Wexford GAA 2010

[quote=ā€œGavin 2ā€]Didnā€™t hear how match went Vs Ballyhale, just got the team.

D.Flynn
B.Kehoe R.Oā€™Connor B.Keny
J.Oā€™Neill C.Kenny R.Kehoe
P.Nolan Travers (not sure if it was Brendan Or Malachy, this is just a just text off the brother)
P.Kelly T.Waters PJ.Nolan
P.Athkinson D.Stamp P.Kenny

Out of that and the team Vs Limerick, you wouldnā€™t pick a championship team. At least lads are getting a chance now though![/QUOTE]

All right Gavin 2? Tell the original Gavin I was asking for him.

Agree on your point about a championship team.

From the above team, who are J. Oā€™Neill and P. Nolan? Probably obvious but itā€™s not jumping out at me.

[quote=ā€œBandageā€]New year, same fearful, ultra defensive shite.

I wouldnā€™t mind seeing a Plan B when we go behind and have to get scores and when 13 men behind the ball isnā€™t working.

Positives were Joey Wadding looking pretty competent at the back and Ben Brosnan got a few good scores and looked dangerous.

No Sarsfields player on the panel.

Not good enough, Jason.[/QUOTE]

just back from the game via the pub. Of the new lads I thought wadding was good, as was brosnan in patches. personally i reckon carthy is too small for inter county, while kinsella and and byrne are way too slow. our free taking was brutal today but should improve with a few forwards returning. Rumour has it that matty is injured but still managing to play indoor soccer twice a weekā€¦

Do you know if many of our lads are tied up with colleges for this? I know Ciarn Lyng was meant to be playing for UCD today but I canā€™t think of any others off hand.

Shane Roche i presuem was playing with DCU todayā€¦

[quote=ā€œBandageā€]I predict that weā€™ll score less than 0-7.

I think Dublin are going with an experimental side but Iā€™m guessing 1-12 to 0-5.[/QUOTE]

You werent far off here Bando,anyone at the hurling match?

Great to see a rake of new lads getting a chance with the hurlers anyway.
Missed the football on the box as I was soccering but I heard we werenā€™t good at all.
Is DOC on the panel?

[quote=ā€œBandageā€]All right Gavin 2? Tell the original Gavin I was asking for him.

Agree on your point about a championship team.

From the above team, who are J. Oā€™Neill and P. Nolan? Probably obvious but itā€™s not jumping out at me.[/QUOTE]

Alright Bandage, both Gavinā€™s say hello!

Those 2 are John Oā€™Neill and Patrick Nolan, both are from Duffry Rovers!

[quote=ā€œGavin 2ā€]Alright Bandage, both Gavinā€™s say hello!

Those 2 are John Oā€™Neill and Patrick Nolan, both are from Duffry Rovers![/QUOTE]

Thanks. Very experimental teams all right - I suppose itā€™s the time of year to be giving these fringe players and young players a few games though.

Will that lovable auld scamp Jim Berry be anywhere close to the starting team come championship???

Yeah i suppose itā€™s good to see, weā€™d be giving out otherwise. Any reports from the camp this year as reards to how things are going?

I donā€™ think Jim wil be too far off it. Fine hurler, just needs to settle down and hold his own instead of running around like a headless chicken. Heā€™ll be well able for it!

Plenty of talk that the magnificent Damien Fitzhenry might be calling it a day. As ever, the intrepid Brendan Furlong is on the case:

http://www.wexfordpeople.ie/sport/hurling/fitzys-future-unclear-2023869.html

Fitzyā€™s future unclear

SINCE 1993, Damien Fitzhenry has been the first name on the Wexford hurling teamsheet. Now one of the gameā€™s leading netminders is being allowed do his own talking as to his inter-county future. Following the dreadful spell of weather, Wexford teams have returned to action in preparation for the Walsh Cup and National League but there has been no sign of the Duffry Rovers clubman as Colm Bonnar steps up his preparations.

Clearly the future of Fitzhenry was the main talking point at weekend games, but the team manager has gone some of the way in casting more light on his future or if there is to be one.

ā€˜I have not spoken with Damien, but Iā€™ll be meeting up with him this week for a chat,ā€™ he said.

'Clearly itā€™s an issue for Damien as to whether he has the appetite for another season. Itā€™s really up to him. The decision is his to make.

