Wexford GAA 2013

No idea what farmerinthecity is on about here. The fucking freak.

It was a pisstake. For Leitrim to reach a Connacht final, they would have to beat New York and London.

Glad to see that at least someone got it.

[FONT=Calibri]Were you and Gman located near a more hostile home following? They were relatively alright sorts where we were except for one overly friendly sort who told about 10 people separately that he played for Louth in Drogheda against Kerry in the 1978 All-Ireland U21 semi-final and there must have been 20,000 at it. That Kerry team included Jack O’Shea and Bomber Liston in fact. That said, one lad was perplexed that the referee was doing nothing about “that Wexford goalie constantly acting the bollix” but his frustration was understandable.[/FONT]

to be fair the hostiltiy around my good self was probably brought on by my good self.

I was located at the 70 on the town end with former legendary Wexford footballer in tow, so people were trying to make a name for themselves by trying to “take us on if you will”. The sheer numbers of the St. James Tifosi soon out pay to this soon ptu pay to these ill conceived jibes.

I did have one argument with a man near me, as i was berating the ref for giving us a free in when Ciaran Lyng was hit off the ball, he said it was never a foul i simply asked why was a yellow card hsown in that case. an earlier incident he protested, “my hole” i responded.

I would agree re mastersons bullshitting though, could have been very costly for us, however the wind was a factor…

Disappointed with their booing for Bens Last kick but nonetheless delighted when it sailed over.

[quote=“count of monte cristo, post: 784526, member: 348”]to be fair the hostiltiy around my good self was probably brought on by my good self.

I can confirm this.

Gif of Lyng’s goal

http://balls.ie/gaa/ciaran-lyng-goal-gif/?utm_campaign=twitter&utm_medium=twitter&utm_source=twitter

[FONT=Calibri]I thought Masterson was going a bit too far with the histrionics yesterday alright and the one where the kick out was taken off him could have been very costly. However, he wasted far more time than was added on so the time wasting proved successful. [/FONT]
[FONT=Calibri]Overall it was a very good win and maybe even an important one for Wexford football. After a nervy start the backs eventually got on top of the Louth dangermen. Mick Furlong had a great championship debut and picked up a lot of breaking ball when his man dragged him out the pitch. Molloy recovered very well from the early goal and gave little away after that. Brian Malone carried the ball out of defence very well in the second half when we needed leaders to get on the ball. [/FONT]
[FONT=Calibri]Midfield were excellent again – Quinlivan was back to his best form of two years ago while Waters is now one of the best midfielders in the country. It was only after he got injured that Paddy Keenan started to get on the ball and do damage. [/FONT]
[FONT=Calibri]The forwards can improve a lot and that isn’t a bad complaint when you win a championship match scoring 2-13. PJ and Red were not as sharp as usual and the other forwards went out of the game for spells too. James Holmes can cause teams a lot of problems with his direct running but he seems to lack the confidence at times to do this. His good performance yesterday should help him gain that confidence and nail down a place on the starting team.[/FONT]
[FONT=Calibri]Of the subs, Paddy Byrne was the one to stand out. His catch from one of our kick outs in injury time was nearly as important as his point. So on to an 8th Provincial semi final in 10 years which apparently is the 4th best record of all counties, with only Cork, Kerry and Dublin having more. (I was told this “fact” yesterday but haven’t checked it is actually true). [/FONT]
[FONT=Calibri]Regarding the Louth fans, the ones around us were alright sorts too but there was a sizeable Ramsgrange Ultras group nearby which probably intimidated the locals. My only complaint about yesterday was the uncertainty about whether you could leave the ground at half time. There should have been a few more announcements about this.[/FONT]

[FONT=Calibri]count of monte cristo - I don’t really have a problem with booing, but I don’t engage in it at GAA games “because they’re all amateur players and they have to get up and go to work in the morning”. Yeah, Lyng popped the ball off and was given a box in the face (one of many late hits from them, as I mentioned) but I don’t think the referee saw it and it seemed to be the linesman that brought it to his attention at the end of that phase of play, which had ended up with Louth being awarded a free out. So, yeah, an incident where we should have had a 21 yard free in but didn’t. The Louth boyos weren’t mentioning that at the end when they were berating the referee for a range of other things.[/FONT]

:clap: :clap:

Masterson comes across a thoroughly dislikable sort, I’ve been saying it for years that goalkeepers constant shite about waving wides is one of the more annoying traits in the GAA, and this fucker is the worst for it. His histrionics when he let in a goal in a match in Croke Park a few years ago and he went onto cry like a little girl also stands out. Then theres this

https://fbcdn-sphotos-b-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/1003280_612614285423413_1118413800_n.jpg

the few directly around me were fine, even having a laugh at the gobshite PA announcer going on about leaving at half time and how they hoped RTE wouldnt show the hare on the field as it would make them a laughing stock. But there were a few within earshot who were fucktards. Roaring abuse and booing and such like. When Brosnan scored that free he turned and ran back to the crowd and shouted back at them, as if they had been shouting at him taking the free.

with regards to Masterson, whilst I do agree to a point, I still think he had valid issues. Its illegal to open palm a ball over the bar. The rule is to change, but hasnt yet. For the ref to go in, and be told by the umpire that he palmed it over, and then still award the point, was wrong. Its a stupid fucking rule that is never enforced, but its still the rule. They over carried the ball quite a bit on a couple of scores I thought. Again, he was right IMO, but I wouldnt be sprinting after the ref making a show of myself about it either. And I dont know what he was supposed to do about the ball falling off the tee. The linesman had his flag in the air, Masterson pointed at him, the ref waved him on, ball falls off the tee, and as he is going out to reset it the ref runs in and throws it up. He is a liability at times alright, but probably has earned a bit of reputation now for himself.

