Half Forwards
10 Brian Dooher (Tyrone) All Star ’03, ’05
11 Declan O’Sullivan (Kerry) All Star ’07
12 Sen Cavanagh (Tyrone) All Star ’03, ’04, ’05

Full Forwards
13 Colm Cooper (Kerry) All Star ’02, ’04, ’05, ’07
14 Kieran Donaghy (Kerry) All Star ’06
15 Ronan Clarke (Armagh) All Star ’06

Was never pushed about individual awards/representative teams as it’s the Wexford team that concerns me above anything else but I can completely understand how players would be honoured to be selected in them. It’s a fairly weird snub if Wexford have indeed missed out on getting any player on the All Star team but, as I say, it doesn’t overly concern me. And it certainly doesn’t surprise me either given the tripe some of the journalists who choose the team regularly come out with.

no Langers either.

Something very smelly about Shane Ryan too.

Yeah and this would explain how Gooch got an All Star this year too.
Complete joke.

[quote=“Mairegangaire”]no Langers either.

Something very smelly about Shane Ryan too.[/quote]

No one else for midfield I suppose. Ryan didnt deserve it this year, but is getting it on other years I guess.

Ridiculous that Wexford didn’t get a single All Star and Westmeath got two.

Then again, if this snub drives on the Wexford footballers to the same or greater heights in 2009, then I’ll be happy.

Can’t believe John doyle of Kildare has never won an All-star…there’s a been a fair amount of token gestures handed out over the years…think he’s been one of the best footballers in ireland without ever gettin the recognition…

I’d be even more pissed off if I was a Cork fan. Munster Champions and AI Semi Finalists, but not a single All Star. Yet the team they beat in the Munster Final got 4 in spite of losing all 3 finals they were in this year.

In the absence of an outstanding candidate twixt the stix, I reckon that Gary Connaughton’s All Star was for his years’ service for Westmeath.

Yeah the interview was ok apart from the at the end of the day bit. What a shocker.

That Wexford and Cork have no All Stars is a disgrace, but the controversy is what makes it interesting.

Good motivation for them next year if nothing else.

Richly deserved All Star for Fingal. The future of Leinster football.

joins other great Fingal county men who won All-stars like Mick kennedy (st. margarets) barney Rock (Garristown & ballymun), Kieran Duff (fingallians, Swords) and John O’ leary (O’dwyers,balbriggan)…

More from The Wexford People. Here’s why the players were right to draw a line under the affair after speaking once to the local media.

He’s shifting the entire blame for the last 2 years onto the players with his comments about knowing now why they’ll never beat KK.

It wasn’t them who went on holidays for a week between the Leinster semi-final and final last year.

It wasn’t them who failed to appoint a physical trainer this season.

Christ, he even refused to discuss a gameplan before the Leinster Final this year until the players finally badgered him into doing so.

Finally, he asked the players for suggestions and then when it came to applying them and discussing them he said there was to be no more talking.

So, they went out and did their own thing, avoiding physical battles, moving the ball around quickly and across the field with Stephen Doyle roaming and staying close to Cha Fitz to try to curb his influence. This was all the players’ work and we played well for a half. Kudos to the players, not John Meyler for that one.

Pity it all fell apart in the second half but, again, if we were fitter we might have made a better attempt to stay with KK when they turned the screw.

It would also have been nice to have proper treatment of injured players too.

Stephen Nolan was out for nearly 2 months with a broken thumb that was a 2 or 3 week job. Nothing being done about Keith Rossiter’s groin all year and he ended up missing the important games.

It’s up to the manager to have these things in place - be it physios, specialists, doctors or whatever. The professionalism of the footballers under Jason Ryan made the hurling set up pretty laughable.

As for the lack of man management skills, strewth. His interaction with injured players, or lack thereof, was pretty odd. They were generally ignored and he didn’t push for them to be sorted out as quickly as possible.

He even banned an injured player from coming to training for 2 weeks because he was laughing about something on the line and Meyler said injured players shouldn’t be laughing.

Good riddance to the clown. Anyway, here’s the article:

Departing boss slams players

By Brendan FURLONG

A SHOCKED John Meyler approached his sacking as Wexford Senior hurling manager in a dignified manner, refusing to hold any grudge against his native county - but he still managed to take a parting shot at his former charges.

Just 24 hours after his departure, Meyler slammed the players when he claimed they did not carry the courage of their convictions.

‘I am not that disappointed (to be sacked) because I now know why they will never beat Kilkenny. The four players refused to identify themselves, refused to stand up, refused to meet me face to face. Now I know why they’ll never beat Kilkenny, but it’s two years too late.’

There’s no question that Meyler is deeply hurt, not just for himself, but also for his two selectors, Willie Sunderland and Nick Byrne, along with his backroom team of Fran Fitzhenry (physio), Brian Walsh and Fr. Brian Whelan.

'When I met with County Chairman, Ger Doyle, and Secretary, Margaret Doyle, I asked who these players were. They (players) did not have the courage to stand up and announce themselves. Instead they wanted to stay hidden and remain anonymous.

‘After that, you can only conclude that if they can’t stand over their own beliefs, then how can they stand up to Kilkenny?’ Meyler said.

He added that the decision to get rid of him had been all the harder to understand given the progress the team had made in the past twelve months.

'By my own standards I would be disappointed, because I would have wanted us to win the last two All-Irelands, but the disappointing thing is that this has come at a time when I really felt we were making progress.