'Perhaps after this week weā€™ll know more. At the moment we have three ā€˜keepers in and will continue our preparations with them, but still Damienā€™s experience would be invaluable to the squad.ā€™

Last weekend it was the turn of his understudy, Dermot Flynn, and last yearā€™s Minor netminder, Mark Fanning (GlynnBarntown), to lay their claim for the No. 1 jersey should Fitzhenry decide to step down from the inter-county scene.

Meanwhile, Bonnar was delighted to have got his crew back on the playing fields with games against Limerick and Ballyhale Shamrocks last weekend.

ā€˜It was important to see as many players as we could over the weekend. We had some players unavailable through exams, Fitzgibbon and Sigerson Cup training, but we also have some regulars still to come back in,ā€™ he said.

'We want to make sure we have the 30 best hurlers in training and competing for places come the end of the month. This will create competition for places, with the result that training is far more intense.

In other news, All-Ireland winning 1996 full-forward Garry Laffan has been added to the Wexford Under-21 hurling backroom team, joining Tony Dempsey and Paul Dempsey.

ā–  Wexford Senior hurlers play Waterford tonight (Wednesday) in Horeswood.

:slight_smile:

Longford in Patrickā€™s Park, Enniscorthy tomorrow in the Oā€™Byrne Cup Shield. Heā€™s made 4 changes but I canā€™t remember them exactly. Dylan Kehoe, Niall Murphy, Adrian Morrissey and someone else are in. Colm Morris, Conor Carty, Aindreas Doyle and someone else are out.

Jason Russell for Anthony Masterson (exam commitments) is the other change for todayā€™s mouthwatering clash. Iā€™m going to toddle off to this one in a while so might report back later.

Forza Roma.

Wexford beat Longford by a point with the very last kick of the game-their keeper fumbled a catch and it was dispatched over the bar. Referee played about 10 mins injury time which was strange as there was feck all stoppages.

Wexford are still woeful at winning possession in midfield. Daithi Waters isnā€™t near good enough-catches the odd one but then his footballing skills let him down. Ben Brosnan got most of our scores and dispatched a penalty after Red was taken down in the first half.

Muttley was a liability most of the time-gave away too many frees. Murphy did well again at centre back, Wadding was decent at corner back and Morrissey looked good when the got the ball.
Diarmuid Kinsella started at full forward but doesnā€™t look fit, Paddy Byrne was very poor also. Bradley made abit of difference when he came on too.
Poor enough standard overall-our ball into the forwards isnā€™t near good enough, but at least we look fit enough anyway.

Team- Russell, Wadding, Walsh, Muttley, Kennedy, Murph, Kehoe, Boccy, Waters, Red, Malone, Morrissey, Brosnan, Kinsella, Byrne.
Morris, Carter, Panther, Bradley, Sheehy all came on.

Sounds much the same as last week Pikeman, wadding looks like he will be an addition come championship as does Brosnan even if he is a bit slight. Whose missing off that Wexford team? Lyng, Roche, Foggy, molly, banville, anyone else? (hard to see matty coming back at this stage).

Iā€™d say Matty could be gone alright, maybe a bit part for the year, but hard to see us getting full games out of him.
Ciaran Deeley to come back too Iā€™d say.
Would have been some full forward line if all fit of Lyng, Matty and Brosnan.

Aside from the 7 minutes injury time at the end, the main controversy today was the grey jacket Pikeman was sporting. Apparently the reason for the lengthy time at the end was because of the new rule whereby the ball has to go dead (wide or over the sideline) like in rugby football before the game can end. There was lots of stoppages for frees and plenty of play up and down the park during injury time but the ball never went dead until Flynn fisted it over the bar and that was game over.

I broadly agree with Pikemanā€™s take on things - we didnā€™t get enough midfield possession and Brian Kavanagh was very much the dominant player in that sector. I was pleased with Morrissey and Brosnan up front also but we need our other players back.

Shane Cullen is another absentee who you lads didnā€™t list above - does anybody know his story this year? PJ Banville was kicking the ball around in the warm up but it was the first work heā€™s done and the opening league game will probably come too soon for him. David Fogarty will back in 10 days or so after some back trouble too. Basically, we need Forde back.

Cullen is out injured Bandage, was very diappointed with him last year but at least he can kick frees.