Wexford GAA 2009

it was always going to be higher costs for Wexford tho, what with their messing around with the development lands at Ferns and this was the first year they have had full time secretary and coaching positions. mad tho that Kilkenny, for a smaller county and for one which wouldnt have good attendances for football games in club or county level, still managed to earn nearly half a million more than Wexford.

Saw this in todays indo

Wexford County Board announces plans for centre of excellence

Friday December 19 2008

Wexfordā€™s County Board have announced plans for a centre of excellence to be located in Ferns.

The ambitious development will include six training pitches, some of which will be floodlit to be used by Hurling, Football, Camogie and Ladies Football teams.

The plans also include dressing rooms, a gym, meeting and catering facilities.

It is hoped that works will be completed within a two-year frame.

It was offical unveiled at some meeting in one of the pubs in ferns suring the week i heard it on the radio at some stageā€¦

also would anyone else agree that it was a joke that Ger Doyle was on holidays when the county convention was on

A typically pointless press release. Everyone knows about the Ferns thing and its been public knowledge for months.

Ger Doyle chaired the adult convention. He may have been away for the under age one.

no he wasnt magaret doyle chaired the adult convention

Get your facts straight Appendage. No offence but you strike me as the stereotypical ā€˜championship onlyā€™ fan who barely registers an interest in Wexford GAA outside of a two or three month window in the summer.

Youā€™re like so wrong. So so so wrong.

Even if the chairman wasnā€™t present, which he was, would the vice chair not have chaired the meeting and not the secretary?

Always thought that myself. One of these lads who just pipes in with his off the wall opinions but doesnt really have a clue about hurling at all. Iā€™d say heā€™s never even played the game before.

Opinions are like ass holes, everyoneā€™s got one.

And as for my pedigree, Bandy Iā€™ll have you know that I was at all of the Wexford games in 96. So there.

[quote=ā€œAppendageā€]Opinions are like ass holes, everyoneā€™s got one.

And as for my pedigree, Bandy Iā€™ll have you know that I was at all of the Wexford games in 96. So there.[/quote]

including league games ???

on another noteā€¦ Liam Dunne has taken over from Kevin Ryan as managed of Ourlart Senior Hurlers and the Gorey District were eventually winners in the Districts Cup

[quote=ā€œcailinlochgarmanā€]It was offical unveiled at some meeting in one of the pubs in ferns suring the week i heard it on the radio at some stageā€¦

also would anyone else agree that it was a joke that Ger Doyle was on holidays when the county convention was on[/quote]

yes, i agree with you

the bould Ger went on holidays with the footballers, while their manager Jason Ryan stayed home and supervised the district matches trying to unearth some new talent.

Ger your a joke

[quote=ā€œpadjoā€]the bould Ger went on holidays with the footballers, while their manager Jason Ryan stayed home and supervised the district matches trying to unearth some new talent.

Ger your a joke[/quote]

Your rationale for your point is stupid, despite the correct conclusion being drawn.

Ger was entitled to go - he is co chairman as elected by the idiots that run the asylum. Ryan is teacher and recently became a father. So in fairness, I think it is reasonable that he stayed at home.

As for the league games, God no. I havenā€™t been to a league same since the 93 final in Thurles.

[quote=ā€œpadjoā€]the bould Ger went on holidays with the footballers, while their manager Jason Ryan stayed home and supervised the district matches trying to unearth some new talent.

Ger your a joke[/quote]

And what better off would Jason Ryan have been had Ger Doyle stayed at home?

Clown.

Clown.

Clown.

[quote=ā€œAppendageā€]And what better off would Jason Ryan have been had Ger Doyle stayed at home?

Clown.

Clown.

Clown.[/quote]

Here lad this thread is about Wexford gaa, you should only post on it you know something about the subject matter, you obviously donā€™t. Go to a few league games or god forbid club games you might learn something. For a start if Ger had stayed at home and done his job like Jason the underage convention might not have ended in such acrimony. He caused the mess so the least he could have done was try and sort it out. But sure these days chairman Ger and messes seem to go hand and hand.

Now what was your insightful phrase again? Oh yeah,

Clown

Clown

Clown

Appendages hero speaks to the masses

Doyle ā€˜hopefulā€™ for future

Wednesday December 24 2008
ā€˜I WILL make decisions sometimes that people will find hard to believe or accept, but I do it at all times for the good of the Association. I could be in Spain playing golf, but I decided my retirement would be spent looking after Wexford G.A.A.ā€™

With those words, Ger Doyle closed his wide-ranging Chairmanā€™s address at Convention on Wednesday last, having revealed at the outset that his position ā€˜can be lonely at timesā€™.

ā€˜Itā€™s been a hectic year in Wexford G.A.A. You might think sometimes that the people at the top table are not doing very much, but my second year was definitely a lot more hectic than the first,ā€™ he said.

Doyle congratulated all of the teams which won county championships and said to the others, ā€˜try and try again. Everyone gets their day eventually, and thereā€™s no feeling in the world like winning a county championshipā€™.

