Who was doing the man marking job on Hogan?
LOL. Marking? Wexford adopted a policy of not marking yesterday and appeared surprised that Kilkenny adopted a policy of creating space in the forwards.
He was given acres of space last year against shite full back lines. KK were almost as defensive as Waterford yesterday, any time McGovern or MacDonald got near a ball they were surrounded by Kilkenny lads.
Good question, @Turenne. We started with OâHanlon centre back but Hogan was clearly going to drift around the pitch. You canât play a modern inter-county game without the centre back holding the central channel and cutting off supply to inside forwards (well you shouldnât at least) so you need someone else to stop Hogan dictating and picking off scores.
I posted pre-game about Waters potentially moving back to midfield, as happened, and OâKeeffe being tasked with playing deeper and occupying areas where Hogan would be looking to get on the ball. OâKeeffe seemed to have been given this role early on but didnât do it well at all. Not sure he has the defensive instincts for it and he got a chasing off Reid when he went wing back later in the first half.
Meanwhile, Chin was moved to centre back during the second quarter with OâHanlon going back to the full back line but we had already shipped 2 or 3 goals at that stage. Hogan picked off a few points off Chin between then and the end but he had no protection and Kilkenny were doing as they pleased.
Iâd be thoroughly shocked if you canât see off that Cork side in Wexford Park. Pile on.
Sorry count, maybe itâs more I am giving out about Wexford players, but those damn Jimmieâs have so many on the team these days that itâs more noticeable to you now that they happen to be in the cross fire.
To further add to the original point, I donât necessarily put much of the blame on O Hanlons head, more the tactical layout of the team and the lack of a full back presence, regardless of who that was to be.
Cork will ye beat them
Iâll forgive you.
the tactical layout was a joke. I couldnt believe it at the start of the game, we have some very fine players but we do not have anything that resembles a team. Everything yesterday was so disjointed it was shocking, the amount of ball hurled to no one was criminal.
We need to play with an extra defender and additionally an extra man across midfield. I think Ian Byrne would be excellent for the latter job as he is extremely accurate from distance.
I think Mcgovern might have a bit more room at wing forward and cause havoc running at defences, i think he got the ball in hands once properly yesterday.
I dont exepct any of these changes to be implemented.
I fear for the lensther teams
Spotted a retired Wexford player (who last featured in 2010 as far as I know) wearing a Wexford training top with his initials on it at the game yesterday. A further low on a day of lows.
But allâs not lost. Under 21 hurlers away to Offaly on Wednesday night (live on TG4 for those not arsed attending, like me) and a chance to regroup before Cork come to Wexford Park.
Under 21 hurling team named:
The likes of Foley x2, Devitt and Kenny have a genuine chance to push themselves forward for senior team inclusion.
Simon Donohoe will be playing for the senior footballers against Down on Saturday too.
How did the panel vote to readmit Jack Guiney go?
Do you have mates on the panel or do you just like posting cryptic messages about what goes on behind the scenes?
That was an incredible goal. Some lovely passing in the build up. Arsenalesque from Wexford.
Conor Mac
Kevin Foley
Our shooting
W
ill ye take cork?
Time for seniors to take a leaf out of the great Tony Dempsey play book from 2001.
Promote 4 of the u-21s to the senior starting 15,after a trimming from Kilkenny and then batter a Munster team in next game.
Is there a 2015 equivalent of Nicky Lambert to make that quantum leap?
Great to see the U 21âs doing well, after Sundayâs shambles.
Not happy to see Dunne laughing and smiling with the Kilkenny players after the match. A shambles like Sunday should never ever happen to a proud county like Wexford and I say that as a Sixth generation Wexfordian!!! Why we as a county still persist in blaming things that have nothing to do with what happens on the field is beyond me. Liam Dunne takes so much focus away from the upcoming games. Ranting on about pitches, referees, bad interviews, when the focus should be on other things , on the training, on games. What manager goes a season playing a team, and then against the AI champions on their home ground completely changes tactics and plays players in different positions than they had been all year, for a game they had allegedly been preparing for all year
Mixed display from the U21s earlier. Kevin Foley (0-7 from play) pushed himself forward for senior selection on Saturday week. Thought Andrew Kenny had a strong game when he moved back to defence. PĂĄdraig Foley finished the game well but wasnât too prominent in the first half. Devitt didnât do enough to get into the reckoning and Jack OâConnor gave up 2 goal chances through ball watching - that should have been coached out of him by now. Some horrific shooting at times but, unsurprisingly enough, we worked a lot of excellent scores when we supported the man in possession and selected the right option.