I don’t think the player in the white helmet is Richie Kehoe. If I was forced to guess, I would probably go for Farrell but it could be Kenny. We’re playing Galway at home next weekend - venue to be announced.
Looks like Farrell to me.
Match in New Ross next Sunday at 2
Press Release - Damian Fitzhenry back between the posts for Wexford
The Wexford team to play Galway in the Walsh Cup Semi-Final on Sunday next shows just two changes from that which eventually overcame UCD last weekend.
Damien Fitzhenry makes his return between the posts and James Tonks continues at wing-back having replaced the injured Ciarn Kenny last week.
This week’s game may well be a fore-runner to a possible meeting in the championship later in the year.
Team:
- Damien Fitzhenry,
- Brendan O’Leary, 3. Richie Kehoe, 4. Antony O’Connell,
- Michael Jacob, 6. David O’Connor, 7. James Tonks,
- David Redmond, 9. Colm Farrell,
- Stephen Doyle, 11.Toms Waters, 12. Diarmuid Lyng,
- Rory Jacob, 14. Stephen Banville, 15. Nicky Kirwan.
Plea To Journalist Lurkers
Please spell Antony O’Connell’s name correctly. I have it on good authority that Antony checks newspaper reports for every game he plays. It affects him deeply if they’ve stuck the ‘h’ into his christian name by accident and chips away at his confidence. We need our new players to be going at full throttle so I make this plea in good faith. The same applies to those compiling match programmes - Antony was reportedly in a bad state before the UCD game last weekend having seen his name spelt incorrectly when browsing the teamsheet.
Armagh at home on Sunday week in the first round of the league. My plans have been implemented as follows:
- Friday: get locko in Dublin.
- Saturday: go to Dublin-Tyrone and travel down to Wexford afterwards.
- Sunday: go to Wexford Park and watch Superbowl XLIII in the south east that night.
- Monday: day off work to reflect on matters.
[quote=“Bandage”]Please spell Antony O’Connell’s name correctly. I have it on good authority that Antony checks newspaper reports for every game he plays. It affects him deeply if they’ve stuck the ‘h’ into his christian name by accident and chips away at his confidence. We need our new players to be going at full throttle so I make this plea in good faith. The same applies to those compiling match programmes - Antony was reportedly in a bad state before the UCD game last weekend having seen his name spelt incorrectly when browsing the teamsheet.
.[/quote]
Anthony wont have to worry for much longer id imagine,if Wexford hurling has plummetted to standard where hes required at corner back yere going to be contesting the Christy Ring Cup shortly.
That’s Antony to you.
[quote=“Bandage”]
Armagh at home on Sunday week in the first round of the league. My plans have been implemented as follows:
- Friday: get locko in Dublin.
- Saturday: go to Dublin-Tyrone and travel down to Wexford afterwards.
- Sunday: go to Wexford Park and watch Superbowl XLIII in the south east that night.
- Monday: day off work to reflect on matters.[/quote]
Good fucking plan
It’s pissing rain in Wexford and Bandage Senior didn’t bother going to the hurling as a result. He’s getting soft in his old age. Hopefully, some of the Wexicans on here will be able to provide a report later.
There was awful downpours in Wexford Town bout 12 o clock but when i left about an hour ago it was grand… was going to head into the game but left it too late… hopefully aertel will be updated for half time
Wexford 4-9 Galway 1-21 ®
Lots of work to be done, it would appear.
just see on aertel final score Wexford 4-09 Galway 1-21 …
Was home today but didnt make it. Liam Spratt said it was one of the best games of hurling he’s ever seen at this time of year and there’s lots of positives for Bonnar to take. I’d be worried about only scoring 13 times while conceding 22. Goals came from Rory Jacob, Stephen Banville, Nicky Kirwan and Eoin Quigley.
The RTE report mentions that we didn’t score for the last 17 minutes of the game. That maybe shows in a perverse kind of way that we played pretty well up to that point. I don’t see any reports from the Wexford supporters site either but I’m trying to get some more information from some cunts who were at it.
