Wexford GAA 2009

If we had everyone fit what would the best team be? I think we were getting close to it with the team that played against Waterford last year. Maybe something along the lines of:

Fitzy

Travers, Rossi, Roche
Jacob, Doc, R Kehoe

Redmond, Gizzy/Stamp/Quigley

S Nolan/Stamp/Gizzy, Quigley/Stamp, S Doyle/Gizzy
Kirwan/S Doyle, Banville, Jacob

Maybe not the 6 forwards in those positions but I believe they’re probably the most potent forwards we have. Nolan and Banville can be a bit immobile at times but have shown what they’re capable of when they’re on song.

That’d leave a bench with the likes of PJ Nolan, James Tonks, Anthony O’Connell, Willie Doran, Brendan O’Leary, Tommy Dwyer and any of the lads from last years minor panel who’ve been brought through. Am I missing anyone?

Barry Lambert would be nailed on for corner forward if he was fit. Mossy Waters was good for St Martin’s last season and will probably get another few chances at centre forward when he gets over his injury. There’s probably others that have slipped my mind who’ll come into contention too.

Had presumed Barry Lambert was probably out for the season as he’s so injury prone. Waters should be there or there abouts you’d like to think. Would be great to see someone like Eoin Moore nailing down one of the corner back positions if that was possible.

2009 Hurling Championship Draw:

Group 1
Rathnure
Glynn
Cloughbawn
Blackwater

Group 2
St. Martins
Buffers Alley
Marshalstown
Duffry Rovers

Group 3
Oulart
Shelmaliers
Faythe Harriers
Oylegate

Group 4
St. Annes
Rapparees
Ferns
Cushinstown

County final due to be played on December 20th.

Why is the final on so early this year?

have we a future teller here or another mess by co Board?

A Chara,

The draw for the Senior, Intermediate, Junior & Junior C Hurling & Football Championships will take place on

Tuesday night next March 3 rd in the Talbot Hotel @ 8pm.

Copied and pasted from Wex site Gman.

Those groups look familiar somehow though :cool:

[quote=“Pikeman”]Copied and pasted from Wex site Gman.

Those groups look familiar somehow though :cool:[/quote]

are they? not last years groupings anyway, and sure Blackwater arent in it and Marshalstown are. someone trying to be funny or just being an idiot maybe?

Marshalstown aren’t senior. Well, at least I don’t think they are.

They are still Senior alright. Pretty sure it was Pat’s that went down last year (in the Relegation final v Duffry I think). Blackwater up for Intermediate.

Blackwater are in Group 1 there Gman.

[quote=“Pikeman”]They are still Senior alright. Pretty sure it was Pat’s that went down last year (in the Relegation final v Duffry I think). Blackwater up for Intermediate.

Blackwater are in Group 1 there Gman.[/quote]

I remember Oilgate/Oylgate/Oylegate beating Marshalstown in the relegation semi-final so Marshalstown must have beaten Pat’s in the final then.

aye, I’m blind alright.

still shite tho.

http://www.wexfordpeople.ie/sport/hurling/draws-made-for-co-championships-1660601.html

Full lists of the 2009 Wexford Championship Draws …

[COLOR=“Red”]Senior Football

Group A:
Shelmaliers,
St Annes Rathangan,
Duffry Rovers,
Fethard

Group B:
Clongeen,
Adamstown,
Bannow-Ballymitty,
St Martins.

Group C:
Gusserane,
Horeswood,
Castletown,
Taghmon.

Group D:
Kilanerin,
Starlights,
Ballyhogue,
Sarsfields.

[COLOR=“red”]Senior Hurling

Group A:
St Annes,
Ferns St Aidans,
Cushinstown,
Duffry Rovers.

Group B:
St Martins,
Faythe Harriers,
Cloughbawn,
Rapparees.

Group C:
Outlart-The Ballagh,
Buffers Alley,
Oylegate Glenbrien,
Marshalstown.

Group D:
Rathnure,
Shelmaliers,
Glynn-Barntown,
Blackwater.

Gutter journalism of the highest order yesterday in the Sun about youse boys wee Mattie.

What was it MBB?

Half page article saying how Mattie had been done for the bag whilst driving somewhere in recent weeks and they were still awaiting the results from his urine sample. Basically the bag was inconclusive, so the urine sample was needed.

This got half a fucking page in a national newspaper.

wow stop the press a GAA player who likes to take a few drinks and possibly has got done for drink drivin like half the freakin country

Woah now, drink driving is fucking wrong, dont you dare condone it.

My point was, this is not a story because there’s no story there.

Yet.

Stupid thing to say in fairness CLg