Whos the new sponsers?
as far as i know a new sponsor has yet to be announced meaning they will play on sunday with a set of Wexford Cremery Jersies from last year or a set with no sponsor on the front
Thanks for the inside scoop there cailin
I can exclusively reveal that Celtic Bookmakers wonât be the new sponsors.
Heard rumours that Celtic Linen are being approached.
other rumours include Sam McCauleys, Pettits ,Coca Cola(unlikely as they have pulled out of International rules but are building factory in drinagh at the moment),
Is Pettits realistic though? He handed the supermarkets over to SuperValu. What does he have now apart from the 2 hotels? He still sponsors the local championship as well so its a bit much to be asking him to sponsor the county team as well.
McCauleys would be decent as he says heâs a GAA man and was selector on the Rapps teams over the years. Doubt the Coca Cola one will get off the ground but all we can do is hope.
Sure West Coast Cooler is made and bottled in Enniscorthy, maybe they should be approached!
From todays echo
Colm Morris is Captain again this year
and also reports that four companies are very interested in taking over the sponsorship
from rte.ie/sport
Wexfordâs Senior Football team to play Armagh on Sunday shows three notable inclusions - Shane Cullen, David Fogarty and Graeme Molloy, none of whom featured in the Wexford set-up for 2008.
Cullen from the Gusserane OâRahillyâs club, having returned from Australia, is named at centre forward while Fogarty (St Anneâs) and Molloy (St Jamesâ) are both featured in the half-back line.
Otherwise the team has a familiar ring to it as Wexford endeavour to open their Division 2 campaign with a victory on home territory.
Team: 1. Anthony Masterson, 2. Colm Morris, Capt 3. Gary Murphy, 4. Brian Malone, 5. Graeme Molloy, 6. David Fogarty, 7. Aindreas Doyle, 8. Paddy Colfer, 9. Brendan Doyle, 10. Ciarn Deely, 11. Shane Cullen, 12. Collie Byrne, 13. Ciarn Lyng, 14. PJ Banville, 15. Matty Forde
Weâve named our team for Sunday. Largely experienced but a very experimental half back line.
That forward line would be pretty sexual if Red Barry was available and in there ahead of Collie Byrne.
Looking forward to seeing Shane Cullen lead the attack.
I presume Phil Wallace has still to make a decision on whether to return or not.
Adrian Morrissey is ruled out because of Kilmacud Crokes commitments and thereâs the odd injury such as David Murphy.
From RTE:
Three new faces for Wexford
Wexfordâs Senior Football team to play Armagh on Sunday shows three notable inclusions - Shane Cullen, David Fogarty and Graeme Molloy, none of whom featured in the Wexford set-up for 2008.
Cullen from the Gusserane OâRahillyâs club, having returned from Australia, is named at centre forward while Fogarty (St Anneâs) and Molloy (St Jamesâ) are both featured in the half-back line.
Otherwise the team has a familiar ring to it as Wexford endeavour to open their Division 2 campaign with a victory on home territory.
Team:
- Anthony Masterson,
- Colm Morris, Capt 3. Gary Murphy, 4. Brian Malone,
- Graeme Molloy, 6. David Fogarty, 7. Aindreas Doyle,
- Paddy Colfer, 9. Brendan Doyle,
- Ciarn Deely, 11. Shane Cullen, 12. Collie Byrne,
- Ciarn Lyng, 14. PJ Banville, 15. Matty Forde
Worried about Full Back and the whole half back line but am hoping the lads prove me wrong. Good to see Fogie back as well.
Jason Ryan was on the radio this morning and talking about mind games etc and how armagh wont line out as named⌠i also heard that we have a different player not namedâŚstarting in full back⌠out of position for this player⌠pm if you want to hear whomâŚ
cant believe im missing the game due to nephews christianingâŚ
[quote=âcailinlochgarmanâ]Jason Ryan was on the radio this morning and talking about mind games etc and how armagh wont line out as named⌠i also heard that we have a different player not namedâŚstarting in full back⌠out of position for this player⌠pm if you want to hear whomâŚ
cant believe im missing the game due to nephews christianingâŚ[/quote]
Iâll take that PM CLG
Is Gary Murphy full-back, Davidâs brother ?
Nope, think heâs Muttleys (Nialls) brother. Davids brother is Conor who also plays in the full back / half back line
Nope, Davidâs brother is Conor. He got some game time in the OâByrne Cup games and didnât impress too much but heâll get more chances I imagine.
Gary Murphy is a brother of Niall Murphy - Niallâs been a regular for the last number of years.
Iâd be worried enough about that Wexford line up, not the strongest by a long way, especially in defence. The mid field has zero pace, but mucky days in February normally suit boccy so might get away with it. Armagh will be without the cross lads and also stevie macdonald plus a few more so we should be in with a chance of winnin.