I take your point on the amount of scores Mac. I reckon we’ve lacked point scorers from play in recent years. You’ll rarely win games against decent sides when you’re only scoring 10 or 11 points, even with a few goals thrown in.
We managed to beat Tipp in the '07 quarter final when scoring 3-10 but I can’t think of many other games when a tally like that sufficed. We need our midfielders and half forwards chipping in with more points so we can regularly get up around 17 or 18 points per game. A couple of goals thrown in then and we’d be close to beating most teams.
From hoganstand.com:
Walsh Cup: Galway book final berth
[I]25 January 2009
[/I]
[I]Gritty Galway produced a sleeves-rolled-up display to put Wexford to the sword (1-21 to 4-9) in a hugely exciting Walsh Cup semi-final tie at New Ross.
The John McIntyre-managed side cemented their cosy position in Leinster with an impressive showing particularly at the business end of the field despite the fact that they only managed to breach Damien Fitzhenrys goal on one occasion.
Ironically it was the Model County who had the greater eye for goal but their quartet of majors werent enough to book a place in the decider. [/I]
Not much detail to go on there.
What “cosy position” did Galway have in Leinster in the first place that required cementing? Strange comment.
[quote=“Bandage”]The RTE report mentions that we didn’t score for the last 17 minutes of the game. That maybe shows in a perverse kind of way that we played pretty well up to that point. I don’t see any reports from the Wexford supporters site either but I’m trying to get some more information from some cunts who were at it.
I take your point on the amount of scores Mac. I reckon we’ve lacked point scorers from play in recent years. You’ll rarely win games against decent sides when you’re only scoring 10 or 11 points, even with a few goals thrown in.
We managed to beat Tipp in the '07 quarter final when scoring 3-10 but I can’t think of many other games when a tally like that sufficed. We need our midfielders and half forwards chipping in with more points so we can regularly get up around 17 or 18 points per game. A couple of goals thrown in then and we’d be close to beating most teams.[/quote]
Yep, we’ve always relied on goals in big games to see us out. Took encouragement that we scored 20 points last week but seems odd we couldnt even muster half that this week. We need a few lads who are comfortable shooting from distance cos we often try and work the ball in too close rather than taking long range points that Cha Fitz would eat for breakfast.
Odd comment alright. They’re obviously referring to the fact they’ve defeated Offaly and ourselves in successive weeks. I’m guessing they’re implying they’ve already asserted their authority over the two of us and have assumed a cosy position in Leinster as a result. It’s a bit silly given they’re meaningless pre-season matches.
Report From Todays Independent
IT’S early days in Leinster but Galway turned in a stirring finish to record their second victory as they edged out Wexford in this exciting tie at O’Kennedy Park, New Ross yesterday afternoon.
Three points behind with 10 minutes to go, Galway turned in an impressive finish as they struck six unanswered points to earn a three-point victory and a place against Kilkenny in the final next Sunday.
At one stage, it looked as if it would take extra-time to separate the sides as they were deadlocked 1-18 to 4-9 with just three minutes remaining. But Ger Farragher sent over two points along with one from Richie Murray, as the Westerners edged in front in the closing minutes to secure victory.
Wexford looked under pressure when Galway struck 1-1 inside four minutes. Niall Healy set up Farragher for a splendid goal, with the point coming from Aongus Callanan. But the home side responded well, with Rory Jacob getting his hurley to a long David Redmond delivery to deflect the ball past 'keeper Colm Callanan.
The score seemed to settle the home side. They went in front for the first time after 13 minutes when full-forward Stephen Banville goaled from close in. Leading 2-1 to 1-3, Wexford continued to press, getting their third goal in the 21st minute. It was a rather fortuitous goal, with a long Stephen Doyle effort having dropped down from the upright and left Eoin Quigley with a simple tap-in.
Farragher, Healy and Cyril Donnellan dragged Galway back into the game as they led by the minimum, 1-11 to 3-4, at the break.
Wexford, despite playing into the wind, opened the second-half impressively with points from Banville and Doyle.
Donnellan and Eoin Forde points had Galway back in front, 1-13 to 3-7, after 42 minutes, while one minute later Quigley had the sides level.
