Wexford GAA 2013

great goal by lyng…you´d know he played soccer…i never understand why more gaelic footballers don´t shoot from further out like that…most goalkeepers are there for there catching and kicking abilities and would need a map to get to anything low either side of them…seemed like an awful wind up in drogheda…

Because most of them are pure gym monkeys and couldnt kick the ball out of their way, let alone hit a target from that distance at that speed.

Liam Dunne was making no apologies for naming a dummy team for Wexford’s drawn Leinster SHC quarter-final with Dublin.

The Wexford manager, who made half a dozen changes to the team he named during the week, blasted: "I’m managing the team, I’ll do whatever I like. I wore the Maor Foirne bib last year and sure I was going to be put in the stand, I was going to be fined, I was going to be suspended - it wouldn’t have been my first time being suspended.

"If I feel like doing it that way, I’ll do it. I don’t think there was anyone out there this evening that didn’t have a jersey on him or that someone didn’t know who they were. I had Paul Morris picked at corner-forward, he rings me this morning telling me he can’t play though we did bring him on as a sub. He was sick for two days but Jack (Guiney) came in and took his chance. It’s a joke.

“You’re asked to name a team on the Tuesday night and if you don’t, you’re going to be fined. And then the Dublin team is not given in - there was all hell breaking loose. There was a blank page going to be put in the programme because it was so late coming it.”

The 1996 All-Ireland winning centre back was also unhappy at the decision to fix the replay for Parnell Park, insisting it should be played in Croke Park where Wexford haven’t played since 2007.

"They shouldn’t be bringing a game like this to Parnell Park. They’re on about wanting to promote hurling and look after the so-called weaker teams and the second tier teams but I think really they don’t give a shit.

"This is our main pitch down here in Wexford. I wonder what would have happened if we had brought it to Belfield? I think we deserve to be in Croke Park if it’s a replay. If the Dublin footballers drew with Wexford down here tomorrow in the Leinster football championship, it [the replay] would be in Croke Park.

"The powers-that-be make the rules, we’ll abide by the rules, I’m only making the point. Treat the Dublin hurlers with the same respect as the Dublin footballers and treat the Wexford hurlers with a little bit more respect as well.

“They bring league games involving Dublin to Croke Park, this is the Leinster championship. I know the Leinster championship is taken with a pinch of salt, it’s all about Munster, just that Kilkenny is in Leinster. We can’t help that, they’re the big boys. I just feel it should be there.”

I dont think there is a facepalm gif big enough to express my feelings on this ‘interview’.

we got about 7,000 in our home venue, but we want to play the replay on a Saturday evening in an 83,000 capacity stadium instead of a 11,500 one.

those dummy teams are a load of cack too.

that’s a shocking interview Gman.

anyone hazard a guess as to how many many wexicans were up there yesterday? 400?

So we’re better off losing the replay on Saturday night in terms of potential advancement in the All Ireland series based on that qualifier draw? Not that you’d want to lose but the qualifier system is retarded. Again, I’ve been banging on about this for years too.

Carlow getting a bye to the next stage while one of Waterford and Offaly being gone is a joke

[quote=“Gman, post: 784428, member: 112”]I dont think there is a facepalm gif big enough to express my feelings on this ‘interview’.

we got about 7,000 in our home venue, but we want to play the replay on a Saturday evening in an 83,000 capacity stadium instead of a 11,500 one.

those dummy teams are a load of cack too.[/quote]
I’m glad I called this fella correctly a long time back. An Eddie O Connor type character.

1. Beat Dublin, Lose to Kilkenny, Lose to Tipperary/Cork/Clare - Out.
  2. Lose to Dublin, Beat Antrim, Beat Carlow - Still In.

Or course there’s also an Option 3 - beat every cunt.

[quote=“Gman, post: 784428, member: 112”]I dont think there is a facepalm gif big enough to express my feelings on this ‘interview’.

those dummy teams are a load of cack too.[/quote]

Awful stuff from Dunne. He obviously wasn’t reading the thread for the Dublin v Wesmeath game on here when the consensus was that it would have been better away from Croke Park. Bandage can you send him a password reminder?

[FONT=Calibri]Excellent usage of age old management tactics by Liam Dunne. Taking everything as a perceived slight. Battening the hatches. Closing ranks. It’s us against the world. He’s the new Jose Mourinho. [/FONT]

https://fbcdn-sphotos-c-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-frc1/1003113_10201140001363497_786785422_n.jpg

[quote=“Bandage, post: 784456, member: 9”]1. Beat Dublin, Lose to Kilkenny, Lose to Tipperary/Cork/Clare - Out.
2. Lose to Dublin, Beat Antrim, Beat Carlow - Still In.

