Wexford GAA 2009

Ah, it was magnificent stuff, Gavin. A fooking thundering good game for the neutral to watch. Wexford need PJ Nolan jurling like that. Lovely. Ah lovely. :clap:

he’s some man to jurl

Hoping for some more good jurling in the park today. Too pissed to make the start of the minor game but please, please, please Lord let there be violence in the Oulart/Alley game.

That was surely some sort of nadir (credit to Appendage for providing the word ‘nadir’) for Wexford hurling. Utterly appalling game of hurling, Oulart won 3-12 to 1-13.

fucking oulart bastards…

Rory Jacob broke 2 ribs in the first half too according to SE Radio.
Couldn’t make it due to Junior soccer commitments but didn’t miss much apparently.

Dunne has set training for about 11 in the morning too for the lads that have the day off work-must be setting the stall for the Leinster Club championship. Oulart will play the winners from Kilkenny.

Congrats to Askamore too and also to Glynn Barntown, winning their first premier minor title since the 30’s I think I heard. They’ve won U16 and U21 Roinn1 too this year haven’t they? Along with the Intermediate football and I think they’re in the U21 football final also-some year for them.

Heard parts of Dunne’s interview on SE Radio - I think it’s very odd to have the players in the field tomorrow morning. Rory Jacob got flaked when soloing through midway through the first half and was replaced at the start of the second half.

The Alley just didn’t have enough overall threat in their forward unit to get on top but they somehow got back into it with Pat Doran frees and the corner forward, O’Leary knocked over a few points too.

Doran then drilled a free to the net and it was game on despite them not actually improving too much, in my opinion. Oulart just seemed to switch off and they could have been punished, like they were last year, but Nicky Kirwan got a lovely individual goal to finish the game in injury time.

It was his hat trick goal - he’d earlier got 2 poachers goals at the beginning of each half. The Oulart full back line dominated and David Redmond had a good game too. Garrett Sinnott was decent at full forward and Kirwan probably got MOTM for his 3 goals.

But the biggest result of the weekend was the magnificent Faythe Harriers Junior B team capturing the county title yesterday evening with a 4-14 to 0-14 victory over Crossabeg-Ballymurn, with the wily Larry O’Gorman ever dangerous at full forward.

[quote=“Bandage”]Dinger of an Intermediate Hurling final there, Askamore won 1-16 to 0-17. Congratulations to gavin, gavin 2 and his family.

QUOTE]

Ah bollocks. Shite.

Congrats Askamore, hurts me to say it.

drab enough aul fare in the Park yesterday. Oulart won handy enough, even if there was feck all between them at the end until Kirwinis goal put a bit more gloss on it for Oulart. He took his goals well in fairness to him, and got a couple of good points too. Alley should be sickened over it tho, the game was most certainly there for the taking, but they never really looked like they believed they could take it. Muted enough game too, just never really got going.

I dunno Gman, I thought Oulart were a class above and it was their own lack of concentration and a strange tactical change that allowed The Alley back into it. I said to Stevie G that Oulart (i.e. Dunne) was making a change for the sake of it when he decided to change to a third midfielder. Everything was going to plan (2-10 to 0-6 up) and it was almost a case of a manager feeling the need to put his imprint on the game even though it wasn’t required and the players on the pitch were doing the job. Next thing, Oulart were delivering ball into the spare man and The Alley were driving out with it and gaining some momentum. I reckon sometimes the best thing a manager can do is leave the players to get on with it.

As I said, I heard part of Dunne’s interview on SE Radio and I joined it when he was talking about the win ‘stuffing the words down the throat of the big mouth who came into their dressing room last year’. I checked who he was on about and it’s Roy Coleman from St Martin’s. I loved Dunne as a player but I sense that he needs to get over himself a bit. ‘Rory got a couple of broken ribs, I think an Alley man might have slipped and hit him a bit of a belt but sure it was a manly game and that’s what we expected. But if I did it, I probably would have got sent off…’ Yes, we know you got sent off a few times, Liam.

Liam was also calling on all Wexford to get behind Oulart in Wexford Park against the Kilkenny champions on 1 November. Problem is, they’ve such a siege mentality and are such parochial, chip on both shoulder types that it’s probably unlikely it will happen.

