Serious gutsy display by Counsel. Some real leaders for them around the half-back line/midfield. Hard one for them to stomach alright. Some really classy hurlers on the Thurles team though, especially in the forwards. Could have gone either way in the end but that extra bit of scoring power for Thurles the difference.
anyone any idea who the last sub who came on for the counsel was tv said g.foley but it deff wasnt him
A typical Tipperary touch of bullshit there. āMy own alma mater and my own son playing at number 15ā.
The missed frees and missed penalty cost Counsel in the end. Think Thurles were slightly the better team. Ball into the Counsel forwards was shocking bad at times. Great game by Lyng who made 2 unreal high catches. Impressed by the full back, Breen also.
Good to get there, better to win it. Ah well.
[quote=āBoxtyeaterā]Iām a bitn pissed CLG and have been joined by junior ministers who love theirhdkmsdjvgkdjfb but the endddd of your post is un(fuck off) clear.
If you are single CLG stay that way.
Children are bad enough but G/c aaaarrgh[/quote]
Jaysus
Disappointing end to the counsel game yesterday anyway. A game they could well have won. Bit odd to change Cassin off the frees after he missed a couple, but then scored, and then O Hanlon missed his one. Forwards never really got going for them really. Declan Murphy didnt get enough ball into him, and they seemed to try target their full back, but Wally Walsh wasnt really on song either. They had very nippy forwards and was suprised to see not one tactical change to try counter act their right corner forward who was having a field day. A real shame they couldnt pull it off, but good to see them get there and play a very good game. Lyng at wing back was excellent, as was Duggan and Matt O hanlon. Aylward showed a lot of class, but messed up a few times too.
That was Conor Joyce(Rower/Inistioge),hed have started if they had chanced playing a fella who could actually hurl ahead of a footballer wearing a helmet.
Yep, couldnāt believe they didnāt try one of the other defenders on the corner forward who was doing nearly all the damage. The lad on him was game and trying his best but finding it a real struggle.
Very dissapointed to see Good Counsel lose this game that maybe they should have won,im blue in the face saying it on here that GCCs full back line wasnt up to the task of these Thurles forwards and was praying last Week that GCCs line would have the brains to put Ian Duggan back to corner back to mark Michael O Brien,the Tipp man is a savage forward at this level but he had it easy Yesterday on a man who has stuggled on every forward who has marked him in this competition,to call it unbelieveable that M Furlong wasnt moved off O Brien in the 60 minutes would be understating things,i knew they wouldnt have the brains to hurl from the back.About the game,GCC hung in well for most of the match and had more than theyre fair share of chances to win it,on the day the forwards didnt really fire,Ger Aylward is capable of a lot more from play and placed balls and while Walter Walsh looked dangerous he won nothing in the last 20 minutes which was dissapointing from a man of his talents,
at the back James Breen,Matthew O Hanlon,Ian Duggan and Alan Nolan hurled very well,the forwards tipped away without anyone hurling to thier true potential,maybe they werent let,it was an excellent performance from Thurles CBS.Two things to finish up,Thurles CBS poached Michael O Brien from somewhere else last September,thats shite at this level,GCC dont do that nowadays for that alone the wrong team won.Secondly my clubmate Joe Lyng had some game Yesterday,he was a joy to watch,what a hardy fucker with hands like glue and serious stuff in him,he should be a shoe in for the Kilkenny minor team now without ever going to the develepment squads that the Kilkenny CB insist you must be part of or you wont be eligable for selection,they broke thier rules by calling him into the panel after 3 brilliant performances prior to Yesterday,im an opponant of these under age develepment squads,clubs can develep thier own players just fine,Joe Lyng is proof of that.Good Counsel lost this on the line.
