Wexford GAA 2009

Hard to see past Oulart now again. I’d imagine they’ll piss through the final now and as usual, shit themselves in the Leinster Club and be beaten by the champions of Carlow or Wicklow or something.

Who’s on the Cloughbawn team thats any way useful apart from Harry Kehoe and MJ Furlong? Wasn’t it them who hockeyed the Rapps back in the first round?

[quote=“Mac”]Hard to see past Oulart now again. I’d imagine they’ll piss through the final now and as usual, shit themselves in the Leinster Club and be beaten by the champions of Carlow or Wicklow or something.

Who’s on the Cloughbawn team thats any way useful apart from Harry Kehoe and MJ Furlong? Wasn’t it them who hockeyed the Rapps back in the first round?[/quote]

Yes, and that’s what ultimately what got them through as the Martin’s won all three games to finish on 6 points and the Rapps, Harriers and Cloughbawn only won a game each. The big win against the Rapps allowed them to go through on points difference even though they lost the last game to the Harriers by 9 points. They don’t have much else and should get beaten by whoever they play next - there’s young Flood and yer man Redmond who’s skillful enough but I would have expected St Anne’s to beat them.

Looks like it’s set up for a repeat of the 2007 final unless there’s a shock win from either Glynn or Cloughbawn.

Senior Hurling Semi-Finals:
Glynn Barntown V Oulart
Cloughbawn V Buffers Alley

Intermediate Hurling Semi-Finals:
Shamrocks V Askamore
Naomh Eanna V Bunclody

ryan and bonnar ratified for another year

There should be at least 4 Sarsfields players in the starting fifteen. Ryan will need to cop the fuck on.

at least, and sure a proud hurling club like the harriers should have 6 or 7 on backboning the side. :slight_smile:

Jason Ryan is no longer like David O’Leary - he’s the Phil Brown of GAA. So Jason, get your head/voice in every media outlet possible to tell us how your tactics were the reason for any victories while your players were to blame for all defeats.

Good to see a bit of loyalty.

Sarsfields 2-11 Duffry Rovers 0-7. The mighty Sars march on into the county senior football final.

As reigning county champions in this competition ballyhogue wish ye all the best in the final bandage:thumbsup:

St Annes 2-8 2-7 Shelmaliers

fethard lost to taghmon and gusserane beat st.martins in the relegation games and horeswood won the other semi final

in much more important news st.james ladies beat tinahely of wicklow today to progress to the leinster quarter final

I’m not quite sure how Bannow-Balymitty progressed this far but that’s another convincing win for Horeswood. I expected St Anne’s to come through on the other side too. I imagine Horeswood will be favourites for the final but all eyes will be on the Senior B final in truth.

[B]Senior Football County Semi-Finals:
St Annes 2-8 Shelmaliers 2-7

Horeswood 1-14 Bannow-Ballymitty 1-6 [/B]

First game between St. Anne’s and Shelmaliers was a good advertisement for hurling anyway.
I’d say Anne’s just about deserved their 1 point win (0-4 to 1-03 to Shels at half time). Anne’s forwards are poor though and Liam Og found himself completely unmarked for both goals.
Stephen Banville was making a nuisance of himself at full forward for Shels without much reward. He had to switch out to midfield to mark DOC for the 2nd half. DOC was mopping up all the ball in the centre field even though he dislocated his finger in the first half. David Fogarty beside him was playing the attacking role and got a couple of good point. Red Barry was a different class to anyone on the pitch though. Always on the ball and very hard to stop. Very poor game overall though and both sides were shockingly bad with their passing.

Second game was a small bit better between Horeswood and Bannow Ballymitty. Horeswood are clearly better than any of the 3 teams on display today. They have forwards well capable to take a score anyway. The battle of the day was between PJ Banville and Mageean. Was tight enough between them in the first half but PJ got the better of him for most of the second half and got a good few scores.
Horeswood were leading 1-6 to 0-2 at half time and added a point to that on the restart before Bannow’s sudden revival where they cut the deficit to 3. Ben Brosnan, who is some talent, scored a superb goal for Bannow, one of the best you’d see all year. It looked as if Bannow could take the game to their opponents but Horeswood just stepped up the pace of the game and sent in numerous balls into PJ on his own in the full forward line.

Poor enough standard in both games but you’d have to fancy Horeswood to beat St. Anne’s in the final.

AWFUL… thats how the football was today awful… brosnan was a class apart and i thought his shot in the first fomr 30 odd yards was a goal also, what you think pikey, horsewood should have far too much for for the annes who have only one fwd in red barry. liam og is alright but v. small

Double post

Yeah-forgot about that.
Brosnan took an outside-of-the-footer from 40 yards and it flew over the keeper, off the crossbar and bounced down before being cleared. I actually though it was over the line too.

Brosnan is some player though-should be brought onto the first county 15 next year.

aye he is good enough, but heard from a few reliable sources that brosnan is a bit of a lazy hoore. but who knows?. i pitied mageean the day just got longer for him on baville.

horsewood are definitely favorites.

[quote=“count of monte cristo”]aye he is good enough, but heard from a few reliable sources that brosnan is a bit of a lazy hoore. but who knows?. i pitied mageean the day just got longer for him on baville.

horsewood are definitely favorites.[/quote]

Remember seeing him with the U21s a couple of years ago and he was the standout. Was suspended for the Leinster final and was a huge loss-not that we would have beaten Kildare anyway.

Great to see St Joseph’s lose the Junior C county football final by a point and Volunteers lose their Intermediate football relegation semi-final too. Cunts x2 - 'mon the Sars. I’d like to wish Jason ‘Spot’ Murphy every success in Australia - the Sars will win the county final in his honour.