'This year we were down nine between retirements, players injured and players leaving the country for the summer. But we managed to blood new players, remain ultra-competitive and come within a point of Waterford. In that context it was a huge achievement.

‘I was also involved with the Intermediates that beat Waterford in an All-Ireland final and we were able to bring a couple of those lads into the team, so I’m definitely happy with the progress that was made.’

The readiness of the two main Board officers to lend such credence to the players’ grievances suggests that an opportunity to remove Meyler from the post was awaited with open arms.

Still, Meyler was totally shocked when told that his services were being dispensed of.

‘We had a meeting on the Wednesday after the Waterford game and we discussed about twelve different areas where we needed to improve on for next year. They were all small things and there were no major things. The focus at the end of that meeting was very much about moving on and planning for the year ahead.’

Now Meyler has been inundated with telephone calls and text messages of support from not just Wexford but from throughout the country.

'I have been inundated with calls of support. I had calls from Liam Dunne, Tom Dempsey and Adrian Fenlon of the '96 All-Ireland winning team. Now I realise why Liam Griffin won an All-Ireland with players like that.

'I would like to thank all the clubs for their help and courtesy, clubs who put their grounds at my disposal, along with those at Wexford Park.

'Those pitches were open and available sometimes from early morning, sometimes 6 a.m. when I would be present waiting for the squad.

‘I would also like to thank and pay tribute to County Secretary, Margaret Doyle, for her assistance. Margaret was always courteous and of great assistance at all times. I would also like to thank the local media, and Brendan, I’ll miss your 8.30 a.m. calls every Monday,’ he said.

'I do not hold any bitterness, life moves on. I’m now back home and have more time for my family. When I met up with friends and some Cork players on Wednesday they welcomed me home.

'I’ve enjoyed great years in Cork, won an AllIreland Senior hurling medal, captained St. Finbarr’s to an All-Ireland club football title and also won county titles.

‘I’ve already had two telephone calls this morning (Wednesday) from clubs, but I’ll give it a bit of time.’

so to summarise

John Myler is/was a better hurler than all that crowd put together. (he says)

he seriously needs a lesson in how to speak to the media. he hasnt a clue. Coming out all guns firing within 24 hours of his sacking and laying the blame firmly at the players feet, and going on about how they wanted to remain anonymous. I’m sure DOC didnt intend it, but his interview now makes Myler look even more of a joke. In the players interview, it was said that the players themselves need to stand up and be counted, and that is certainly true, I do think a few players have let themselves down over the last few years. But for Myler to say he doesnt hold a grudge and then slate them like he has? definate IOTM candidate if he was on TFK. Making out how he’d be at a ground at 6am waiting on players to show up.

“if they cant stand up to their own beliefs, how can they stand up to Kilkenny”. My god what an idiotic statement.

The 6am comment is funny. He had a go at a couple of the footballers for being late for training too one night. Both squads were in Coolree on the night in question - footballers indoors and hurlers out on the field - and a couple of the footballers arrived late and he started roaring at them as they were walking up along the car park on their way in. He’s quite the loonball. I think it must be from living in Cork for all these years. I actually think he wishes he was born in Cork and he tries to project an assuredness and arrogance that some successful Cork sportspeople have but, despite winning stuff in Cork as a player, he comes across as an ignorant halfwit as a manager.

To the Wexicans on the site - Bandage, Pikeman, Gman, Stevie G, Art, Menapian, Appendage, Newportwx, Superleeds, Padjo, Fitzy, Jugs, Cesc4 and anyone I’ve forgotten

DOC mentioned / acknowledged that the players know they need to step up to the mark etc. and fair play to him for publicly saying that. Do any of you think they’re capable of doing this or is there some kind of mental block in some of the players? We’ve had a almost a decade of embarassing exits from the championship now (a couple of years aside) across a number of different managers and panels. What can a manager or the players do to stop this happening?

They train as hard as any other county panel I believe - do they just not have the same skill levels or are we just a lot worse than we’d like to think we are? For any positive game over the past 10 years there’s usually been at least 2 negative games to cancel it out.

In short, what the fuck can we do?

Stop pretending Doc is an inter-county hurler would be a start

Harsh lad, thought he showed last season he was growing into the centre back role. Dont recall him having any howlers there and he seemed more comfortable there than in any position over the last couple of seasons. He’s been thrown into so many positions over the past few years that he hasn’t been given a chance to grow into any one position.

The last chunk of years have shown we can compete with anybody bar Kilkenny (and maybe Cork 2003-06) and we’ve given most of the others good games and beaten a lot of them too (bar Clare - we can’t beat those mullockers). I think we have the basis/spine/core of a good team but it make a huge difference if we could get a fully committed squad and get lads like Antony O’Connell (note the lack of a ‘h’ there) into the set up to provide more competition and depth.

As it is, we have a very good 'keeper and enough players of a decent standard to form the spine of a good team in Rossiter Stamp, Richie Kehoe, Quigley, Jacob, Doyle and whoever. We could do with that extra layer to push players and to cover injuries but there’s enough lads there to lead the way. My fear is that some of lads who should be looking in the mirror will convince themselves that it was all Meyler’s fault and continue on in their halfarsed ways. In other words, we’ve got a few clowns and a lot of good lads. But we need a strong manager who’ll get everyone pulling together and then we can be a decent unit.

Tony Dempsey, anyone?

PS, I agree with padjo. Doc should be taken out and shot.