from what i hear the team are still training 4 nights a week⌠lets just hope and pray it will stand to us come may and june
Is this a Wum
[quote=âHBV*â]are Wexford just a summer team or were they just a flash in the pan?
shocking reversal for them this year so far.[/quote]
Thats a strange question from a Limerick Man?
i donât get Mary.
are you saying Lk are a summer team or are you saying Lk were a flash in the pan?
either way ill take it as a compliment
This training line is quite amusing to me. When we were getting beaten early on in the league, it was because we hadnât been training. Now, itâs because weâre overtraining. One way or the other, there were players yesterday who werenât trying hard enough. Everybody in the camp from David OâLeary through to all the players needs to undertake a bit of self-analysis.
On a more positive note, I think the hurlersâ win yesterday ensures that we canât be relegated to Division 3. Our shooting was also much improved on the last day, as our 20 wides surely emphasises.
Fuck sake.
[quote=âBandageâ]This training line is quite amusing to me. When we were getting beaten early on in the league, it was because we hadnât been training. Now, itâs because weâre overtraining. One way or the other, there were players yesterday who werenât trying hard enough. Everybody in the camp from David OâLeary through to all the players needs to undertake a bit of self-analysis.
On a more positive note, I think the hurlersâ win yesterday ensures that we canât be relegated to Division 3. Our shooting was also much improved on the last day, as our 20 wides surely emphasises.
Fuck sake.[/quote]
The hurlers shot 20 wides? Holy fook.
The only positive thing Iâm taking from all this crap is that 2009 could be the cheapest year for us Wexford fans to follow our county.
Did I hear Spratt mention yesterday that Red Barry was back? We have to beat Fermanagh to have any chance of having a decent summer. If we lose to them I can see Kildare hockeying us again and then morale being so low that we wonât give a shite about the qualifiers and be finished footballing in June. Bit of a disgrace after last year but its classic second season syndrome. Iâve seen them 3 or 4 times this year and theyâre like a completely different side from last year. They donât seem up for the fight at all. Very worrying.
According to this team, Mick Jacob started at wing back, Ciaran Kenny at midfield and David Redmond at corner forward? Doesnt seem right.
By wexford 2-19 down 0-12
Monday March 30 2009
Wexford cruised to a 13-point win over Down in windy Ballygalget yesterday.
The winners were always in control and dominated throughout the field.
Despite shooting 11 wides in the first half they lobbed over some brilliant points with Paul Carley in excellent scoring form from play and frees while Rory Jacob impressed.
Assisted by the strong breeze, Carley lobbed over four points in the opening seven minutes to set the trend of the game
SCORERS â Wexford: P Carley 0-9 (6f), R Jacob 0-5, A Shore, S Banville 1-0 each, C Farrell 0-2, D Lyng, D Redmond, M Jacob 0-1 each. Down: S Wilson 0-3 (1 65), P Braniff 0-2 (2f), M Ennis, K McGarry, C Woods, S Ennis, A Savage 0-1 each.
Wexford â D Fitzhenry; MTravers, D OâConnor, A OâConnell; M Jacob, S Nolan, D Stamp; C Farrell, C Kenny; P Carley, A Shore, D Lyng; D Redmond, S Banville, R Jacob. Subs: S Doyle for Nolan (y/c, 22); B OâLeary for Stamp (52); E Martin for Banville (60); N Kirwan for Farrell (67).
Down â Gr Clarke; C OâPrey, A Dynes, S Ennis; F Conway, Ga Clarke, M Ennis; A Savage, S Wilson; C Coulter, P Braniff, K McGarry; C Woods, R McGrattan, E Clarke. Subs: A Higgins for McGrattan (47); J Coyle for Clarke (47); D Flynn for Savage (y/c, 50); S Johnson for Dynes (52); E Trainor for Woods (65).
Ref â B. Gavin (Offaly)
The times have the same team. Didnt think Ciaran Kenny was even a relation of an intercounty midfielder, let alone playing there himself.
hmm 20 wides is normal enought for the wexford forwards of past few years⌠its a joke⌠wouldnt see 20 wides been hit in a junior club game
[quote=âHBV*â]i donât get Mary.
are you saying Lk are a summer team or are you saying Lk were a flash in the pan?
either way ill take it as a compliment[/quote]
[B][I]are LIMERICK just a summer team or were they just a flash in the pan?
shocking reversal for them this year so far. [/I][/B]
Maybe its a question you should ask yourself and the nocursingLimerickSupportersClub
[quote=âMairegangaireâ][B][I]are LIMERICK just a summer team or were they just a flash in the pan?
shocking reversal for them this year so far. [/I][/B]
Maybe its a question you should ask yourself and the nocursingLimerickSupportersClub[/quote]
id say we are about where we were last year, probably a decimal point or two in the forward direction.
you are raving.
