Wexford GAA 2009

Any thoughts on the hurling sem-finals or the upcoming football final?

I’ll unfortunately be missing the football finals due to Celtic commitments. The Intermediate football final has bloodbath potential and I don’t think Horeswood will have it all their own way against St Anne’s in the senior match.

The midfield battle will be crucial and I’m not sure where the advantage lies. As an aside, fair play to Fogarty for his willingness to play alongside his brother-in-law O’Connor in the middle of the park. But can he really be relied on to go in hard and protect O’Connor in a fight knowing that Doc’s banging his sister?

For that reason, I’ll go for Horeswood. Paddy Murphy should be fast-tracked into the Wexford half back line next season too.

Hard to see past Oulart romping home with the hurling. I had thought Rathnure, Annes and Martins would be putting up a challenge to them, but not the case.

Horeswood probably slight favorites. It’ll be a battle of the 2 small lone front men with Red and PJ. Midfield should be a great battle with Murphy and Howlin against Fogarty and DOC, definitely the best pairing of midfielders in the county along with the Bradleys of Adamstown. Should be a right good game in the middle of the field thinking about it. Annes did well to get back on track after losing heavily to Shels early on, and same for Horeswood getting hammered by Castletown(choke). should be good tho.

Intermediate could be interesting, with the Carleys up against the Murphys and the rest.

Definitely-looks a great player. Controlled things well at centre back.

Can’t see past Oulart in the hurling (yawn) but Cloughbawn have potential to upset the Alley.
Was hoping to make it the Park for the semis but Junior soccer kick offs are a cunt-might make the 2nd game.

Oulart at 4/6 is a money printing machine

Didn’t make it down to Wexford yesterday evening due to unforeseen circumstances so haven’t been to any games this weekend. But the main news this evening is that Faythe Harriers Junior B team have progressed into the county final and the seniors defeated the Shelmaliers to seal their place in the most prestigous Senior B final.

The bad news is that we were denied a clean sweep as the Shelmaliers minors won the semi-final clash this morning by 4 points. These cunts have excellent underage teams because of the Celtic Tiger and all the housing developments that sprung up ā€˜over the water’ in the last 10 years. Bastards.

But what about the Harriers and the Sars going for a Senior B double? Ah lovely. :rolleyes:

Askamore and Shamrocks drew their Intermediate hurling semi-final and Bunclody defeated Gorey in the other semi.

Enniscorthy versus Wexford in both of the senior B competitions this year. Go wan the townies:thumbsup:

st james finally escape the quagmire that is Jun D hurling, convincing win over kilmore, in the words of bandage ā€œah lovelyā€

In case there’s any members of the Wexford diaspora awaiting news on the senior hurling semi-finals:

Buffers Alley 0-20 Cloughbawn 1-7. Utter scutter apparently.

Oulart-The Ballagh / Glynn-Barntown just underway.

Oulart-The Ballagh 1-21 Glynn-Barntown 2-9. Utter scutter apparently.

There better be some all out violence in the final to rescue the championship.

Just back from the park. Two terrible games really. The Alley or Oulart never really had to step it much at all. (Suppose I should say a good advertisement for football since I slagged that last week).

The Buffers Alley-Cloughbawn game was shocking though. Glynn put it up to Oulart for a while in the first half-think there was only a point between them with 10 mins to go in the second half before Oulart pulled away and stormed it in the 2nd half.

Noticed two lads on the Glynn panel are from Clare too-two Duracks. One of them looked to suffer a broken collar bone near the end.

It was day of penalties too. Carton, the Cloughbawn keeper, missed one and scored one. Chops scored one too for Glynn.

Nothing new on show that you could add to the county panel either.
Hopefully there will indeed be a cut to the final

I think it’s time to cease all GAA activity in Wexford.

ain’t that the truth ruth!

Huge day in Wexford Park next Sunday when supporters will be provided with an opportunity to salute the greatest ever football team to emerge from Wexford. Yes, the Sarsfields 1984 senior football championship winning squad will be introduced to the crowd as this year’s jubilee team. :clap: :thumbsup: :clap: :thumbsup:

Any of them still playgng on the Senior team? :cool:

No, but the Seniors have an opportunity to make it a weekend to remember by claiming the prestigous Senior B championship on Saturday afternoon. I can’t believe I didn’t foresee such a horrendous clash of fixtures when I was planning my Glasgow derby trip.

This club forum / talking shop / agendaless gathering is taking place tonight. I look forward to hearing reports of people complaining en masse that ā€˜we can’t go on like this’ while not coming up with any concrete proposals. However, the county board will go away satisfied that the blame will be shared by everyone when we have another pitiful season next year because ā€˜ye had your chance to raise issues at the club forum but ye didn’t’.

Sarsfields - 5 titles

1934, 1935, 1961, 1967, 1984

It’s been a while Bandage. Even Fethard have won a title since!

[quote=ā€œPikemanā€]Sarsfields - 5 titles

1934, 1935, 1961, 1967, 1984

It’s been a while Bandage. Even Fethard have won a title since![/quote]

Robbed against Kilanerin in 1993. Shameful anti Wexford town bias. And then there was the despicable behaviour by Starlights in the final a few years ago when one of our lads was struck from behind when play was stopped and had his jaw broken.

I see a lad who was on the Wexford senior panel last year came on as a sub for Glynn-Barntown yesterday. That just emphasises the strength in depth of Wexford club hurling.

Which fella?
Michael Doyle was on from the start-wasn’t great yesterday.

[quote=ā€œPikemanā€]Which fella?
Michael Doyle was on from the start-wasn’t great yesterday.[/quote]

This Durack character. He was #30 for Wexford in one or two games.

Yeah-didn’t know he was the panel.
He got badly injured near the end anyway.