Then, in the 45th minute, a rising Diarmuid Lyng shot crashed back off the crossbar, before Farragher and Lyng exchanged pointed frees.
Nicky Kirwan, having received a splendid pass inside from Lyng, crashed a great ball across goal into the opposite corner of the net, leaving the homeside with a 4-8 to 1-14 lead after 51 minutes.
Wexford could only manage one further point when Lyng pulled the ball over the bar with a gaping goal in front of him.
But it was Galway who turned in a composed finish. Points from Farragher and Healy had the sides level with seven minutes remaining, while Farragher went on to add two further points, with substitute Murray applying the final touch with a late point.
Scorers – Galway: G Farragher 1-9 (5f), C Donnellan 0-4, N Healy 0-3, D Tierney 0-2, E Forde, A Callanan, R Murray 0-1 each.
Wexford: D Lyng 0-5 (3f), R Jacob, S Banville, E Quigley, 1-1 each, N Kirwan 1-0, S Doyle 0-1.
Galway – C Callanan; F Moore, D McClean, A Coen; A Cullinane, S Kavanagh, G Mahon; K Hynes, E Forde; J Gantley, C Donnellan, D Tierney; G Farragher, N Healy, A Callanan. Subs: F Healy for Coen; R Murray for Gantley; P Killilea for A Callanan.
Wexford – D Fitzhenry; B O’Leary, R Kehoe, A O’Connell; M Jacob, D O’Connor, J Tonks; D Redmond, C Farrell; S Doyle, E Quigley, D Lyng; R Jacob, S Banville, N Kirwan. Subs: P Atkinson for R Jacob; M Travers for O’Connell; E Martin for Kirwan.
Ref – E Morris (Dublin).
- Galway 1-21 Wexford 4-9 walsh cup semi-final sh
Galway scoring the last 6 points may imply that we weren’t as fit as them. The panel themselves accepted that they weren’t fit enough last season - in fact they regularly complained about it - but they now have the fitness and conditioning coaches they asked for so that should come as the season progresses. But it was apparent in the photo Pikeman posted from the game against UCD that the likes of David O’Connor is a couple of stone overweight.
Matty fit to play on Sunday … article from rte.ie
Mattie Forde has given Wexford a major lift by declaring himself fit for Sunday’s Allianz Division Two national football league clash with Armagh.
With Wexford aiming to build on last year’s success where they lost out in the All-Ireland semi-final to eventual champions, Tyrone, news of Forde’s fitness is sure to boost the home crowd.
Forde has been troubled with an ankle problem since that Tyrone game, an injury that forced his retiral at half-time, but manager Jason Ryan is set to include him in his starting fifteen as they aim to repeat last year’s Championship quarter-final victory over the Ulster champions.
The message from Ryan is that Mattie is ready and fit to face Armagh.
‘We had a challenge game with Cavan on Saturday. Mattie played in that game and came through it one hundred per cent. He’s fit and looking forward to sunday’s game,’ he said.
One of the top forward talents in present day football, Forde winning his fitness battle is just the incentive his side needs.
But it’s not all positive news from the Wexford camp. Ryan will be without some regulars for this high profile opener.
‘Centre-back David Murphy is out. David had a groin operation on Friday last which will rule him out for some time. David Walsh is not due back from New Zealand until next week, while both Shane roche (ankle) and Niall Murphy (back) are also out of contention, as is Redmond Barry, recently married, who is touring the world and will miss the league,’ Ryan added.
But Wexford have been boosted by a number of experienced players returning to the squad while there are also some newcomers pushing for inclusion.
'Diarmuid Kinsella is back from Hong Kong and in training. He’s a class act and is making great progress. David Fogarty and Shane Cullen are also back and in contention.
'Following inter-district trials and a number of challenge games my biggest task has been reducing the squad to thirty. Now it has to be reduced to twenty-four for Sunday. The strength in depth in the squad for training has improved immensely on last year.
‘This is a huge game to start the league with but we are all looking forward to the game. We have already played and beaten the likes of Meath, Fermanagh, Armagh and Laois last year, all of whom are in our group. We will be taking each game seriously and hope to build and progress on last year’s achievements, said Ryan.’