Mac, I think Redâs back in 2 weeks. Not sure what Spratt said - my auld lad told me he was talking some scheidt in commentary when it started to go pear shaped again.
[quote=âHBV*â]id say we are about where we were last year, probably a decimal point or two in the forward direction.
you are raving.[/quote]
Nope, but Iâd say you are
Funniest thing of the whole game though was him talking to the lads when yer man hit his head off the advertising hoarding -
Spratt: Thereâs no sign of yer man getting up lads is there?
Billy: No Liam, no sign of any movement out of him at all?
Spratt: What happened Seamie?
Seamie: I donât know Liam, but the signs donât look good for him
Spratt: He looks unconscious lads, well heâs not moving so I presume heâs unconscious. Definitely no sign of improvement for him anyway.
Reddin is a hardy fooker, but I hope that injury doesnt rule him out of Sunday U21 Final. Pure farmer god bless him.
Good Counsel College New Ross 1-12
Gort Community School 0-11
Went to see this in Templemore on Saturday,good game with lots of quality hurling and an exciting finish,the breeze played a big part in proceedings with Gort flying out of the blocks when playing with it in the 1st half,they had 4 points on the board after around 7 minutes,forwards like M Cummins and C Cooney looked ultra sharp,Good Counsel kept in touch mainly due to Ger Aylward who hit 2 great points from play and was fouled for another score,the half time score of Gort 0-09 GCC 0-04 could have been a lot worse for the Wexford men had Gort not missed a very scoreable 1-3 in the 1st half.The 2nd half wasnt long on when Matthew O Hanlon who was flying got the line for a 2nd yellow card,he could have no complaints really,a straight red was in order for the off the ball offence he commited.It looked like this might end GCCs challenge but on the other hand they dug in aided by the breeze and ground out a great victory,goal poacher Declan Murphy scored 1-1 in a 3 minute spell to get his side within a point before both free takers traded scores,with 5 minutes left GCC were one down but finished very strongly(as in all other games in this Cship) to score 5 points without reply,James Csssin equalised from a free before Walter Walsh,Matt Crowdle and 2 from Ger Aylward(1 from a lineball) sent GCC into a Colleges A hurling final for the 1st time in 12 Years and only the second time in thier history.They face a daunting task against Thurles CBS whom i havent seen but they are supposed to be a class act,a step up in performance is needed but they have the players to make that improvement.Best for GCC on Saturday were Carlow Keeper Kevin Kehoe who got plenty to do and was solid,Full back James Breen,Centre back Joe Lyng and wing backs Ian Duggan and Matt Coady,Matthew O Hanlon was lording midfield before being dismissed,up front Ger Aylward was excellent despite being double marked for most of the 2nd half,Declan Murphy continues to get the goals and Walter Walsh was good at times.
Any complaints about the lads on the line this time Link or have their decisions improved?
To be fair to them they didnt do anything mental on Saturday,they did all the right things i thought,put Lorcan French on after half time but he didnt go well and they had the balls to take him off again,moving Walter Walsh to full forward and bringing out Ger Aylward in the last 10 minutes won the game for them,id reckon Walsh should be full forward all the time,hes a savage athlete who stands at around 6ft 4ins and causes mayhem around the square.I hope they treat this Thurles CBS team with caution and drop back Ian Duggan to corner back,put Matthew O Hanlon back to centre back and restore Joe Lyng to wing back,defence is the first point of attack,they need to shore up the defence a bit for the big test thats coming,i hope they see this themselves.
The standards of the schools competitions seem all over the place to me. Isnât it time to scrap the differnent Vocâs and colleges comps?
Was talking to a guy from Clonakilty who saw their crowd get hammered yesterday in Vocâs âAâ semi final by a school from Tyrone. Having played against St. Factnas and the likes this year he thought this Tyrone crowd would easily beat any of the good colleges sides in Cork/Kerry. Its stupid that they donât just join up and run it with 3 or 4 big divisions.