[quote=āTHE LINK WALSHā]Very dissapointed to see Good Counsel lose this game that maybe they should have won,im blue in the face saying it on here that GCCs full back line wasnt up to the task of these Thurles forwards and was praying last Week that GCCs line would have the brains to put Ian Duggan back to corner back to mark Michael O Brien,the Tipp man is a savage forward at this level but he had it easy Yesterday on a man who has stuggled on every forward who has marked him in this competition,to call it unbelieveable that M Furlong wasnt moved off O Brien in the 60 minutes would be understating things,i knew they wouldnt have the brains to hurl from the back.About the game,GCC hung in well for most of the match and had more than theyre fair share of chances to win it,on the day the forwards didnt really fire,Ger Aylward is capable of a lot more from play and placed balls and while Walter Walsh looked dangerous he won nothing in the last 20 minutes which was dissapointing from a man of his talents,
at the back James Breen,Matthew O Hanlon,Ian Duggan and Alan Nolan hurled very well,the forwards tipped away without anyone hurling to thier true potential,maybe they werent let,it was an excellent performance from Thurles CBS.Two things to finish up,Thurles CBS poached Michael O Brien from somewhere else last September,thats shite at this level,GCC dont do that nowadays for that alone the wrong team won.Secondly my clubmate Joe Lyng had some game Yesterday,he was a joy to watch,what a hardy fucker with hands like glue and serious stuff in him,he should be a shoe in for the Kilkenny minor team now without ever going to the develepment squads that the Kilkenny CB insist you must be part of or you wont be eligable for selection,they broke thier rules by calling him into the panel after 3 brilliant performances prior to Yesterday,im an opponant of these under age develepment squads,clubs can develep thier own players just fine,Joe Lyng is proof of that.Good Counsel lost this on the line.[/quote]
Is yer man Lyng one of the Lyng motor sales boyos?
Nope,the Rower is full of Lyngs,hes a 2nd cousin of Kilkenny hurler Derek Lyng whos a Rower man aswell really only for his da emigrating to Urlingford weād be Senior now:confused:
Looks like he could be a serious prospect when he fills out a bitā¦
Iām eagerly awaiting Sundayās derby clash with Carlow in Wexford Park. Our team is:
D. Flynn;
M. Travers, P. Roche, A. OāConnell;
M. Jacob, S. Nolan, D. Stamp;
D. Redmond, C. Kenny;
D. Lyng, A. Shore, P. Carley;
R. Jacob, S.Banville, P. Kenny.
Pat Kenny, a cousin of Ciaran, is making his debut at corner forward. The last few years have been characterised by a load of fannying around when it comes to injuries. Paul Roche returns at full back after initial reports suggested he would require further knee surgery after the first operation wasnāt a success.
Thereās also rumours floating around that Barry Lambertās due to begin light training with St Martinās even though itās been widely reported that heāll be having a shoulder operation that will rule him out for the year.
The minors footballers beat pre-championship favourites Kilkenny by 3-19 to 0-5 today. We await the winners of Wicklow and Kildare in the quarter final.
Kildare 4-19 Wicklow 0-5ā¦or thereabouts.
Was out tonight in Wexico and myself and my TFK astro team comrade Stevie G have decided weāre going to have a huge summer blow out on the day we play Offaly in the park in the Leinster quarter final.
Basically, our sessionās gonna kick off/throw in at lunchtime, even though the gameās on at 7pm, and weāre having a barbeque and a piss up and everyone on TFK is welcome. Itās Saturday, 30th May, 2009 and people need to be there at 12pm.
We live beside each other in Wexford town (only 5 minutes walk from Wexford Park) but weāre eager to get pissed early doors so weāre in good spirits ahead of the game.
Mac, Pikeman, art, cookie, Menapian, cailinlochgarman, gavin, tiger, Jugs, cesc4, Appendage, Gman, bainne, superleeds - this is our time. Text me closer to the date for an address. I fooking hate Offaly - we need to be vicious in the stands to intimidate those cunts and being pissed will help in that regard.
Forza Wexford.
[quote=āBandageā]Was out tonight in Wexico and myself and my TFK astro team comrade Stevie G have decided weāre going to have a huge summer blow out on the day we play Offaly in the park in the Leinster quarter final.
Basically, our sessionās gonna kick off/throw in at lunchtime, even though the gameās on at 7pm, and weāre having a barbeque and a piss up and everyone on TFK is welcome. Itās Saturday, 30th May, 2009 and people need to be there at 12pm.
We live beside each other in Wexford town (only 5 minutes walk from Wexford Park) but weāre eager to get pissed early doors so weāre in good spirits ahead of the game.
Mac, Pikeman, art, cookie, Menapian, cailinlochgarman, gavin, tiger, Jugs, cesc4, Appendage, Gman, bainne, superleeds - this is our time. Text me closer to the date for an address. I fooking hate Offaly - we need to be vicious in the stands to intimidate those cunts and being pissed will help in that regard.
Forza Wexford.[/quote]
Cheers for the invite Bandage. Townie prick.
[quote=āBandageā]Was out tonight in Wexico and myself and my TFK astro team comrade Stevie G have decided weāre going to have a huge summer blow out on the day we play Offaly in the park in the Leinster quarter final.
Forza Wexford.[/quote]
if you get tbone steaks in for the bbq then im in
Forza Wexford.[/quote]
What happened to the TFK social event in Cara Droma Ruisc the same weekend?
You disgust me.
Anyone at this? Iām down west for the weekend.