The Chairman praised the various inter-county managers and selectors. ā€™ Everyone of them deserve great credit for the work they do, especially the people looking after squads for instilling the values of life into our young people. Sometimes I think weā€™re not appreciated for the amount of work we put into the youth of the country,ā€™ he added.

He said he was ā€˜very happy with the year as a wholeā€™ on the inter-county front. A lot of effort was put into both Minor teams, and the hurlers came within a stroke of an All-Ireland semifinal while it ā€˜just didnā€™t workā€™ for the footballers on the night of the Leinster semi-final against Offaly.

The Under-21 footballers reached a Leinster final for the first time in 20 years and ā€˜very little would have put us over the lineā€™, while the Under-21 hurlers didnā€™t perform on the night in Birr but were capable of winning. ā€˜We have to look back and see if there is any remedy there,ā€™ he added.

Doyle apologised for the inadequate preparation time afforded to the Junior footballers. ā€˜Management must put our hands up and say we didnā€™t give the people enough time to get them ready. There was a bit of a mix-up because the Seniors had looked after that the year before, and we thought that they would again.ā€™

Commenting on the Senior hurlers, Doyle reminded delegates of the forthcoming trips to Kerry, Antrim and Down in Division 2. ā€˜It could depress us but weā€™re not going to let it,ā€™ he said. 'Weā€™re going to drive on even more. I do believe the players are good enough to be up there, as they had Waterford on the rack but didnā€™t punish them.

ā€˜The players have taken a good bit of stick, and I have too. They know what they have to do and I donā€™t think they will be found wanting.ā€™

As for the Senior footballers, Doyle posed the question: ā€˜if Matty Forde didnā€™t get injured, what if?ā€™

ā€˜We would have settled for that at the start of the year. Weā€™re not complaining, but the further we went, it cost even more. The longer we were in it, the better, as far as Iā€™m concerned. Thereā€™s no point being out in the summer and saying weā€™ve a whole lot of money,ā€™ he said.

Doyle said the effort put in by Jason Ryan was ā€˜just unrealā€™, adding that he hopes he doesnā€™t burn himself out in five or six years. ā€˜Thereā€™s great hope going forward in 2009.ā€™

The Chairman added that nearly all of the inter-county selection committees are now in place, and ā€˜we are going to go at the Under-21 hurling after Christmasā€™.

ā€˜Iā€™m very hopeful for our teams. I believe we are going to go places and I believe Wexford will bring back silverware.ā€™

Turning to the local championships, Doyle expressed his disappointment at the unwillingness of clubs to change the structures for 2009 after the Board went through an exhaustive consultation process. ā€˜The G.A.A. can be afraid of change, but I guarantee that the championships will be played in May, that there will be meaningful games, and that they will be played when they are supposed to, at the time of best advantage to the clubs.ā€™

Doyle spoke in glowing terms of the advances made by the coaching office, saying that 'it will bring the games forward so much, itā€™s unbelievable. We have been getting great feedback already on how the scheme has improved.

ā€˜We re-educated our FS workers and the word coming back from the schools is favourable. We werenā€™t fair to them in the past as we hadnā€™t the time to educate them and left them on their own. Theyā€™re happier now too as theyā€™re not left to their own devices.ā€™

Doyle announced that a small stand will be put in St. Patrickā€™s Park as ā€˜thereā€™s days when weā€™ll need itā€™. He said it would be ā€˜nothing elaborate, just something for people to stand under in the rainā€™. Thanks were bestowed on Sheamus Howlin and the Leinster Council for the grants to improve the Enniscorthy venue and for the generosity shown to the clubs of the county. ā€˜Remember, you are entitled to money if you are doing the work,ā€™ he noted.

Referring to the urban areas, Doyle said that Mick Kinsella and his team were doing a lot of work in Wexford at the moment.

He also mentioned the town of Enniscorthy and the fact that a ā€˜little bitā€™ was being done in Gorey, while they were ā€˜going intoā€™ New Ross. ā€˜The biggest challenge is to get the urban areas back up, and thereā€™s a lot of work to be done.ā€™

We could have a Sourthern meet up, weā€™d look after ye here in Cork.

I think that game has been changed to Sunday now, which is a pity, ill still be heading though

[quote=ā€œpadjoā€]Here lad this thread is about Wexford gaa, you should only post on it you know something about the subject matter, you obviously donā€™t. Go to a few league games or god forbid club games you might learn something. For a start if Ger had stayed at home and done his job like Jason the underage convention might not have ended in such acrimony. He caused the mess so the least he could have done was try and sort it out. But sure these days chairman Ger and messes seem to go hand and hand.

Now what was your insightful phrase again? Oh yeah,

Clown

Clown

Clown

:D[/quote]

Okay ā€œladā€.

You made some ridiculous point about Ger staying home to help Jason Ryan with an inter district tourney - you made no mention of the under age thing.

Why should I go to matches? You donā€™t have to go games to have an opinion on them.

Clown.