Wexford GAA 2013

I’m sure Dunne told the players they were obliged to release a team to the media but to ignore it. Appendage, is it that big a deal?

I’m overcome with blind optimism. Billy Walsh just told Des Cahill we’ll put it upto them. That team looks far more balanced with Shore at centre back.

C’MAAAAAN

They have to lie to their friends, family and people they meet in the lead up. Total distraction and waste of time.

Surely they can just say that’s not a definite starting team or other non committal shite like that. And then allow us to wildly speculate online.

Liam Griffen just on Newstalk sport saying it was not do-able for a dual player to play inter county hurling and football matches on the same weekend. Also said Wexford needed wholesale restructuring… On the same note (apart from the Wexford structuring bit), I read Brian Murphy, Cork dual player form the '70’s, being extremely encouraging to anyone trying to play both

Restructuring. We haven’t heard that before.

It surely depends on the physiology of a lad as to whether he can play both on the same weekend. He mightn’t play to his optimum but could still be better than the lad he’s keeping off the time.

Now is not the time for negativity. These points could have been raised before the weekend of our hurlers and footballers entering the championship fray. Let’s talk ourselves up instead.

We’re going to hammer the shit out of Dublin. When was the last time they beat us in a Leinster championship game?

last time they met?..

who was the wexford player Griffin believed made up a bullshit excuse not to play this year?..

And before that?

Chin in trainers, not taking part in warm up.

Much of a crowd in the park lads?

An exciting enough game from a wexford point of view but I think we left that behind us. Our first touch is shocking and we’ve too much love for long raking balls to small forwards. Rossiter, Shore, Chin, Jacob all mostly used the ball well when they had it but the rest were average. Podge Doran dropped almost every ball he got.

The old cliche of the replay will do us good probably applies. Dublin will never hit that many bad wides so I’d expect us to go down before turning Tipp over in the qualifiers.

Liam Dunne shiteing on about wanting a game in Crime Park. Why would you want to play in front of a 1/6th full stadium. That’s for the camogie team.

Fanning - Never tested and looked composed from general play apart form 1 time in 2nd half.

Moore - Only really came into in 2nd half. Cleared some ball.

Waters - Was ok but has to stop fouling. Very lucky to be left on the field, as per usual, the stamp in 1st half was shocking, then pulling across a lad was just as bad. Should’ve got the line. When black card is introduced, he may as well retire.

Rossi - Good. First touch wasnt great at times but first competitive game back after a while out, will bring him on a lot.

R. Kehoe - Again struggled with his first touch. Few good clearances but once a man runs at him, he’s out of the game altogether, as seen from the last Dublin score.

Shore - Never got a touch in 1st half. Cleared some good ball in 2nd and grew with confidence as Wexford came more into the game.

Kenny - Awful. Shouldn’t be anywhere near team. How Dunne labels him as a leader is beyond me.

H. Kehoe - Done reasonably ok. Got a nice score and hope he’s alright for next Sat.

O Shaughnessy - No contribution.

Redmond - Similar to a few others, he only got going in 2nd half, came on to some real good ball and done ok when dropped back after Harry went off.

Quigley - Only started coming into it before taking off. I’m all for quick hurling and keeping the ball moving but he needs to start taking on the ball more.

Sinnott - Starved of possession in 1st half, as ball was mostly pucked out the opposite wing. 4 excellent points.

Rory - For me, still a class act. Fucked up of people giving out about him. It’s very much a situation similar to Robbie Keane, everyone slating and hating but 9 times out of 10 he’ll be Wexfords best forward. Feed him good ball and he will do a job.

Doran - Never really got into it, got 1 good score but I have to say, the ball in wasnt great.

Guiney - Very good, the man has so much potential. Balls of steel with last free and a class goal. Lets hope he doesn’t fall over any gates pissed between now and replay.

Subs :

Chin - Done well when he came on, only one that tried picking out a good pass. Very poor wide also when the pass out was on but a huge plus in my opinion.

PJ - Threw around some good ball and done no wrong. A good lad to be able to bring on.

