Where are you from @giloppy ?
From the north west relocated to Wexford a number of years ago. Would be an adopted wexford man at this stage. Im not trying to put Wexford down but genuinely feel that this is the weakest panel of players they have had in about 10 years. Roscommon and Cavan will be promoted.
Subs were very poor, C. Kehoe is not up to that level at all.
We’ll still have a decent defence but they’ll be badly exposed as per usual due to lazy and ineffective fwd play.
[quote=“count of monte cristo, post: 901391, member: 348”]Subs were very poor, C. Kehoe is not up to that level at all.
We’ll still have a decent defence but they’ll be badly exposed as per usual due to lazy and ineffective fwd play.[/quote]
Wouldnt persist with conor carthy at corner back, very good and intelligent footballer but his lack of height would be badly exposed as teams would target him. Would put paddy byrne in the same bracket as cillian kehoe.
Good diagonal high ball would crucify Carty, shame he’s very eager lad.
Paddy Byrne works hard, thats about as high as my praise of him will go.
I predicted a return to the doldrums for Wexford football in last year’s thread after a spell of (relative) achievement. We really should have been able to retain our Division 2 status last year after our start in the league but we fell away and got relegated.
We also failed to build on decent starts within individual games in the championship against Meath and Laois and were beaten fairly tamely in both games.
Combine that with the retirement of a couple of excellent players and leaders in David Murphy and Redmond Barry and it looks like it’ll be another struggle. We obviously missed Lyng yesterday and I presume Waters going off was an enforced substitution.
Still surprised they were so soundly beaten by Roscommon though. Didn’t think they were really going anywhere under John Evans.
[quote=“count of monte cristo, post: 901403, member: 348”]Good diagonal high ball would crucify Carty, shame he’s very eager lad.
Paddy Byrne works hard, thats about as high as my praise of him will go.[/quote]
Im not criticising Carthy as he is an excellent footballer, there is nothing he can do about his height, himself and furlong swapping positions might not be a bad idea.
Byrne does work hard and has a great pair of hands on him. However he has absolutely no football intelligece and does not appear to realise his limitations. If when he got the ball he just handpassed it off to a colleague hed be grand. He should be told not to solo or kick the ball.
by all accounts Byrne was by far our best player yesterday, so I wouldnt be writing him off just yet. whther that is more an indictment of our team, I dont know.
[quote=“giloppy, post: 901485, member: 2390”]Im not criticising Carthy as he is an excellent footballer, there is nothing he can do about his height, himself and furlong swapping positions might not be a bad idea.
Byrne does work hard and has a great pair of hands on him. However he has absolutely no football intelligece and does not appear to realise his limitations. If when he got the ball he just handpassed it off to a colleague hed be grand. He should be told not to solo or kick the ball.[/quote]
That’s called the Boccy Doyle or Ger Spillane tactic
[quote=“Bandage, post: 901434, member: 9”]I predicted a return to the doldrums for Wexford football in last year’s thread after a spell of (relative) achievement. We really should have been able to retain our Division 2 status last year after our start in the league but we fell away and got relegated.
We also failed to build on decent starts within individual games in the championship against Meath and Laois and were beaten fairly tamely in both games.
Combine that with the retirement of a couple of excellent players and leaders in David Murphy and Redmond Barry and it looks like it’ll be another struggle. We obviously missed Lyng yesterday and I presume Waters going off was an enforced substitution.
Still surprised they were so soundly beaten by Roscommon though. Didn’t think they were really going anywhere under John Evans.[/quote]
Dunno why people think John Evans is such a bad manager, was between him and jack o’connor for the kerry job when jack got the job the first time. Evans has won every honour as a manager at club level including AI club. Did a good job with Tipp too.
Evans is top notch, don’t mind Bandage, he’s a serious bluffer on such matters.
Height should not really be too much if an issue these days lads. Alan Cronin for Cork played yesterday and is tiny for IC, played well too I believe. Speed is more important.
I wasnt writing him off.
Ger Spillane knew his limitations and won an all star for it.
He didn’t know them in the 2007 final! But him winning an all star was a joke in itself.
Please note that I didn’t say John Evans was a “bad” manager, @giloppy. Just that I didn’t think Roscommon were up to much under him. People who have been outed as bluffers on multiple threads [like @caoimhaoin] are prone to making things up.
Was he our best player or did he put in a good shift?
any accounts i saw were that he worked tirelessly, this does not necessarily mean he played well.
They’ve done well underage over the past few years, and as well all know underage titles automatically = adult success.
[quote=“count of monte cristo, post: 901501, member: 348”]Who kicks the pin point pass to Lyng here?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nhjs5BGiLdU
Obviously a miskick
The only thing obvious on this entire thread is that,youre a cunt.