Did ye stock up on illegal fuel and counterfeit goods on ye’re trip to Louth?

they were trying to sell us strawberries on the way into the ground. some great business sense there.

[FONT=Calibri]Monkey Allen – yes, agreed on Furlong having a very solid game. Their young lad Byrne was taken off and Furlong shackled him well – same as in the league. Malone too was important in terms of his ball carrying alright – he covers a serious amount of ground in every game. If you looked at him and his direct opponent yesterday, it was hard to say what position either were playing – they just took turns tearing up and down the field after each other trying to support the man in possession. Agreed on Holmes too – hopefully yesterday will bring him on and I thought Waters comprehensively outplayed Keenan again until getting injured. As I’ve agreed with a lot of your points, I’ve made the decision to award your post with an “agreed” rating. Quite a ballsy decision to withdraw Redmond Barry first and so early in the second half too but it wasn’t one of his better games.[/FONT]

[FONT=Calibri]Gman[/USER] – I wouldn’t be surprised if Masterson was deliberately misplacing the ball on the tee to give it the best chance of toppling off it. Maybe I’m just cynical though. Similar to [USER=180]myboyblue ‘s point on goalkeepers waving efforts wide, one thing that annoys me is when they’re shouting lots of shit when the free taker is lining up a dead ball. The Louth keeper came across as a bit of a gimp in this respect. [/FONT]

In fairness to him, it was windy, and it happened their keeper too.

Actually, their keeper was absolutely shocking with his kickouts from play and dead ball. He mis hit it a number of times, and a few times was just blessed it went to one of their men who wasnt the intended target. We profited from a few of his kickouts. He kicked it out over the sideline from play a couple of times too. They were working their sub keeper pretty hard at half time, so thought they were on the verge of making a change, but wasnt to be, fortunately for us I would say too.

[quote=“Gman, post: 784645, member: 112”]In fairness to him, it was windy, and it happened their keeper too.

Actually, their keeper was absolutely shocking with his kickouts from play and dead ball. He mis hit it a number of times, and a few times was just blessed it went to one of their men who wasnt the intended target. We profited from a few of his kickouts. He kicked it out over the sideline from play a couple of times too. They were working their sub keeper pretty hard at half time, so thought they were on the verge of making a change, but wasnt to be, fortunately for us I would say too.[/quote]

[FONT=Calibri]I was speaking to a current inter-county goalkeeper (and fellow chartered accountant) earlier who said he would have been disappointed to have been beaten by Lyng’s shot from that distance, even with the a bit of swazz on the ball. I agree with you regarding yer man’s kick-outs though – he was all over the shop. [/FONT]

hardly a Mr. P. G.?

http://cdn.memegenerator.net/instances/400x/15525241.jpg

Thanks Bandage. I agree with your reasons for agreeing with me so I have now also awarded you an “agreed” rating.

It was ballsy to take off Red at that point alright and a decision that could have backfired on the management. At the time PJ was also struggling to get in to the game and had Wexford lost I’m sure management would have been slated for taking off the wrong player. However, within minutes PJ got the goal and then never stopped looking for the ball after that.
Red had misplaced a couple of passes before he was withdrawn but it was still a surprise that he was the one to go.

I was watching Masterson for the kick out that was taken off him. He knew well what he was doing and it wasn’t simply a case of the ball falling off the tee. The ref was walking out to midfield with his back to the goal and Masterson was watching him the whole way. Only when the ref turned and blew for the kick out, did Masterson go to put the ball back on the tee.

[quote=“Monkey Allen, post: 784657, member: 123”]Thanks Bandage. I agree with your reasons for agreeing with me so I have now also awarded you an “agreed” rating.

It was ballsy to take off Red at that point alright and a decision that could have backfired on the management. At the time PJ was also struggling to get in to the game and had Wexford lost I’m sure management would have been slated for taking off the wrong player. However, within minutes PJ got the goal and then never stopped looking for the ball after that.
Red had misplaced a couple of passes before he was withdrawn but it was still a surprise that he was the one to go.

I was watching Masterson for the kick out that was taken off him. He knew well what he was doing and it wasn’t simply a case of the ball falling off the tee. The ref was walking out to midfield with his back to the goal and Masterson was watching him the whole way. Only when the ref turned and blew for the kick out, did Masterson go to put the ball back on the tee.[/quote]

I thought PJ had been far poorer up to Barrys removal, there were anumber of balls kicked in to him that he had the ability to win but he simply didnt seem to have the belief. He needs to work on his handling, in particular for ball that is coming in at head height, he never seems to catch it cleanly.

Some of our distribution was woeful at time Rory Quinlivan kicked two balls straight to Louth men in the sapce of a few mins. I think Aindreas Doyle migth have been guilty of the same.