Which of the Kennys was #5? He was the one that impressed me. Ciarn Kenny was good too and the #13 in the second half. Most of the rest of them had a poor enough first touch - the skill level in the Intermediate Final was actually better. The sharpness and striking of the players was better. No surprise when you see Sunderland and Kinsella over the teams - two lads who know how to prepare teams.

One of our major problems is the sheer amount of clowns coaching teams in Wexford - no speaking about the teams yesterday here but in general. Lots of players then use it as an excuse to let their own standards drop and it’s a cycle then - joke management, players putting in half arsed effort etc. The depressing thing is that Oulart only hurled for 10-15 minutes and they were clearly a class above when they did in terms of creating space, delivery of ball into forwards etc. No other senior team in Wexford can execute that style of hurling.

Dear Lord.

Yeah I thought Oulart were by far the better side, and seemed they could easily step up a gear if needed, but they just to me didnt seem completely focused and had the Alley had some more belief in themselves, then they could have had a shout. I take the point that Oulart were much better, and played average by their standards and have room for improvement, but I’d like to have seen the alley get right into them and see if Oulart really can lift it another step and if they would have seen them off one way or the other.

Oulart certainly do have a chip on their shoulder mentality and think everyone is out to do them. they dont do themselves any favour, and I think a lot of people are not enthusiastic about them after a lot of poor showings in the Leinster club campaign.

Both the minor and senior winning captains cursed in their acceptance speeches in the park yesterday.

Are we as a county expected to stand for that?

Are we?

Are we fuck.

[quote=“Bandage”]Both the minor and senior winning captains cursed in their acceptance speeches in the park yesterday.

Are we as a county expected to stand for that?

Are we?[/quote]

:rolleyes: :smiley: :clap:

http://www.wexfordpeople.ie/sport/other-sports/gavin-top-of-the-world-1913828.html

Gavin top of the world

Wednesday October 14 2009

GAVIN BUGGY was the toast of Wexford handball on Thursday last as he collected the World title in the men’s 35 and over singles in Portland, Oregon.

Buggy got into action on Tuesday afternoon and easily dispatched Greg Tomasyson from California in the quarter-final on a 21-0, 21-5 scoreline, so early indications of his form were on show.

In the semi-final Gavin had to play the handball of his life to stay alive in the competition as he came up against Chris Watkins who was seeded number two. It proved to be a fantastic game, with the early punishment being dished out to Gavin from Watkins who claimed the first set 21-13.

Gavin looked dead and buried in the second set as Watkins pulled into an 11-4 lead and the writing looked on the wall, but some magnificent recovery shots and a more dominant edge in killing saw him gain a foothold again.

The game was poised on a knife edge at 19-19, and with Watkins serving the Wexford followers feared the worst, but Gavin raised the bar and got the two points to force the game into a tie-breaker.

Gavin saw a weakness in his opponent at this stage and he fired for home, and impressive handball saw him claim his final berth on an 11-2 scoreline.

It was expected to be an all-Irish final between Egin Jensen and Gavin Buggy, but the applecart was turned over by Robert Herrera as the Oregon man beat Dubliner Jensen 21-16, 20-21, 11-7 to secure a final spot.

Gavin was on the brink of something special and he didn’t let the opportunity of becoming world champion slip him by as he was totally dominant in his final against Robert Herrera.

The local lad failed to please his home crowd, who were all left in awe of Gavin as the St. Mary’s clubman powered to a 21-3, 21-2 win to become the men’s 35 and over singles world champion.

For Gavin it meant an awful lot. His proud father, Ned, and his uncle, Seamus, were among the supporters on court side, while good friend and county Secretary, Tony Breen, was also nearby to cheer on Wexford’s newest world champion.

Up to this Gavin had a fine display of titles including last year’s 40 x 20 Intermediate singles, but this is certainly a title that he has worked hard at over the last three or four years and his just rewards were granted.

Just to show how much Gavin cares for the game, he heaped the praise on Peter Hughes from Ballyhogue and described his win in the quarter-final of the 17 and under singles against number one seed Jamie Lynch from Clare as the best Wexford performance of the world championships.

Modesty from a great handballer who puts a lot in and deserves everything he achieves. Portland, Oregon, 2009 will live long in the memory in the Buggy household and the fans of Wexford handball.

