I will not be travelling.
I went to Fermanagh in 2006 on the 12th weekend and it was right craic. The locals went out of their way to welcome anyone who travelled. I doubt thereâll be the same welcome this weekend.
I will not be travelling.
I went to Fermanagh in 2006 on the 12th weekend and it was right craic. The locals went out of their way to welcome anyone who travelled. I doubt thereâll be the same welcome this weekend.
I am indeed travelling to the O6 however I have to return a favour this weekend and will be temporarily lending my support another team in the qualifiers.
@Mac - that was the match that Matty was suspended for wasnât it? I was at that one too. My first ever trip to occupied territory.
Yes I remember that game, Matty was suspended and we had no one to kick frees barring that it could have been a different story.
Yep Matty was suspended but it was only confirmed on the morning of the game. They got a penalty just before half time for a dubious foot block by Phillip Wallace. Diarmuid Kinsella was on the frees and missed a fair few from what I remember.
I ended up in a lock-in in Coppers that night with the team. I spent the night abusing Rory Stafford over his ridiculous mohawk with Shane Cullen and Ciaran Deely egging me on. Great times
Delighted for the Wexicans. If weâve learned anything itâs that;
All Limerick sadness aside, Dunne must be an awful ape altogether.
Clare wexford wataraford are the future
@briantinnion, I think myself and my pals sat beside you and your friend from Longford in Brewster Park in 2006. His own county were beating Derry at the same time if I recall correctly but he came along to watch Wexford get hammered.
Correct pal. That was TFK Legend @Arshavin23 in actual fact. Not sure if you knew him at the time.
Didnât know him well but sensed he was a Ledge alright.
Brewster Park is my favourite GAA ground since that visit. Absolutely sun-drenched, beautiful setting down in the dip, the grassy bank/knoll to sit on and the bar nearby. And all with sincere locals approaching to thank us for attending a game in British Occupied Ireland and showing solidarity with them.
It wasnât long after that I joined the Ra.
You have it all wrong pal, that was one of the best club minor teams ever produced, was a pleasure sharing the field with some great players. A photo of which still hangs in my parents house!
Wonât be travelling either. Would like to go alright but just not possible this week.
I remember being stuck in traffic coming into Enniskillen with locals walking alongside the traffic sticking their hand out to shake those of any Wexford supporter and thanking them for making the journey up. Something I never experienced in any other county before. The previous week we were in Clones and the locals wouldnât look you up nor down (May have been down to Mattie being able to play after that Offaly lad threw his neck under his boot).
I just enjoy trying to wind you up.
halcyon days indeed.
Congrats lad, great win for ye.
are you going saturday bud
Yes, mate.
Owenbeg is a tough place to go to though.
Congrat
s lads weldone last night
Funny, I have no recollection of it being around the 12th. It clearly had no traumatic effect on me. We were fairly well beaten in the end, though the penalty on HT was harsh. Championship debut of the great Brian Malone perhaps? I have it in my head anyway, whether true or not âŚ
Anyone here making the trip to Owenbeg? I have two free tickets and want to give them to a loyal TFKer.
Leave them under a stone in the flowerbed outside The Fowler and theyâll get to the right person
I seem to recall Malone playing against Monaghan but I could have that completely arseways. If Ciaran Lyng was in the squad at that stage weâd have gone very close in that match even if he was only 16 or 17