Relax lads ye only have to beat us and were fairly shite. Double header for us in the stadium, lose either and were in relegation trouble.
The usual stop gap was to put Flynn there…don’t think it has ever worked…
Who plays midfield for galway these days?
A complete joke and it was even worse when Quinlivan was hauled down in front of their goal on the 21 & no yellow was shown.
Cunt of a linesman was laughing away to himself going in at the end as well. Is that Waters second red in 48 weeks btw? Thought there was additional punishment for that, no?
Shane Roche runs horrible lines off the ball as well. Pussies out of an awful lot.
If we can win our last two, away to Galway and at home to Laois, and hope that Derry slip up either away to Louth or at home to Westmeath, then we’ll go up.*
- Louth have a chance as well so ideally Derry would defeat them and lose to Westmeath.
Dude, I’m more concerned about going the other way and ending up in Division 3. Our scoring difference is shit now too. Though there’s a Michael Jordan quote about not worrying about what could go wrong and thinking about what might go right. Or something.
[quote=“count of monte cristo, post: 749631, member: 348”]The usual stop gap was to put Flynn there…don’t think it has ever worked…
Who plays midfield for galway these days?[/quote]
Fiontain o curraoin, Niall Coleman, Anthony griffin. Nothing special.
Yeah Galway are -7 and we’re -12. A six-point win would be wonderful next weekend so.
Does head to head not apply?
A 3 point win would get ahead of Galway but I’d say promotion could be a bridge too far at this stage. Could easily have 8 points instead of 5.
Not if 3 or more teams tied.
[quote=“count of monte cristo, post: 749631, member: 348”]The usual stop gap was to put Flynn there…don’t think it has ever worked…
Who plays midfield for galway these days?[/quote]
There was some fat lad there Saturday, never saw the likes of it lining out for Galway as long as I’m seeing them. Think his name might have been Griffin. They were dreadful there for most of the game. Just shambolic.
Was Heslin that bad today lads? Never struck me as a sneaky or dirty player from the times I’ve seen him. A great talent though and the sort of player who could carry that Westmeath team somewhere this year, they’re no great shakes overall, but hard to beat and pulling out wins.
[quote=“myboyblue, post: 749666, member: 180”]There was some fat lad there Saturday, never saw the likes of it lining out for Galway as long as I’m seeing them. Think his name might have been Griffin. They were dreadful there for most of the game. Just shambolic.
Was Heslin that bad today lads? Never struck me as a sneaky or dirty player from the times I’ve seen him. A great talent though and the sort of player who could carry that Westmeath team somewhere this year, they’re no great shakes overall, but hard to beat and pulling out wins.[/quote]
They’ve good forwards.
Only know of heslins rep from westmeath folk ‘an awfully niggly prick’ to quote my source…
Strange in an altercation like the one today, that only one man got carded.
Heslin was outplayed by Waters until his cheating got the former sent off. But he put away the penalty awarded a while after that and kicked some frees so I imagine the national journalists, whose knowledge of mid ranking counties is limited to 2 or 3 players in each side, will go with “Heslin powered Westmeath remain unbeaten”. Waters is one of the best midfielders in the country - outstanding.
I heard he even scored with his bad foot…
Just checked on RTE there and it says Brian O’Shea (Dublin) was the ref. Is he new to the intercounty panel? Can’t remember seeing his name before.
I’ve said it before - the further you go down the leagues in both hurling and football you are just dumped with the second rate refs. The refs who get awarded the games at the business end of the championship rarely/never ref games in division 2/3/4 of that seasons league. You don’t get Barry Kelly reffing Wexford v Carlow in the hurling league or Coldrick doing Limerick v Leitrim in division four football. Counties at that level are often dumped with the shit refs who need to get experience somehow.
He was sent off on two yellows against Derry a couple of weeks ago. Straight red today. Presume that’ll be a month minimum and him gone for the rest of the league unless there’s some video evidence available to show him pushing yer man in the chest.
Yeah, he won a throw ball just inside our own half and powered through numerous tackles and slotted over with his right. That was our third point today - he’d set up the first two also, the first straight from the throw-in. He was playing exceptionally well again.
I’d never noticed him refereeing at this level before anyway. Westmeath apparently had him in Week 1 and he seriously pissed them off.
Pat Flanagan agrees that the red card was a disgrace. Cheers, Pat. You and your bench surrounding the linesman and your player feigning injury played quite the part in it happening. Fucking cunt.
gr[quote=“Bandage, post: 749675, member: 9”]Yeah, he won a throw ball just inside our own half and powered through numerous tackles and slotted over with his right. That was our third point today - he’d set up the first two also, the first straight from the throw-in. He was playing exceptionally well again.[/quote]
great to hear, hope he doesnt get too long a suspension.
if Quinlivan can find his 2011 form theyll be a formidabel pair…
I never knew he had a good foot?