Wexford GAA 2009

The football championship kicks off next weekend, any thoughts or predictions?

Nice handy draw for Ballyhogue and the Duffry there.

24/04/2009 WFC Senior Football Cship A SHELMALIERS -V- ST. ANNE’S Piercestown 6.30 Shels
24/04/2009 WFC Senior Football Cship A DUFFRY ROVERS -V- FETHARD O’Kennedy Park 6.30 Duffry
24/04/2009 WFC Senior Football Cship B BANNOW/BALLYMITTY -V- ST. MARTIN’S Taghmon 6.30 Bannow
25/04/2009 WFC Senior Football Cship D KILANERIN -V- STARLIGHTS Monamolin 6.30 Kilanerin
25/04/2009 WFC Senior Football Cship D BALLYHOGUE -V- SARSFIELDS Oylegate 3.30 Ballyhogue
26/04/2009 WFC Senior Football Cship B CLONGEEN -V- ADAMSTOWN O’ Kennedy Park 2.00 Adamstown
26/04/2009 WFC Senior Football Cship C GUSSERANE -V- HORESWOOD O’ Kennedy Park 3.30 Gusserane

[quote=“padjo”]The football championship kicks off next weekend, any thoughts or predictions?

Nice handy draw for Ballyhogue and the Duffry there.

24/04/2009 WFC Senior Football Cship A SHELMALIERS -V- ST. ANNE’S Piercestown 6.30 Shels
24/04/2009 WFC Senior Football Cship A DUFFRY ROVERS -V- FETHARD O’Kennedy Park 6.30 Duffry
24/04/2009 WFC Senior Football Cship B BANNOW/BALLYMITTY -V- ST. MARTIN’S Taghmon 6.30 Bannow
25/04/2009 WFC Senior Football Cship D KILANERIN -V- STARLIGHTS Monamolin 6.30 Kilanerin
25/04/2009 WFC Senior Football Cship D BALLYHOGUE -V- SARSFIELDS Oylegate 3.30 Ballyhogue
26/04/2009 WFC Senior Football Cship B CLONGEEN -V- ADAMSTOWN O’ Kennedy Park 2.00 Adamstown
26/04/2009 WFC Senior Football Cship C GUSSERANE -V- HORESWOOD O’ Kennedy Park 3.30 Gusserane[/quote]

im leaning towards duffry rovers vs fethard but it all depends on which fethard shows up on the day - if focussed & up for it they have it in them to win but if things start going against them early doors they are liable to go through the motions

Very insightful post there Ncc, never knew you followed the wexford football scene so closely

The Sarsfields should dispose of Ballyhogue, especially now Paul Murphy (brother of Jason) is back from Ipswich Town after walking out on his contract due to the sectarian abuse he suffered at the hands of Jim Magilton’s coaching staff. He got a nifty hat-trick in the league against Bannow last week - Sars will be unstoppable.

PS, padjo - you’re invited to the summer blow out. Tinnion, you’re not.

wx leading carlow 1-3 to 0-3, carlow have just hit 3 in a row

3-3 to 0-3

kenny with 2 goals, lyng with the other. kenny’s 2nd is apparently a beautiful flick

5-9 to 0-7 HT

Again, hard to judge Wexford’s level given the standard of the opposition today. One of the things they’re concentrating on is tackling and workrate as a unit and that was good with a lot of dispossessions, hooking and blocking.

Andrew Shore looked the part again and Stephen Banville set up a couple of goals and scored one himself with his aerial strength. Pat Kenny had a nice debut and bagged himself a hat-trick - 2 were rebounds but the middle goal was a superb flick/volley from a Shore delivery.

Dermot Flynn made a good double save in the first half (when Carlow missed a fair few chances and should have been closer), Paul Roche made a solid return and Mick Jacob and Ciaran Kenny were good on the wings. Darren Stamp didn’t make it so David Redmond and Stephen Doyle played midfield and were mixed enough.

Rory Jacob also looked sharp but Paul Carley and Gizzy Lyng have had better days. Stephen Nolan was okay at centre back and Travers and O’Connell didn’t do too much either - Carlow played with a sweeper in the first half and only had two men inside so that backfired.

All in all, we’re looking clinical enough (albeit at a lower level) and we have decent variation in our play with the long ball to Banville mixed with low and crossfield stuff to Jacob and others. Shore showed good vision and point taking ability too. Still look a bit lightweight overall and we could do with Stamp and Rossiter coming back in.

