Wexford GAA 2014

Waters is an excellent midfielder alright and one of the best in the country.

Wexford are in rebuilding mode with the likes of Red Barry, David Murphy, Anthony Masterson and Lee Chin all missing from last year.

I think our Division 3 status is pretty much reflective of where we stand as a team and I expect we’ll find it very tough going on Sunday.

I’m not sure how scientific our defensive system is. We lack height and physique back there and I fear we’ll be exploited. O’Regan at half forward will probably supplement the midfield and O’Grady (listed) at corner forward has played a roving, foraging role out the field in the games I’ve seen this season. It’ll be Lyng plus one more left inside probably.

I didn’t think we’d defeat Longford in Pearse Park but the remaining experienced players seemed to step up and turn it around late on after Longford went ahead. Still though, I think we’ll be doing well to replicate what Laois did against Dublin.

[QUOTE=“Dirty Hands Walter, post: 971981, member: 9”]Waters is an excellent midfielder alright and one of the best in the country.

Wexford are in rebuilding mode with the likes of Red Barry, David Murphy, Anthony Masterson and Lee Chin all missing from last year.

I think our Division 3 status is pretty much reflective of where we stand as a team and I expect we’ll find it very tough going on Sunday.

I’m not sure how scientific our defensive system is. We lack height and physique back there and I fear we’ll be exploited. O’Regan at half forward will probably supplement the midfield and O’Grady (listed) at corner forward has played a roving, foraging role out the field in the games I’ve seen this season. It’ll be Lyng plus one more left inside probably.

I didn’t think we’d defeat Longford in Pearse Park but the remaining experienced players seemed to step up and turn it around late on after Longford went ahead. Still though, I think we’ll be doing well to replicate what Laois did against Dublin.[/QUOTE]

New name…new attitude…replying to a post …I’m impressed…

Anybody going on Sunday? I might head in but I have an Arcade Fire ticket. I’m a bit bored of the Wexford football team though.

Is that a madey uppy piece of analysis? I don’t think were any worse than average when it comes to conceding goals.

Ah no, ye’ll manage to lose by 9 or 10 points alright. :smiley:

Why are you laughing at your own comment? It wasn’t amusing, pal.

I find it deeply offensive that you would reply to me in this tone.

well,

yesterday had a sense of inevitability about it.

a few points:

[LIST=1]
[]Roche made some smart saves, but I hugely dislike his kicking, it hangs in there and allows the other team a better chance to spoil it. Our kick strategy is archaic, find the big man…
[
]I dont think Malone is the answer to our centre back issues, I would be more of a fan of playing Molloy there and putting Malone in full back
[]Michael Furlong was excellent, but this will be construed as Connolly having an off day
[
]Dublin have an excellent full back line.
[]Ben seems to up his game against the dubs
[
]We seem to well behind in terms of physicality.
[/LIST]

[QUOTE=“count of monte cristo, post: 973696, member: 348”]well,

yesterday had a sense of inevitability about it.

a few points:

[LIST=1]
[]Roche made some smart saves, but I hugely dislike his kicking, it hangs in there and allows the other team a better chance to spoil it. Our kick strategy is archaic, find the big man…
[
]I dont think Malone is the answer to our centre back issues, I would be more of a fan of playing Molloy there and putting Malone in full back
[]Michael Furlong was excellent, but this will be construed as Connolly having an off day
[
]Dublin have an excellent full back line.
[]Ben seems to up his game against the dubs
[
]We seem to well behind in terms of physicality.
[/LIST]

would agree with most there alright. Yeah Roches kicks are too high, needs to keep a lower trajectory on it, you can tell he is coming from being a soccer keeper kicking the ball. Up on the tee and kick it up in the air.

I wouldnt put Malone full back. If we could clone Molloy, that would be the answer. But I dont think we can afford to take Graeme out of full back, and not with Malone. He would be cleaned out of it there. I’d nearly try Flynn at centre back. I dont think he is good enough on the wing, but not sure if he is defensive enough to block the centre either.

Thought Furlong played well too, and said as much on the championship thread. Whether or not Connolly was up for it is another thing, but Furlong played well despite that anyway.

I think most of the lads were reasonable enough, which is in itself the biggest worry as we were so far off the pace.

