rintintin”]Racists!!

http://http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2009/jun/30/russia-nigeria-gas-name-blunder

Branding blunder gives Russia-Nigeria energy linkup a bad name

It probably seemed a good idea at the time. But Russia’s attempt to create a joint gas venture with Nigeria is set to become one of the classic branding disasters of all time ‑ after the new company was named Nigaz.

The venture was agreed last week during a four-day trip by Russia’s president Dmitry Medvedev to Africa. The deal between Russia’s Gazprom and Nigeria’s state oil company was supposed to show off the Kremlin’s growing interest in Africa’s energy reserves.

Instead, the venture is now likely to be remembered for all the wrong reasons ‑ as a memorable PR blunder, worse than Chevrolet’s Nova, which failed to sell in South America because it translates as “doesn’t go” in Spanish.

Alert users of Twitter first highlighted the unfortunate English connotations of Nigaz, which appears to have eluded Medevedev’s Russian-speaking delegation. Writing on Monday, shunty 75 observed: “Nigaz is the name for the new Gazprom Nigeria venture. They need a new PR outfit. NO WAY!! Haha!!” Other twitterers also derided the name.

An article in Brand Republic pointed out the obvious: that the name has “rather different connotations” for English-speakers.

It recalled other international branding mishaps
including the Ford Pinto (which in Brazil means small penis),
and the Pepsi slogan “come alive with the Pepsi generation”. In Taiwan this rousing motto translated as “Pepsi will bring your ancestors back from the dead”.

It is unclear why nobody alerted Medevedev to the blunder. But one possible explanation is that the offending word is still widely used in Russia, and was even famously employed by the poet Vladimir Mayokovsky in the 1920s.[/QUOTE]

Superb.