Or course there’s also an Option 3 - beat every cunt.[/quote]

After thinking about it over the weekend I’d prefer to beat Dublin and take on KK than take what has worked out to be a softer route. Most of the younger players have been competitive with KK at underage so won’t fear them. And after this weekend we know how important it is not to fear anyone.

[FONT=Calibri]Yeah, the soft route would be similar to last year when we lost our first game in Leinster before defeating Westmeath and Carlow (can’t even remember in which order) before bowing out to Cork. I’d prefer to get to the All Ireland final undefeated having won our provincial championship. [/FONT]

Playing these 1b sides are of no benefit to us. We get enough of them from February to April during our warm-up phase. Just like the great John Allen, Liam Dunne doesn’t give a shite about the league.

[FONT=Calibri]What about Masterson yesterday? Every game he has at least two of each of the following:[/FONT]
[FONT=Calibri] [/FONT]
[FONT=Calibri]-[/FONT] [FONT=Calibri]A vehement protest that an opposition point was wide;[/FONT]
[FONT=Calibri]-[/FONT] [FONT=Calibri]A vehement protest that an opposition player over-carried before scoring;[/FONT]
[FONT=Calibri]-[/FONT] [FONT=Calibri]A vehement protest that an opposition player threw the ball over the bar or threw the ball to a team-mate who subsequently pointed;[/FONT]
[FONT=Calibri]-[/FONT] [FONT=Calibri]An issue with the tee before taking a kick-out when we’re clinging onto a second half lead.[/FONT]
[FONT=Calibri] [/FONT]
[FONT=Calibri]The first three examples involve him sprinting out to the 21-yard line with accompanying hand gestures. [/FONT]
[FONT=Calibri] [/FONT]
[FONT=Calibri]The locals were ready to lynch him in the last 5 minutes when he was delaying kick-outs. To quote The Runt[/USER] re [USER=168]ChocolateMice, he’s a gas man all the same.[/FONT]

[FONT=Calibri]So all senior club hurling championship games fixed for midweek are off – clubs who have college students who’ve fucked off to America for the guts of the summer will be pleased. The big news is that Iggy Clarke reversed his resignation decision and remains in charge of Faythe Harriers.[/FONT]
[FONT=Calibri] [/FONT]
[FONT=Calibri]I understand the minor hurling semi-final against Laois is provisionally fixed for Saturday 22nd June in Portlaoise at 3pm. However, it could be changed to the Sunday depending on who advances to the senior semi-finals and whether Portlaoise is selected as a venue for one of them – in other words, the minor game is a potential curtain raiser to a senior semi-final.[/FONT]

[quote=“Bandage, post: 784489, member: 9”][FONT=Calibri]What about Masterson yesterday? Every game he has at least two of each of the following:[/FONT]

[FONT=Calibri]-[/FONT] [FONT=Calibri]A vehement protest that an opposition point was wide;[/FONT]
[FONT=Calibri]-[/FONT] [FONT=Calibri]A vehement protest that an opposition player over-carried before scoring;[/FONT]
[FONT=Calibri]-[/FONT] [FONT=Calibri]A vehement protest that an opposition player threw the ball over the bar or threw the ball to a team-mate who subsequently pointed;[/FONT]
[FONT=Calibri]-[/FONT] [FONT=Calibri]An issue with the tee before taking a kick-out when we’re clinging onto a second half lead.[/FONT]

[FONT=Calibri]The first three examples involve him sprinting out to the 21-yard line with accompanying hand gestures. [/FONT]

[FONT=Calibri]The locals were ready to lynch him in the last 5 minutes when he was delaying kick-outs. To quote The Runt[/USER] re [USER=168]ChocolateMice, he’s a gas man all the same.[/FONT][/quote]

We should have got him to start taking the frees to really sow it in to the fuckers…

I’m managing the team, I’ll do whatever I like.

I don’t think there was anyone out there this evening that didn’t have a jersey on him or that someone didn’t know who they were.

Are topless players and lads who don’t know their own name a common problem in Wexford?

[quote=“farmerinthecity, post: 783999, member: 24”]So Wexford have to beat Louth and Meath/Wicklow to reach a Leinster final.

Fucking scandalous having such an easy route to a Provincial final.[/quote]

croppy_boy[/USER] and [USER=6]briantinnion

Ye are not the quickest…

[quote=“farmerinthecity, post: 784509, member: 24”]croppy_boy[/USER] and [USER=6]briantinnion

Ye are not the quickest…[/quote]

you mind elaborating here farmerinthecity? i am interested as to what was said but dont thave the time to trawl through all the pages…