Scorers:
Pat Kenny (3-3), Rory Jacob (1-4), Stephen Banville (1-1), Paul Carley (0-4, 0-3F), Gizzy Lyng (1-0), Andrew Shore (0-3), Stephen Doyle (0-2), David Redmond (0-2), Ciaran Kenny (0-1), Peter Atkinson (0-1).

Was he the lad that played wing forward against Kilkenny in 2004 or was that Ray Carley

27 goals so far in the league, that is fair good going

[quote=“The Puke”]Was he the lad that played wing forward against Kilkenny in 2004 or was that Ray Carley

27 goals so far in the league, that is fair good going[/quote]

Yep, that was Paul Carley - he scored a great goal against Offaly in the Leinster Final that year. A good club forward and usually deadly accurate from frees but will possibly be struggling to mix it with the best at championship time.

Would I be right in saying that he has played in goals for Wexford as well, or was sub goalie at one stage

Yep, he was sub goalie for a period alright. Would have played in goal for Wexford at minor level but played outfield the year Limerick beat us in the All-Ireland U21 final. I can’t think offhand of (m)any senior games he started in goal but he might have played the odd league game in Fitzhenry’s absence.

[quote=“Bandage”]Again, hard to judge Wexford’s level given the standard of the opposition today. One of the things they’re concentrating on is tackling and workrate as a unit and that was good with a lot of dispossessions, hooking and blocking.

Andrew Shore looked the part again and Stephen Banville set up a couple of goals and scored one himself with his aerial strength. Pat Kenny had a nice debut and bagged himself a hat-trick - 2 were rebounds but the middle goal was a superb flick/volley from a Shore delivery.

Dermot Flynn made a good double save in the first half (when Carlow missed a fair few chances and should have been closer), Paul Roche made a solid return and Mick Jacob and Ciaran Kenny were good on the wings. Darren Stamp didn’t make it so David Redmond and Stephen Doyle played midfield and were mixed enough.

Rory Jacob also looked sharp but Paul Carley and Gizzy Lyng have had better days. Stephen Nolan was okay at centre back and Travers and O’Connell didn’t do too much either - Carlow played with a sweeper in the first half and only had two men inside so that backfired.

All in all, we’re looking clinical enough (albeit at a lower level) and we have decent variation in our play with the long ball to Banville mixed with low and crossfield stuff to Jacob and others. Shore showed good vision and point taking ability too. Still look a bit lightweight overall and we could do with Stamp and Rossiter coming back in.

Scorers:
Pat Kenny (3-3), Rory Jacob (1-4), Stephen Banville (1-1), Paul Carley (0-4, 0-3F), Gizzy Lyng (1-0), Andrew Shore (0-3), Stephen Doyle (0-2), David Redmond (0-2), Ciaran Kenny (0-1), Peter Atkinson (0-1).[/quote]

Lyng should be midfield or in the half back line I reckon. What do ya think? Cant see him scoring too much from play

Bandage, thanks for the invite but is it safe to venture into your estate after all the beatings we gave ye?

We could have a auld match on the green for old times sake, junpers for goal posts ? I would not mind busting the car window for that wan who ran over me dog ! poor skip.

More important -

Is this Kenny another midget or is he a decent size ? Kennys would normally be hardy enough lads ?

Cookie

great to see a nice score on the board again today and hopefully the sign of better things to come … with the next 2 competitive games against the biffos… cant wait for us to hammer the fooks… tryin to get few biffos down for that eve should be a gud night in town post game…

as carlow neighbours kilkenny what is the reason for KK been so good at stick hurling & carlow been so bad- are there not a few villages close to the kilkenny border that play it?

Carlows best club would be St.Mullins which borders both Wexford and Kilkenny as far as i know …

That is a very good question, haven’t a clue to be honest I presume the Kilkenny/Wexford lads on here would be better placed to answer it

[quote=“cookie”]More important -

Is this Kenny another midget or is he a decent size ? Kennys would normally be hardy enough lads ?

Cookie[/quote]

Pat Kenny is a midget alright, unfortunately. Tidy debut but I got the feeling he’d get horsed out of it against better teams. 2 of the goals were straightforward rebounds but he was alert to finish them anyway. Ciaran Kenny’s been hurling well in the games I’ve been at this season too.

any idea why carlow are so bad at stick hurling compared to kilkenny bandage?