Send me a pm about the full back cailin/mac, ive a sneeking suspision who it migh be.
Wexford 2-9 Armagh 4-16
We got embarrassingly destroyed by Armagh today.
We were playing with a gale behind us in the first half but conceded two goals inside the first five minutes to Ryan Henderson. He ended with a personally tally of 4-3! My brother told me heâd been impressive in the McKenna Cup and to keep an eye out for him but I wasnât expecting that.
We stormed into the game then and turned a 2-3 to 0-3 deficit into a 2-8 to 2-3 half time lead. David Fogarty got a smashing goal after a pinpoint pass from Colm Morris sent him bursting through. Paddy Colfer then got an opportunist goal - he intercepted an attempted pass from the 'keeper, shrugged off a tackle and deftly lobbed the ball into the net from 25 yards. Ciarn Lyng and Shane Cullen got a couple of nice scores from play and we had something to defend.
But they came out and scored 1-7 without reply in the first 14 minutes of the second half and our capitulation was like the Leinster Final last year and quite shambolic really. PJ Banville cracked an effort off the cross bar at 2-8 to 2-4 when clean through and that was that for us.
Stephen Kernan came on for Ronan Clarke (yellow card just before half time) and he was excellent and kicked some good scores. They had sprung a surprise at the start by including Aaron Kernan despite Crossmaglen still being involved in the club championship and he marauded forward for a few points also.
We have a fairly potent set of forwards but our defence has proven not to be good enough and we need to sort that out. We started with Collie Byrne playing that sweeper role and Eric Bradley (as exlusively revealed by cailinlochgarman on Private Mail) as full back, with Forde on the bench.
Armagh were expecting it and Aaron Kernan pushed upfield and onto our sweeper and he got loads of ball. So we reverted to a more orthodox set-up and were basically destroyed in the end. I think the Wexicans on here will know that some of the defenders that were tried out are never going to be intercounty class and they were well and truly taken to school.
The management were very slow to take any action and Ryanâs going to have to come up with the personnel and system to prevent us from being picked apart so easily. We still won a fair share of possession in the second half against the wind but we didnât use the ball well and their forwards, along with the supporting cast of midfielders and half backs, were far too much for our defence.
I was pretty disappointed with our effort and commitment in the second half to be honest. Brendan Doyle and Paddy Colfer worked hard, as did Collie Byrne actually, and Lyng and Cullen were decent enough. There was a fair sprinkling of average and poor performances though. Diarmuid Kinsella made his return too after being away for the last few years.
Is Cullen the lad you said was the new Mattie Forde?
No harm for ye Wexford folk to get a does of reality.
But seriously this is the year that Ryan and Wexford will earn their stripes. His new training programmes and all that will have worn off on the players from last year, motivation is going to be key. Wexford clearly donât have a strong squad, so injuries will be huge for ye
Staying in Div 2 would be a good start.
[quote=âcaoimhaoinâ]No harm for ye Wexford folk to get a does of reality.
But seriously this is the year that Ryan and Wexford will earn their stripes. His new training programmes and all that will have worn off on the players from last year, motivation is going to be key. Wexford clearly donât have a strong squad, so injuries will be huge for ye
Staying in Div 2 would be a good start.[/quote]
Kev, I totally agree with you here. There was some thread a while back with 2009 sporting predictions and there was a couple of âWexford should at least get to the All Ireland semi-final againâ comments and I urged a bit of caution and cop on at the time.
This is the big second season (or the sophomore season as they say in American sports!) and itâs the acid test of Ryan and the players. The point I made about Armagh predicting that weâd play with an extra defender and send Kernan up on him is something that they would have learned from last year.
I donât know if you recall but we did this against Down, Armagh and Tyrone in the latter stages of the championship after Dublinâs forwards destroyed us in the Leinster Final and it worked a treat. The sweeper was a screen in front of the full back line and mopped up a lot of ball. Then we worked the ball into the opposition half with sharp, short passing before hitting Forde and Lyng with diagonal balls into space. Teams will be expecting this now so what are we going to do?
As mentioned, we have quite a lot of attacking talent. Diarmuid Kinsella was on the bench today and Redmond Barryâs going to miss the league. But when you add these two to Forde, Lyng, Cullen and Deely then thatâs quite a forward unit. We do lack quality and depth in defence though and that was ruthlessly exposed today.
Farmer, Iâm not sure what I said about Cullen but heâs an excellent player. He was on the team in 2005 but was travelling for the past couple of years. Heâs versatile and can play in attack or defence and spent most of today at centre forward after starting full forward and got a few points. Heâs about 26 so heâs not a ânewâ player in that sense.