[quote=“Bandage, post: 887558, member: 9”]General update courtesy of our local newspapers:
Senior Hurling
We beat Galway by 1-21 to 1-16 last weekend.
A number of last year’s minors are in the squad such as Kevin Foley, Liam Ryan and Conor Devitt (along with Conor McDonald too, of course).
We have a Walsh Cup quarter final on Saturday against NUIG in Gorey.
Eoin Moore was due to undergo an ankle operation today and will be out for 6 weeks.
Jack Guiney, Matthew O’Hanlon and Garrett Sinnott will be lining out with UCD in the Walsh Cup, while Liam McGovern and Willie Devereux will be taking part with DIT.
Tomás Waters has started his rehab after his series of knee operations and lengthy hospital stays.
Minor Hurling
New manager Larry Coleman is leaving players with the colleges for January and is commencing group training in early February.
The combined colleges team plays its first championship game this weekend.
St Peter’s Wexford take on Good Counsel New Ross in a traditional Wexford v Kilkenny clash in a couple of weeks.
Senior Football
Didn’t realise Ciarán Lyng scored a hat-trick in our defeat against UCD last week - the first Wexford senior footballer to score a hat-trick since Mattie Forde v Galway all those years ago.
Club Football
Former Laois footballer Barry Brennan has joined St Fintan’s. He’s a Wexford based Garda and they’ll be in senior this season after two successive promotions.
Transfers
A distinct lack of transfer activity in Wexford town this year after they changed the rules at convention. Very upsetting.[/quote]
it will in time obviously show benefit, but now is too early to to say it is reaping rewards. there are a lot of changes happening, but its not going to happen overnight.
[quote=“Bandage, post: 889424, member: 9”]Wexford senior hurlers hammered NUIG in the Walsh Cup today.
Wexford Combined Colleges hammered some Dublin outfit in the Leinster Colleges’ A Hurling Championship today.
The problem remains though. Why were both games on at identical times in different locations. From memory, Wexford are undefeated in the Walsh Cup in Gorey
Does any of ye know if Kevin driver is still playing at all? He was a rosslare man, and the best hurler I ever saw in the uk. I think he played minor for a bit for Wexford. Are the o hanlons still playing?
I met him hurling over here though. There are a lot of good hurlers here. A few ex senior county men have played and trained over here. He was the best hurler I ever saw here. It is hard to compare him with people at home, as I never saw him play there. I suspect he had the talent to star at senior IC if he were so inclined, but I’m not sure. Put it this way, one of our lads was offered a senior IC trial off the back of hurling here last year, so we can’t be too bad.