Traditionally in the South the Colleges were way stronger than the Vocâs. I think this is changing, certainly down my end of the world.
dont know about that Caoimhaoin. In wexford the colleges are still far far superior to the vocational schools. In my last year in school we played a county vocational side in a challenge match and beat them handy with only half of our first team playing. They went on to lose the AI final that year. vast difference there anyway, that being about 10 years or so ago now tho.
Gobshites
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2009/0402/1224243862914.html
Hurling bust misses the cut
No plans to move Ulster clash from Healy ParkGPA fight to maintain grantsArmagh and Down reach finalJOHNNY WATTERSONWERE BESIDE ourselves trying to think of an appropriate analogy. A bust of Ronan OGara poised to shoot the rugby ball from outside for a three-pointer; A carved Roger Federer holding his racquet with the gip of a Chinese table tennis player; Bernard Dunne, in bronze, with his right leg striking out . . .hah, so!
For the Wexford players of 1968, theirs was a glorious year as the Model County won both the All-Ireland senior and minor hurling titles for the first and only time.
Last year, being the 40th anniversary of that achievement, those senior and minor teams were honoured, or, as is now the allegation, dishonoured by the Wexford County Board during half-time of last Septembers hurling final.
Unforgettably, or, unforgivably the presentation left the 1968 team aghast and insulted by what they received to mark the achievement.
Not for them a trophy of a hot -blooded Gael fetching a high ball but the more considered study of a golfer.
Nicely balanced, calm in demeanour, the figurine is unmistakably addressing the ball in a typical golfing stance.
Replete with golfing shoes, tidy ankle socks, golfing top with fashionably elasticated cuffs and shorts, the morphed memento shows a hurley artistically welded to his hands and a sliothar at his feet.
I would not even put this with my trophy collection. I never subsequently took it out of the box, said corner back of the 68 side Ned Colfer after the queasy reality dawned on him. Its a trophy I dont care if I never see again.
Maybe the county board believed no one would notice but as the cast figure holds the hurley with the right hand some inches below the left in preparation for a golf shot, the optics certainly seem more Carnoustie than Croke Park.
For an organisation that does the most original line in culture and heritage, as Colfer says, they could have done better.
Adding that the Wexford team was not like Kilkenny, winning All-Irelands every other year, the controversy has thrown up a curious thought.
Up there in his bespoke Dublin house among the vast collection of baubles that is Pdraig Harringtons trophy room, stands a hurler with a big-bossed lump of a driver swinging from the hip.
Its no wonder the Wexford hurlers are brutal if theyâre using the grip and gear shown below
[quote=âGeorgy Comerfordâ]
For the Wexford players of 1968, theirs was a glorious year as the Model County won both the All-Ireland senior and minor hurling titles for the first and only time.
Last year, being the 40th anniversary of that achievement, those senior and minor teams were honoured, or, as is now the allegation, dishonoured by the Wexford County Board during half-time of last Septembers hurling final.
Unforgettably, or, unforgivably the presentation left the 1968 team aghast and insulted by what they received to mark the achievement.
Not for them a trophy of a hot -blooded Gael fetching a high ball but the more considered study of a golfer.
Nicely balanced, calm in demeanour, the figurine is unmistakably addressing the ball in a typical golfing stance.
Replete with golfing shoes, tidy ankle socks, golfing top with fashionably elasticated cuffs and shorts, the morphed memento shows a hurley artistically welded to his hands and a sliothar at his feet.
I would not even put this with my trophy collection. I never subsequently took it out of the box, said corner back of the 68 side Ned Colfer after the queasy reality dawned on him. Its a trophy I dont care if I never see again.
Maybe the county board believed no one would notice but as the cast figure holds the hurley with the right hand some inches below the left in preparation for a golf shot, the optics certainly seem more Carnoustie than Croke Park.
For an organisation that does the most original line in culture and heritage, as Colfer says, they could have done better.
Adding that the Wexford team was not like Kilkenny, winning All-Irelands every other year, the controversy has thrown up a curious thought.
Up there in his bespoke Dublin house among the vast collection of baubles that is Pdraig Harringtons trophy room, stands a hurler with a big-bossed lump of a driver swinging from the hip.
Its no wonder the Wexford hurlers are brutal if theyâre using the grip and gear shown below[/quote]
[SIZE=2]If Carlsberg did fuck-upsâŚ
The Wexford County Board would still outdo them!
This reminds me of the episode of The Simpsons where Marge has a statue in her honour, erected by Mayor Quimby, which originally was one of Jimmy Carter with an extension for her hair welded on top!
Another simple task grossly and shoddily mishandled by the County Board. Nothing new there.[/SIZE]