Wexford GAA 2015

Where would you play Kevin Foley @Bandage? I think heā€™d be perfect as a 3rd midfielder with as much ball going through his hands as possible. Himself and Chin are a cut above the rest when it comes to how they use possession.

Heā€™s bulked up a fair bit too in fairness to him. His size hasnā€™t helped his cause for senior selection so far.

I reckon Foley needs to play a fairly free role around the midfield / half forward line, @Mac. Heā€™s bulked up a bit but heā€™s still pretty light. And heā€™s small too. Itā€™s not as if you can play him wing forward and drop puck outs on him. He could prosper moving between the lines (soccer talk) constantly, drifting into space, linking the play and knocking over a few scores. Tell him to play the Podge Collins 2013 role, only better.

Any thoughts on Saturday week, chaps?

First the Leinster Minor hurling league title and now Leinster Junior Football champions, what a year for Wexford GAA :clap:

Independence Day. Canā€™t wait. USA USA USA.

Plenty of posts decrying the performance last week. Team alignment, tactical set up, seeming absence/abandonment of positive aspects of last yearā€™s gameplan, meek surrender. All of this combined is a pretty exhaustive set of problems and itā€™d be naive to think everything can be sorted out in 2 weeks.

At the same time, there needs to be an acknowledgement that sometimes things can go completely wrong in a live performance - whether thatā€™s in a match, a concert or a high powered business meeting. The temptation is to act rashly in the aftermath but you need to take a step back and coldly analyse what went wrong and how to make sure it doesnā€™t happen again.

Thereā€™s also the fact that one of the reasons our defence got opened up so easily is because we set the backs out in positions theyā€™d never played together in as a unit. So those wanting wholesale changes might very well be advocating selecting players in positions that wonā€™t suit them individually or which may negatively impact the balance of the team. And the same thing could happen all over again. Thereā€™s also the morale issue. How will dropping 6 or 7 lads after one game affect them and will any disquiet upset the squad as a whole? I guess we canā€™t get much lower than Sunday evening though.

That said, I think we need to make some changes while trying not to completely rip up the script. I think we need Oā€™Hanlon and Chin to man the central defensive slots and I strongly prefer Breen in goal. Andrew Kenny would be my selection to join Ryan and Oā€™Hanlon in the full back line, albeit based on U21 displays last year and this. Surprised he wasnā€™t given league game time. Padraig Foley to play wing back alongside Chin and Shore.

Aidan Nolan drove three wides on Sunday after coming but was prominent and is a promising player. Iā€™d take him to start alongside Redmond in midfield.

I take it Guiney wonā€™t be restored to the squad in time so the half forward line poses a problem for us. Byrne should retain his place on one wing - he was fairly useful last weekend and his freetaking was good. Iā€™d take Paul Morris to play on the other wing if heā€™s fit - heā€™s a very competent player. Centre forward then comes down to a bit of a lottery between the likes of Waters, Tomkins, Doran and Sinnott. We donā€™t have brilliant options here and Iā€™m struggling to see reliable ball winning options.

If we have Kevin Foley playing a floating role then that leaves space inside for McGovern and McDonald.

Breen;
Ryan, Oā€™Hanlon, A Kenny;
P Foley, Chin, Shore;
Redmond, Nolan;
K Foley;
Morris, AN Other, Byrne;
McDonald, McGovern.

I think Oā€™Keeffe is still worth his place in the team. Maybe we tear up the script and go for a small centre forward who doesnā€™t need to hold the centre and just moves all around?

If you canā€™t beat a shite Cork team short three first choice defenders I donā€™t know what to say.

Well done to the Junior Footballers. Nice to win a trophy for a change. Nice to be the ones scoring a last minute goal rather than conceding one, for a change.

Wow, this new TFK structure is really shit. I hope there was a really good reason for imposing this crap on us.

Cork are there for the taking but I am led to believe some big changes afoot in how they will line out.

Alan Kelly is the ref.

I read or heard somewhere over the weekend that Dunne in fact had little to do with Guineys banishment, that it was a squad decision and Dunne most likely would have kept him on if he could. Might just be spin mind you.

Thatā€™s a fair clusterfuck of a username

@Bandage @appendage Any plans to head to Wexford Park on Saturday? I will most likely attend with @briantinnionsenior. No word on @UncleBobā€™s availability yet.

@Mac, where would you play Oā€™Keeffe? Maybe heā€™s suffering from switching between half back line, midfield and half forward line but I havenā€™t seen him impose himself on a Wexford game in quite some time.

@briantinnion, itā€™s only football but I think Iā€™ll head along tomorrow evening. Michael Furlong and Colm Kehoe are out apparently.

I think DOKā€™s best game Iā€™ve seen was the first Clare game last year. From what I remember he was in and out of the team a lot and Dunne was prone to whipping him off before half time in some games where he hadnā€™t been very poor. Similar to Foley I suppose that heā€™s best in a loose role but no point in having 2 of them.

Any idea as to what changes exactly.

:+1: the equivalent of Joe Canning centre back

Team for tonight:
Roche;
Tierney, N Rossiter, Wadding;
Donohoe, Molloy, Flynn;
S Byrne, Malone;
T Rossiter, Brosnan, Butler;
Lyng, Oā€™Regan, Oā€™Grady.

Toddling over to the park now to see my first Wexford senior football under the management of Big Dave Power. Looking forward to seeing how our youthful side performs.

entertaining enough fare so far. We hit the post and the ball rolled across the line and somehow stayed out. About a minute later Down scored a goal.

Adrian Flynn ā€˜black cardedā€™.

Weā€™re playing with a strong wind and I fear we havenā€™t been making the most of it. Very slow coming out from the back.

Big Dave Power is very big indeed.

Wexford 0-5 Down 1-3.

Some woefully inconsistent refereeing on show.