:rolleyes: :smiley: :clap:

I’d also like to publicly put on record my gratitude to Christy Cooney for his support of and wise counsel in relation to the ongoing Faythe Harriers pitch, hurling arena and clubhouse development. :thumbsup:

http://www.wexfordpeople.ie/sport/gaelic-football/sarsfields-celebrations-on-sunday-1913833.html

Sarsfields celebrations on Sunday

Wednesday October 14 2009

ANYONE WISHING to recall the greatest era in Wexford’s proud football history should make their way to Pirc Charman on Sunday next.

It’s an afternoon of celebrations for the Sarsfields, with G.A.A. President Christy Cooney paying a special visit to officially open their plush new clubhouse.

He will also be presented with the Great Southern and Western Railway Cup which Wexford won outright for their All-Ireland four in a row success from 1915 to 1918. This striking piece of silverware has been in the possession of the O’Kennedy family as the late, great Sen captained the side to three of those victories.

And given their close links with Sarsfields, the cup has been regularly given on loan to the club for special occasions. Now family members have decided to present the cup to the G.A.A. to put on display in the Croke Park museum, and Christy Cooney will be more than happy to accept it.

Sen O’Kennedy came to work and live in Wexford town in 1930 and gave tremendous assistance to Sarsfields thereafter as trainer in their golden era. He also came out of retirement twice to play with the club in the Senior championship, and his direct descendants, the Cuddihys, are current members at under-age level.

There are two more links with his colleagues from 1915 to 1918 as Jim Crowley’s father, Jack, and Jim Roice’s grandfather, Barney, also shared in those successes.

Christy Cooney’s first function on Sunday will be to formally declare the clubhouse open, and he will also unveil a second plaque in memory of the late Sen Siggins whose family will be out in force to remember a great servant of the club.

It is planned that the promising Sarsfields Under-10 team will also play a game to mark the festivities, and club members have extended an open invitation to everyone to attend.

South-East Radio will be broadcasting from the event and it will run from 1.30 to 4 p.m.

Interesting piece in The Echo, (the paper of record in Wexford of course), about the last time Glynn Barntown won a minor hurling title in 1939.

The great Nicky Rackard was on the team which is surprising enough given that it’s far from Glynn he was born and reared but the most surprising name on the team was Paddy Ruschitzko, Laois native and supposedly the best player to ever play for that county (got them to an All-Ireland Final).
He was working for the ESB at the time in that area and helped Glynn to their last minor title before they finally won the premier last week.

Laois take first blood in the upcoming Leinster Club Cship clashes between the two counties…

Vhi Leinster Senior Club Championship Semi-Final replay
Timahoe - Laois 2-16 Clonee - Wexford 3-11
After extratime

Take that CLG :mad:

I believe Laois and Wexford are due to clash in Junior and Intermediate Club Football action in the coming weeks. There is also a possible Junior Hurling clash, should the Wexford representatives make it that far.

Blackwater won the Wexford junior football, they’d be primarily a hrling club. Glynn Barntown won the intermediate football, and again, probabyl try concentrate more on hurling but would be better at football if they stuck to that.

Craanford won the Junior hurling.

I am also seriously gutted that Clonee lost the game above.

Timahoe would be a pretty strong side, even with Sue long retired. They also have two of Brendan Quigley’s sisters playing, Asling is savage bless her.

Clonaslee St Manmans won the Laois IFC, they were relegated in controversial circumstances last season and were favourites to go back up. They are the football Club of James Young and would be shockingly physical, expect cards.

Ballyfin are a hurling Club who lost the JFC Final in Laois, but as The Heath are a Senior Football Club and their 2nd string won the Junior, they are not allowed go forward into Leinster. Ballyfin lost the IHC and JFC finals this year, so how interested they will be in this is up for debate. They’ve some good young footballers there.

[quote=“myboyblue”]Laois take first blood in the upcoming Leinster Club Cship clashes between the two counties…

Vhi Leinster Senior Club Championship Semi-Final replay
Timahoe - Laois 2-16 Clonee - Wexford 3-11
After extratime

Take that CLG :guns:

the team that matter St.James’ Ladies are playing against Castlemitchell of Kildare in Leinster Junior Final on Saturday at 2pm … Cmon d James’
having already knocked out Tinahely of Wicklow, St.Margarets of Dublin and Mullingar Shamrocks of Westmeath…