Morris - Not on long enough but done well for Sinnots 3rd point.

Overall, it was good to see a bit of physicality & heart from Wexford for a change, some bits of good hurling but a lot of very poor basic stuff. Should’ve closed the game out but hit a few bad wides and dropped 3 into Maguires hand. Referee terrible for both teams. Dublin goal shouldn’t have been allowed as hurl was dropped and there was no way on the world that was a free at the end. Gary Moore put the head down and charge. Free out all day long.

P.S How are ya’s lads?

Welcome back Gav.

I’m seeing positives tonight despite the standard being fairly average, guys. We hurled in a frenzy at times and lacked a bit of composure when we got in front but I’m hopeful that’ll come over time.

Our strength and fitness was markedly better than last year and we weren’t lacking in the physical stakes. It was like night and day compared to Thurles against Cork last year but our touch and striking was found wanting on too many occasions.

I thought we very much looked like winning at 1-15 to 0-15 so there’s some disappointment but I don’t think we should be too down on ourselves as we still levelled it twice before the finish. Dublin missed a lot of chances too, I guess.

Very happy with how the full back line performed. Moore was really good and Waters exceeded expectations but he needs to cut out the indiscipline - he could have been sent off tonight for lashing out in the second half. Rossiter was solid too.

I actually thought the backs in general were good and think Gavin 2 (welcome back, bro) is being harsh on Kenny. Richie Kehoe did fine on Sutcliffe and Shore was more influential as the game progressed.

We struggled at times in the midfield and the half forward line but Chin made a tremendous impact when he was introduced for O’Shaughnessy. It was 1-14 to 0-15 when Maguire saved his goal effort and that would surely have been the game. Harry Kehoe put in a decent shift too and got his usual point.

4 points for Sinnott in the end - I think I said it before but I’d love to shake him at times; he has so much talent but has this relaxed, almost languid style.

Guiney was excellent - took his goal brilliantly after great work from Quigley and was faultless on frees and chipped in from play too.

3 points for Jacob and he was good too - I regret that we lofted in some aimless long range attempts after we got ahead in the second half instead of continuing to look for him.

A fully fit Chin and Paul Morris will strengthen us for the replay but Dublin have probably learned some lessons too - they’ll surely push Keaney forward and include Ryan the next day too. We’d be genuine All Ireland contenders if we had everyone available.

good points bandage. As I said on the other thread, I too thought Chin made a massive impact. We were lacking someone to carry the ball or distribute it to bypass their sweeper, and he was the link man. Played very well, but should have tapped it over when he shot for goal, and hit a bad wide later. Thought Moore did a great defensive job. Kehoe annoys me with his persistence in trying to hit the ball as long and as hard as he can, when more often than not because of this he mishits it and it only goes a few yards. Shore used the ball quite well and played in some good passes, but our forwards at times were caught badly behind their man. We did a lot of fumbling and our handling was poor. I thought Quigley did well, kept the ball moving and did take it on when he could which set up the goal. Redmond had a tough job mainly on Rushe, and our continued high balls on top of him for the first half gave him no chance.

I thought the ref was average at best. he let too much lying on the ball happen. A few times a dublin player launched himself over the ball, and he just kept resetting and throwing it in. I thought they were denied a clear penalty early on too. And I think he reversed a free out he awarded to us and changed his mind and gave a free in after consulting with the umpires. I didnt think you could do that. Kenny (I think) cleaned out one of their lads with a frontal charge too, but ref only gave a throw in. Waters I’d say was lucky not to see red too. I didnt see it, but I heard the clatter and saw the Dublin player go down, and it seems from here that he should have got red.

Gman, Fanning scooped that ball clean off the ground after initially stopping it on the line so it was a rare decision he got right (albet in the weird manner you describe).

He also signalled an advantage for Guiney when he was fouled and off balance just before half time when you want a free in from a central position 50 yards out. He coughed up the ball and Dublin went down and scored.

The standard of inter-county hurling refereeing is appalling. I know the game is fast and physical but the level of inconsistency is huge.