[QUOTE=“Gman, post: 973716, member: 112”]would agree with most there alright. Yeah Roches kicks are too high, needs to keep a lower trajectory on it, you can tell he is coming from being a soccer keeper kicking the ball. Up on the tee and kick it up in the air.

I wouldnt put Malone full back. If we could clone Molloy, that would be the answer. But I dont think we can afford to take Graeme out of full back, and not with Malone. He would be cleaned out of it there. I’d nearly try Flynn at centre back. I dont think he is good enough on the wing, but not sure if he is defensive enough to block the centre either.

Thought Furlong played well too, and said as much on the championship thread. Whether or not Connolly was up for it is another thing, but Furlong played well despite that anyway.

I think most of the lads were reasonable enough, which is in itself the biggest worry as we were so far off the pace.[/QUOTE]

yes, that would be the most simple solution.

Agree with most of what you chaps have said on this and the other thread. I felt the scoreline pretty much reflected the level we’re at.

Was discussing Roche’s chippy, hanging kick-outs at the game. They didn’t give our midfield the best chance of securing possession. Waters was disrupted fairly well for the most part and wasn’t as heavily involved as usual.

Thought Molloy in particular and Furlong defended manfully and some of the last ditch blocks and tackles in the first half were impressive.

But it didn’t hide the fact they were breaking through too easily from the start and their eventual surge clear was inevitable alright. I actually thought they seemed happy to put on the brakes when 25/30 yards out before popping over points for much of the last quarter when more goals were there for them.

I also thought Banville played pretty well at centre forward and worked hard. Brosnan had some good moments too. Overall we were a bit snatchy with our shooting at times. It was almost as if we were spooked by the fact that Dublin can blow teams away and it affected us when we had possession.

But they simply have better players all round and much more depth too. I’ve heard their bench options being described as incredible before.

I also agree on Flynn. Perhaps he feels it’s mandatory to have a minimum of three solos while moving laterally before passing the ball?

Some of o’briens selections have been baffling. We had one guy starting yesterday who was near enough last sub on the victorious Leinster winning team of two years ago and was not deemed good enough to even be brought on. And our first sub on yesterday is a really poor club footballer and was near enough the worst player starting on that u21 team. Neither of these players have exactly improved. The prerequisite to be a sub seems to be that you have to have been a good colleges player in the last ten years, particularly with good counsel.

That’s pretty harsh.

4 of the 11 subs named are ex Good Counsel, Kehoe, Tubritt, Harney and Cullen. I’m not sure which of them is not deserving of a place. I probably wouldnt bring on Kehoe either, but he does have the size to try compete with a physical side like Dublin. Tubritt was one of the best players in the championship last year, and one of the better underage players up along. Same with Cullen. And Harney, for what little I have seen of him, seems a decent player. Maybe being in intermediate shows him better, but he does seem good.

And I assume Rossiter is the other player you are talking about? No point talking in riddles about the players and making references to them, either name them or dont. FYI, he did play a lot of minutes in that U21 win, and was first sub in all games (and think he may have started some, cant remember) but he was definitely playing the majority of the games and was very close to making the team. But what he did 3 years ago realistically has little relevance to now. Judge him on what he is now, how good or bad that is. I dont think he went well yesterday myself, but he did do well in the league.

Hogan Stand has a video of Brosnan kicking points from the endline yesterday in the warmup. He’s a bit fond of himself that lad, what a pointless carryon in the warmup for a Leinster semi final.

https://www.facebook.com/GAAhoganstand/posts/777839968903721

[QUOTE=“myboyblue, post: 973910, member: 180”]Hogan Stand has a video of Brosnan kicking points from the endline yesterday in the warmup. He’s a bit fond of himself that lad, what a pointless carryon in the warmup for a Leinster semi final.

https://www.facebook.com/GAAhoganstand/posts/777839968903721[/QUOTE]

Seems harmless enough to me.

As does he.

[QUOTE=“myboyblue, post: 973910, member: 180”]Hogan Stand has a video of Brosnan kicking points from the endline yesterday in the warmup. He’s a bit fond of himself that lad, what a pointless carryon in the warmup for a Leinster semi final.

Those who can do.

Go way outta that you fucking clown. If his name was darragh or tomas you’d be lauding it.

It’s totally inconsequential. Bizarre reaction from @myboyblue.